Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gaines Elementary School 2

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
Gaines does not use typical A/B grades, but rather E/M/P type system (Exceeds, Meets, Progressing), so you never truly know what "grades" your child has. Most of the teachers are very nice, knowledgeable, and good with the kids. On the flip side, they do almost nothing to deter bullying. My child was physically attacked TWICE on the bus! I never heard of the children involved being expelled or punished in any way. There have been 4 bus drivers, and after the second attack bus monitors were put on almost 100% of the time. The school needs to drastically improve how they deal with a child's behavior (or lack thereof) as well as bullying overall.

Gaines Elementary School 5

Posted July 27, 2013
- a parent
I've heard so much about this school and I'm excited to say my son will be starting pre-k this year!!!


Gaines Elementary School 1

Posted March 23, 2011
- a parent
Thi school has alot of behavior problems. The teachers do not care about the success of the students. Teachers are quiting in the middle of the year. Test scores look horrible schoolwide from talk amongst the teachers. The Principal is not supportive at all. I reached out for help for my child she ignored my concerns. The teachers are telling the students they are failures. My child will not attend this school next year.

Gaines Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
My daughter loves her school. The teachers are great!!

Gaines Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
My granddaughter attends Gaines Elementary School and they offer things like sewing and clothing design, things we never had until at least junior high, and which many schools stopped offering somewhere along the line. We need more programs like this, to educate kids in lost arts etc.


Gaines Elementary School 4

Posted September 26, 2008
- a parent
We are very happy here at Gaines. We have a wonderful principle and staff. The only problem we have noticed is lack of parental involvement.

Gaines Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 27, 2008
- a parent
This school is the pits! I was so dissatisfied with the lack of professionalism and caring from some of the inexperienced teachers, and principal. If your child has any problems behaviorial or otherwise then please, do no not send him to this school they are defienantly un equipped to deal this your child.

Gaines Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Gaines Elementary School 1

Posted July 10, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gaines Elementary School
280 Gaines School Rd, Athens, GA  30605
(706) 257-5338
Last modified Gaines Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gaines Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top