Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodland Elementary Charter School

Charter | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 55 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

114 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2013

I completely disagree with the last two posts. The current administration has turned the morale at our school around, as well as worked on policies/procedures put in place by Fulton County - improving it immensely for the betterment of the education and growth in our students. We have three children there and are in constant communication with their teachers - they LOVE our school, administration and most importantly our kids! We have seen them go above and beyond to teach and foster a warm learning environment for everyone there. Get involved at the school and you will be amazed at all the opportunities provided to our children - it's impressive all that they are learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

I am shocked to read the negative posts. I am parent and have been at Woodland for 4 yrs now. I have found the teachers to be exceptional! Hands down, they all cared about my children and me as a parent. My kids have loved the school too! Which says everything. We have a lot of working families in our school, and those parents do a great job of getting involved when they can. For those parents that are able, they volunteer and are dedicated to supporting the teachers and staff. Furthermore, the curiculum is very dynamic and constantly adjusting to today's needs. And this is hard to do. Teachers are so creative at finding just the right tools for their class based on their students. We have new and veteran teachers in our school. It is sad to read that a teacher feels they way they do below. I hope this is not a current teacher, it just seems so out of character. Thankfully I don't have a lot of need to be in the Admin office since my kids are thriving. But when I have, they are always eager to see me and sit down with me to discuss whatever. The new asst princ is just the nicest guy. My kids love him too. He is positive and so in tune with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

Woodland is an outstanding school! I have one child who has been at Woodland for three years and she has always been challenged and nurtured by her teachers. My other daughter graduated from Woodland exceedingly prepared for Middle School. A very high percentage of the teachers at Woodland have Masters Degrees or additional certifications and care deeply about our children. The 9 teachers that we have had over the years have ALL been top rate educators who are communicative and encouraged classroom visits and volunteerism. The administration has implemented a positive discipline plan that has created a sense of community and excitement at Woodland. We love our school and are highly involved on a daily basis. I imagine that people who are writing unkind and untrue reviews have never attempted to be an engaged parent at the school or they would realize how wrong they are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

As a parent I would like to thank the teachers my children have had at Woodland Elementary. They have been truly exceptional! I think it is amazing how well the needs of ALL students are met, from TAG students to Special Education. The teachers understand the needs of every student in their class and know exactly how to challenge each student. My children love school because their teachers are so caring and are even willing to provide tutoring before and after school. I have never seen such a dedicated staff! The programs at Woodland are challenging and tailored to meet the needs of every child. I know that my childrens are receiving an education that will prepare them for success in college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

It saddens me to see that a parent and staff member have posted that Woodland is a below average school. I am also concerned because a specific statistic (9 out of 10) was used, but yet no information was given about the source of the information. If there is such a survey that conveys this information, then I have not been made aware of it. Now with that being said, are there areas for improvement? Of course. Is the majority of the school striving to improve in these areas? Yes. These past few years have been turbulent, but despite all the events that have happened, Woodland has still been able to give an exceptional education to the students. The MAJORITY of teachers and staff at the school genuinely care about each and every student, so please don't let the minority dictate your impression of our school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

Woodland is a great school!. We have a wonderful, committed staff, parents and administration that support us . Our kids work hard and are eager to learn. Our school is warm, inviting and focused on the individual needs of our students. In fact, lots of other schools from FCS are coming to visit to see our innovative instructional practices. What more could you ask for?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 20, 2013

I am a parent, and I have been reading these reviews with some surprise. My daughter goes to Woodland, and I have to say that I've been disappointed. The school doesn't really care. We receive notices of truancy even though our daughter was ill and a note was submitted each time. We don't have any follow-up on important issues. We can't really speak to the teacher or visit the classroom. The school does not fix errors after the assistant principal admitted there were errors. I really wonder about this school and these other wonderful reviews on this site.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

What a great academic environment! We love Woodland! This is our third year at Woodland and we have been continually impressed by the level of education our daughter is receiving. The faculty is top notch and rises to the occassion to meet the needs of all students. We love the diviersity of the school. I believe there are 32 countries represented at the school. International night is such a great opportunity to celebrate this wonderful diversity! Additionally, Woodland has a wonderful inclusion special needs program. It is heart warming to watch all children interact and even more so to watch the superior dedication the special needs teachers. Kindergarten classes have two teachers per class with only 20 students! All classrooms are very spacious and bright. The school is clean and very well run. It is hard to believe that almost 950 students are attending this school, you would not know this by walking the halls. It is a very quiet and orderly, amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2011

Our daughter has thrived at Woodland and we have been very happy with it. The teachers are very dedicated to the students' education and that's been the biggest plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2011

Woodland is a great school, with fantastic teachers and administration. Parental involvement is lacking, but anyone who puts in the effort to be involved at the school can and will see its strengths. The negative post about Ms. Gamble is nuts, and I think reflects on the writer more than the principal. We do have a handful of problem students, and the administration - Ms. Gamble and Vice Principal Dr. Shields - have worked out an excellent discipline process that is both transparent and fair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2011

We love Woodland!! This is our third year at Woodland and we are more than happy with the school. We have loved all the teachers and staff we have worked with over the years. They are professional, courteous, organized and motivate and inspire the kids. Yes, it is very diverse, but this is representative of our city of Atlanta. Both my husband and I work full time but we make an effort to stay very involved in the school. The more you put in, the more you get out! As for the front staff, I have always found them to be professional and focused on the well being of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2011

I am so impressed with the principal, teachers, and staff at Woodland. Everyone works together to help every child be successful and there is such a family atmosphere at the school. The parent involvement is also impressive. Seems everyone is working for the same great cause...our children and their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2011

Woodland has teachers that care, are involved and interested in their students lives and academically, which says alot about a school. No one school is perfect, but Woodland is constantly working with the teachers & staff to implement the most productive academic practices & also supporting the teachers well with what they need to do this. Our 2 children there have been able to thrive & enjoy school, even with the higher classroom numbers we all have at our schools now. Thx, Woodland!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2011

I am very satisfied in having my children attending Woodland. The teachers are highly trained, highly motivated, and inspire my children to try their hardest. Although the school has had some bumps in the road, our new principal, Amy Gamble, is leading the school in a positive new direction by keeping programs that are working, making improvements as needed, and eliminating practices that were not benefitting the school or the students. Our family has the option to attend private school, and we are at Woodland because of its strong academics and TAG program. I am proud to be a part of such a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2011

Woodland has great teachers, a great principal, and a great community. My children and I are very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2011

We have phenomonal teachers, staff and administration who care about our children - our family is receiving a top notch education and we couldn't be happier
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2011

Woodland is a great school, and all teachers have high expectations for their students. It is a great place to learn.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 29, 2011

Woodland Elementary has a terrific staff of teachers who always give 120% to meet the needs of their students. They are well educated, committed and caring.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 29, 2011

I am teacher and also a parent at Woodland Elementary. I have worked at Woodland for over a decade and love the dedication and friendship among the staff. I believe that my child is receiving a quality education at Woodland. The teachers and staff work tirelessly for the efforts of the children, and as you walk through the building you can tell they genuinely love what they do. I am very pleased with the way the school is being run and can tell that my child enjoys every day. This is his second year at Woodland.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 29, 2011

Woodland Elementary is a great place to work! This is my second year there and I feel like I have known the faculty much longer because they are so warm and friendly! The staff truly cares about meeting the needs of the whole child!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

135 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

135 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

135 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

124 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

124 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

124 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

117 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 42% 37%
White 22% 44%
Hispanic 21% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 52%N/A51%
Female 48%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Amy Gamble
Fax number
  • (770) 673-4091

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1130 Spalding Dr
Atlanta, GA 30350
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 551-5890

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Davis Academy
Atlanta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT