Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Smith Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2007

It is amazing how this school continues to get better and better. As a recent recipient of the authorization as an International Baccalaureate World School, my children's education continues to be enhanced. The teachers are fantastic! They truly want to provide the best possible education around for all children. The principal is amazing! The things that have occurred under his leadership have caused this school to stand out among the best. In fact, he was named one of the top principals in Georgia and recently awarded a grant (one of only 5 principals to do so in Atlanta). He's a visionary for sure. And, the parent involvement and support are phenomenal! They obviously love the school and make sure needs are met. With principal leadership, teacher quality, and parent support, there is no wonder it's a top school in Georgia. I'm so glad my children are there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

The school scores high, is this due to most of the children come from families with a lot of parent involvement? The teachers I encountered were all very good, even great. However, out of my 4 children I had one that was not being challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

Sarah Smith is the best, and so is the principal and all of the teachers we've encountered. It's amazing that this can happen within Atlanta Public Schools, but it does.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

Great parental involvement. PTA raises a great deal of money for extra programs. High teacher turnover...many parents have different views as to why this happens. Many kids leave for private school after fourth or fifth grade. There is a new push to get more kids on to the middle school, which is improving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

Based on test scores, we bought our home in Sarah Smith so our three children can attend school there. We have been thrilled and amazed at the level of education they are receiving. Yes, the teaching staff has had a seemingly high level of turn over. I attribute that more to the 'young' staff and them having babies, getting married and moving, etc.... The replacements have been top notch! We bought for the high test scores and what we are receiving is so much more. I can not recommend this experience any higher to parents looking for a warm, nuturing, challenging, and fun learning environment for their children. This place is the full package! The end!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2005

Having come over from Europe Sarah Smith was our first encounter with the U.S. Public School System. This is a outstanding school. The teachers we have met so far all were outstanding. There are a lot of changes in staff, I agree. I can't say if this is because of the principal's way of managing or because he expects the most of his staff. I am pretty sure the latter is the case. One point of remark though: there doesn't seem to be a strict basis to allow someone to move to the next grade or to retain a student for another year in the same grade. Parents can be disappointed by the fact their child has to stay a year behind, but isn't the child's future the first point to take in consideration?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2005

Both my children have gone to Smith since they were 5 years old. This is a school where the children come first. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The principal is kind and knows each child by name. He is a leader with a heart and a vision. Thank you, Smith, for bringing out the best in my children and giving them the encouragement and confidence they need to go out into the world. You are truly one of the best! Congratulations to the administration, faculty, and staff on a job well done! You're hard work pays off!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2005

Sarah Smith has a tremendous reputation and we bought our house specifically so that our children can attend there. The teachers at Sarah Smith are terrific. The principal however is another story. His leadership style is that of 'my way or the highway'. This is evidenced by an extremely high rate of teachers who have left the school since he took over as principal 5 years ago, all citing his bullish management style. We are considering transferring our kids to private school as a result.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

168 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

170 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

168 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

159 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

162 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

159 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

145 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 44%
Black 15% 37%
Hispanic 11% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

370 Old Ivy Rd NE
Atlanta, GA 30342
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 802-3850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT