Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oglethorpe Avenue Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

My daughter attends this wonderful elementary school and I am planning on sending my son here as well. We have so far been impressed by the dedication of the teachers and staff as well as their loving spirit. The receptionists always give friendly greetings and the principal and asst. principal attend school events and make themselves available to parents. There are plenty of involved, creative parents and staff who care a lot about helping children succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

Our school is fantastic! We have qualified and loving teachers, strong leadership, and a welcoming environment. When my daughter learned that we didn't have school a few months ago due to a snow day, she cried. She loves going to school!!! My son participates in lots of activities - chess club, science Olympiad, bridge building team, and next year the math team!!! Out parent involvement is wonderful and our PTO is able to do lots of things to support the students and teachers. I really can't say enough about the school and how happy we are to be an OAES wildcat!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

Oglethorpe Avenue Elementary has exceeded our expectations. We have had caring teachers who go above and beyond. Leadership is responsive to my questions and welcomes parent involvement in any way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

First of all, this website is inaccurate because a school's score is ONLY based on their test scores and all the test scores are from 2010. Let me tell you about Oglethorpe Avenue Elementary School beyond the test scores. OAES was selected Georgia Department of Education Reward Schools for highest gains in the state. OAES has an incredibly dedicated staff that goes above and beyond for their students every day. The Principal and Assistant Principal care about their students, their staff and the parents. Every time I have emailed the Principal or my child's teacher with a question I have received a prompt response. The PTO is active and there are many involved parents at this school. If you want to know what makes a school a great school you need to look beyond a score on a website and visit it. Talk to parents who have children at the school and see if they're happy. I see kids running into OAES every morning with smiles on their faces and who are excited to learn. To me that's more important than any test score.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

Oglethorpe is a gem of a school. The teachers are amazing and my daughter is learning so much. She is learning algebra in 2nd grade and LOVES to do math for fun because the school fosters that. The parent involvement is fantastic. We are so proud to be at OAES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

Oglethorpe Ave is a gem of a school. The teachers are amazing. My daughter loves to go to school and comes home with so much new information every day. Really a terrific school. I am proud to send my daughter there and son next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

Excellent neighborhood school. My son is currently in pre-k and has loved it. His teacher is caring and attentive. Tons of opportunities for parents to get involved, and they do. Family activities happen a few times a month, and there's always a huge turn out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

Great school!!! Teachers and students enjoy what the do... And parents are involve in there students education, really nice community... :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2013

Great! School I just love the staff.zI have two daughters that goes here.One is I/ special ed shes in the fifth grade,and my youngest is in second grade. I been liking this school every since my oldest daughter started.They both are doing well in thier academics.All because of great teachers.Everyone is friendly Dr dunne she always greet! With a smile everytime you enter the front office,she always make me feel welcome to come and visit my kifs at anytime. This always have been a good school every since I was little girl going to school.Great teachers,and staff will always make a great! school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

We have been pleasantly surprised and totally humbled by our experience at Oglethorpe. My daughter started there as a kindergartner, and I was very nervous about public school and all that goes with it. I could not have been more pleased with her K teacher, Ms. Webb, who was cheery and smily and just what you would want in a K teacher. The following year, first grade, we had Ms. Holte, who is quite possibly the best teacher EVER. She pushed my daughter in areas that she was struggling and inspired her to learn. They put on two class plays, "A Christmas Carol" and "Charlotte's Web" and all parents were very impressed that first graders could memorize so many lines, scene changes, songs and choreography. My daughter has now just begun 2nd grade and everything is great so far. Our only complaint now is that her classroom is in a trailer, and hopefully the district will approve either to add on to OAES or build a new school somewhere. In the meantime, my family is looking forward to Culture Night, when everyone brings a dish to represent their family's culture, and Octoberfest! We love OAES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

The teachers are lazy, the principle fails to return phone calls, the kids are allowed to be abusive we no discipline, the kids are unsupervised during recess, my kids overall experience has been horrible. I can't wait to move my daughter out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

I am a proud teacher at Oglethorpe Avenue Elementary School. I have seen many schools in surrounding areas, but have not seen one with so many dedicated teachers and such diversity. We have a supportive PTA, strong administration, and amazing students with many different strengths and cultures. Each teacher brings his/her own unique talent to the school culture. If your child is a struggling learner, we are there for you. If your child is extremely gifted, we will bring challenges and opportunities to blossom. We have teachers who will not spare their time, energy, and resources to do whatever it takes for our students to have successful elementary years. We work closely with UGA and the community helpers to enrich and broaden classroom instruction toward real-world experience. It's hard to find a job that you love, more so to like whom you work with. I'm blessed to have both!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 26, 2008

great school. we came from the infamous gwinnett county schools and was not excited when clarke choose oglethorpe for us, but I have been pleasantly surprised. I had one daughter that was getting bored in gc but here she is being challenged everyday and is loving it. I have another who was not progressing with her learning disorder for two years in gc, but here after just a few months she can write legibly and is reading! They could do better at a healthier food choices and more organizational pickup of children but the teaching and admin staff is top notch. dont let the ratings scare you this is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

99 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 44% 37%
Hispanic 40% 12%
White 10% 44%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Scarlett Camp Dunne
Fax number
  • (706) 227-7813

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1150 Oglethorpe Ave
Athens, GA 30606
Phone: (706) 549-0762

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT