Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodland Elementary Charter School

Charter | PK-5 | 895 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 55 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

114 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 29, 2011

Woodland Elementary is a fabulous school! I have been a teacher at WES for the past 6 years. We have such a great mix of students, teachers, and parents. Our students perform well because of supportive parents and dedicated teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

Woodland Elementary School is a great school! The teachers create a challenging learning environment for all students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

Woodland is an outstanding elementary school, and it has exceeded my expectations! The level of parental involvement makes it possible to provide programs other schools are unable to offer!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

I have been teaching at this school for several years. It is a wonderful elementary school with high expectations for its teachers and students. Woodland is even better this year under new leadership and a wonderful, knowledgeable, hard-working staff. The teachers here are passionate and nurturing.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

Woodland is an excellent school with many diverse programs!!! The staff, administration and staff are dedicated to each child's success!!


Posted September 28, 2011

Woodland Elementary is a wonderful enviorment for both students and teachers/parapros. There is a commitment to the students like no where else I have ever worked. Administration is involved and genuinely cares about the staff! It is a pleasure to work at Woodland!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

I am a new teacher at Woodland Elementary, and in the past months, I have seen so much student engagement and faculty dedication. It is inspiring to know that I have so many positive, professional role models to emulate, and I know the students at Woodland are getting the best learning experiences with the best educators. And our principal rocks!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

I have been teaching at Woodland for several years. Expectations are high for both students and teachers. Teachers are committed and dedicated professionals who really care about their students. Administration is supportive of both staff and students. I am proud to be a part of Woodland Elementary.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

Woodland is a great school with a dedicated, experienced staff. Woodland sets high expectations for students and has a positive atmosphere where all students can succeed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

There is a great energy here. Positivity and always a helping hand out reached:). I believe everyone including the kids feel it.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

Woodland is a great place to work! The teachers do an excellent job of preparing students for the future. Woodland has many programs that other schools do not have. Our science lab and star lab are a hit with the students. We consistently make AYP and the teachers go above and beyond to make sure that each student is successful in the classroom. Come check Woodland out!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

Woodland Elementary has a very hard working, devoted staff who go above and beyond to ensure student success. The school offers many afterschool enrichment activities in addition to a rigorous curriculum. Woodland has consistantly been a high performing school in standardized testing in which yearly testing goals have not only been met, but exceeded. Woodland fosters a sense of community, and embraces its multicultural population.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

Woodland has a great group of professional educators who care about the education and welfare of each child in the school. Woodland's teachers use research based programs to make learning a positive experience for each student.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

I am a parent of three children who attend Woodland Elementary School. I have been so impressed with the way the teachers meet each child's individual needs, as well as communicate consistently with me about how my children are doing. Classes are offered for students at a level that is appropriate for that specific child. I am thrilled that my children are a part of Woodland Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2011

This is my third year working at Woodland Elementary. Since coming here I have been so impressed by the dedication of the staff and parents. The accepting environment for students with special needs sets it above any school I have worked in. We have a new principal that is engaged with all students and supportive to our programs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

Woodland Elementary School provides a positive environment and enriched curriculum for students to succeed! Teachers are committed to putting students' needs first to ensure the best education possible.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

Woodland is a fantastic environment for children! Our school provides each child with a quality education where they feel safe and are encouraged to explore and take risks when learning. We certainly put children and instruction first and that is due to the quality of our administration and the dedication of our teachers. If all schools were like Woodland perhaps GA wouldn't have such a bad reputation for it's education system.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

Woodland Elementary is a fantastic school. The administration, teachers, staff ,parents and children are the best. Woodland has a positive and caring learning environment with experienced educators. What a great place to be and learn everyday. I come to Woodland each morning with a smile and leave every afternoon with a smile. Woodland is awesome!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

I have been a parent at Woodland Elem. for the past 4 years; although, this is my first year teaching at Woodland. I must say, I have always been impressed by the high standards and quaility exhibited by the teaching staff at Woodland. They have either met or exceeded expectations set by administration, county or myself (as a parent). I am very excited to now be a part of this innovative staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2011

The Woodland staff displays an incredible level of dedication to its students that is met with enthusiasm and innovative teaching tools. The students are constantly engaged and held to a high standard of academic achievement within a nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

135 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

135 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

135 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

124 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

124 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

124 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

117 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 42% 37%
White 22% 44%
Hispanic 21% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 52%N/A51%
Female 48%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Amy Gamble
Fax number
  • (770) 673-4091

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1130 Spalding Dr
Atlanta, GA 30350
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 551-5890

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Davis Academy
Atlanta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT