Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodland Elementary Charter School

Charter | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 55 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

114 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 26, 2011

Many of what the parents say about this school is true! If you are going to send your child/children here beware. For the cost of the homes around this school you would hope for much more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2011

My child attends Woodland and this will be her last year. My child unfortanately did not receive a great teacher. The school does not take suggestions and refuse to view ideas in learning styles. Each child does not learn the same. The school had a few incidents of missing children being let off at the incorrect bust stops at the beginning of the year. In addition, the principal will portray she cares but neglects safety of children, i.e. the incident with the shooting at a nearby daycare and the school failed to go on lock down only to have a boosterthon event. There are many great teachers at this school, but some teachers that show the are there to collect a pay check needs to quit or retire.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2011

From CONCERNED PARENT Rating Area - Parent Involvement Woodland does offer many opportunities for parents and the community to participate in activities and student support programs. There are times that the volunteers are not effectivley used (3.5 stars). The school does notify parents about volunteer opportunities via newsletter, flyers, e-mail, etc. Great Schools criteria within this area asks if the school "encourages" parent participation. The answer is two-sided -- Yes, if you do exactly as they want and No, if you have questions or suggestions. Another part, and to me the most important, is if parents are treated as partners. If I was married to Woodland I would run away to a shelter and beg the courts to give me a divorce! Going against the "Woodland way" can leave you bruised and battered (2 stars).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

We had very good teacher last year, but we can t say the same this year. This year, teacher doesn t care if our children learn or not. Teacher is not willing to put out the extra effort on students that need more help. I have seen some teachers left the school before 2:30 PM.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

excellent staff,great atmoshphere,friendly caregivers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Woodland has achieved academic excellence within a socioeconomically diverse environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers care, the parents are involved and the academic achievement is high!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

My son went to Kindergarten at Woodland last year. He had Ms. Fritchie and Ms. Fineis. I can't say enough wonderful things about them. I will have two there next year. I was at the school a lot and witnessed wonderful interactions between the staff, teachers and students. I think it says a lot about a school when 50 private school families have chosen Woodland next year over the private schools. Like anything else...parent involvement is key to your child's success. There is a lot of opportunity for the parents to get involved. We're looking forward to another great year at Woodland!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

The parent-teacher involvment is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

Just from reading parents' reviews on not just WECS, it is said to see that the opinions take zero consideration to the nature of their child and his/her home experience. We came to WECS from a private school, where we thought that was the best choice for us to ensure great education and a healthy social environment. We were wrong. Our experience at Woodland was very pleasant. The teachers and staff are amazing and caring. Both our children love their school and take pride in being part of it. Go WECS! you don't have to fork out thousands of dollars for private education when you have a school like Woodland where the school and the parents CARE!:-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2009

My child has been in the school since Kindergarten and has been in TAG as well. I have to say although I would love to see a few things change, for the most part it's a pretty good school. The new Principle is very nice and if you ever would like to meet with her, her door is always opened. She has a soft look that will melt you away. I am very grateful that my daughter goes to Woodland, I wouldn't have it any other way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

my son is in kindergarten I am quite satisfied with school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

this is a good school for education and events
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2008

I was suprised at the quality of Woodland after coming from High Point....thank god it's so much better! The teachers work hard, the parents are involved, and the kids actually learn! I am looking forward to getting more involved myself. I laughed at the poster who wrote that diversity is 'a parent's dream'...what a nutjob. My dream is that my child will get a good education. I don't care care about the color of anyone's skin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

I love this school I have two kids , one of my daughters graduated from here. I wanted my childrenn to attend this school becasuse of the last Principal ( Dr. Price ) she was great, I still have one more child in this school she is in second grade the second grade team is great.My only concern this year is the new principal has been there one has of October 2008 I has a parent only incounter with her one time , it's amazing because I'm at thi school 5 times a day. I see the asst. principal at least 4 days out of the five in the halls interacting with parents an students. Outside of the New Principal not being very interactive , this school is great , the diversity in this school allow every child to see the world like a rainbow ( that's a dream for parents)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

Great school- I would not trade Woodland for any other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2008

We have two kids and we're starting our third year at Woodland. Our experience with the teachers (including TAG) has been exceptionally good. Ditto for the Assistant Principals and counselors. I loved the previous principal (Dr. Price) but haven't interacted with the new one enough to form an opinion. The academics are challenging, the parent involvement is high, and the kids love going to school. I do agree with a previous post that as a parent it is hard to connect if you are new, because the parents aren't overly welcoming. However, the kids had no problems making friends the first day and have no complaints. The school has great diversity, which we like.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

I love this school. In a few weeks all three of my children will be enrolled there. My oldest son is entering the fourth grade and is well prepared. Ms. Jackson did an outstanding job preparing him. She knows her students individuality and takes the time to cater to their individual learning styles. My youngest son was a student in Mrs. Schaffer's kindergarten class. He's a rather boisterous child, and she was able to help control him and prepare him for the next level. I love, love, love Woodland. The parents and the faculty make this school great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

I love this school! My son is in kindergarten and he has a sonderful teacher in Mrs. Bramlett!! I have gotten to know the other parents in his class, due to the incredible amount of parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2007

We have not been overly impressed with the school/teacher. Our child's teacher has not been very enthusiastic or involved and there appear to be several children with daily behavioral issues that disrupt the class and must be dealt with. The student/teacher ratio is higher than last year as well. We are looking elsewhere for next year unfortunately.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

135 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

135 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

135 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

124 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

124 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

124 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

117 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 42% 37%
White 22% 44%
Hispanic 21% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 52%N/A51%
Female 48%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Amy Gamble
Fax number
  • (770) 673-4091

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1130 Spalding Dr
Atlanta, GA 30350
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 551-5890

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Davis Academy
Atlanta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT