Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Barnett Shoals Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2013

All three of my children went to Barnett Shoals, and I do not think that I can share enough praise for the school, the teachers, or the administration. A fabulous, creative place! We have moved to an area in the northeast that prides itself in education. I can say that not only was the education my children got at Barnett Shoals more than competitive, my son has tested in the 98-99% in the standardized math and science tests since we've gotten here... I think that clearly speaks to the quality of Barnett Shoals program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

Great school! Three of my daughters attended Barnett Shoals Elem. until we had to move back home. The teachers there are awesome! My girls are now in middle school & their favorite school memories are in Mrs. Aguilar's K class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Barnett Shoals Elementary school seeks to improve student achievement across the board. The PTO is very involved in helping the teachers be better at what they do, and keeping the school an exciting environment for children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I am sorry to see the negative review by one parent who came from out of state. My granddaughter attended this school last year &we were so pleased. We had to change her school as the school district did--moved many kids elsewhere. I suspect the teacher was the problem, not the school. Aliceson Nobles was Bianca's teacher, &she is a most wonderful teacher, going beyond the call of duty. She coached the step team (which won many competitions)& made so many other efforts. The homework was more than appropriate, even on weekends in addition to 30 mins. reading each &every day. I think that parent should notify the principal and/or the school district if her child was placed with a less than dedicated teacher, which seems to be the case, &could have easily changed teachers if she had asked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

I was extremely disappointed in this school. We moved here from out of state & did not get a chance to visit the schools before the move. My seven year old son told me that his behavior at BSES was worse than at his previous school because of lower expectations. I had to supplement his homework with additional work to keep him moving forward. The crossword puzzles and word finds that were sent home as homework are not acceptable. If I am unable to get my son into a private school, I will home school. I cannot put my children back into this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

I am really glad we had a chance to come and visit Clarke schools before we moved here, and didn't go by what what said on this site. Barnett Schoals a '2'? Seriously? Not our experience. BS gets UGA School of Ed masters program grads + has a stable group of veteran teachers who help newer teachers. My child has blossomed in her class. The physical structure is well kept, and the school culture is close-knit. My husband is a prof at UGA, and we are more than pleased with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

This school is the best! The principal, the teachers, and the entire staff were nothing but wonderful. I couldn't have asked for a better school for my son to attend. We have since moved and no longer attend BSES, but it was great while we were there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

Excellent School Caring teachers. No better school if your child is autistic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2007

I have been very impressed with Barnett Shoals. I get really tired of people leaving Clarke Co. to go to Oconee schools. They don't know what they are missing! Most of the teachers at BSES are working on a master's degree or have one. It is a school filled with respect and joy. The halls are filled with art work. The ASP program provides many extracurricular activities for the children, including piano lessons. My child is very happy there.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted April 11, 2006

This has been an amazing experience for us and our daughter in the public school system in Clarke County. We are so pleased with Barnett Shoals, the administration and the faculty. It is an excellent school. There are many different levels of learning and a variety of ways to learn. Really, we couldn't think of a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2005

Great school, very attentive to students' needs
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2004

Barnett Shoals has been a wonderful place for my son. My second child begins in the fall and we are very excited. The teachers are outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2004

BSES is great! We have the best support staff and teachers. Everyone is friendly and helpful, and the teachers go above and beyond to teach our children. And if you should have any concerns at all, you can always stop by & speak to the principle, Mr Clark...wonderful man.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2003

Barnett Shoals Elementary has been a wonderful school for my three children. From the Gifted program to the Special Education, the school has so much to offer. We love Barnett Shoals!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

81 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

81 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

81 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

65 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

67 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

65 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
54%

2009

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 45% 37%
White 36% 44%
Hispanic 10% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jennifer Scott
Fax number
  • (706) 208-8835

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3220 Barnett Shoals Rd
Athens, GA 30605
Phone: (706) 357-5334

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Athens Academy
Athens, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT