Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodland Elementary Charter School

Charter | PK-5 | 895 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 55 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

114 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 16, 2007

This school proved to be what every public school should strive to be. The principal; Dr. Price and her faculty, proved to us that one does not have to spend thousands of dollars on private schools to get dedicated teachers and great learning.. Our child is the only one I know who looks forward to Mondays, so that he could be with his teachers and his classmates. Need I say more?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2007

This school is a treasure!! The Principal and Vice Principal are amazing. There are only 15 students in my son's Kindergarten class. I am also extremely impressed with with parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2006

WECS is a great school! My family has been here for the past four years; my kids are in 1st & 4th grade. My first year at WECS was not pleasant; the atmosphere was not welcoming to new parents who were not active volunteers. But as a working parent it is very had to volunteer and provide for your family. Anyway, my second year and so on has been nothing but a pleasant surprise, the staff and teachers are exceptional; especially Mrs. Lawther/Mrs. Finies, Mrs. Alt, Mrs. Schuetz and Mrs. E. Walker. These teachers are very loving, caring and highly qualified teachers. They care about these kids just as if they were there own. The other teachers are wonderful also; I just have never really had a one-on-one experience with them. I love this school and will remain in this district so that my kids can continue here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Unfortunately, my experience with Woodland was a horrible one. The principal, Noris Price was very nice and encouraging, however.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

My son attended a private school for two years, until we decided to put him at Woodland (for financial reasons and for hearing so many positive things about Dr. Price; the principal. In the month or so he's been there, it amazes me how much he's learned. We were getting ready to move from our current home, but b/c of Woodland, we plan on sticking around as it turned out to be a great district to be in!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

This is a wonderful and nurturing environment for my child. She is learning at a pace that I can barely believe. Everyone that I have come into contact has been 100% above my level of expectations. I will continue to live in this neighborhood just because of this wonderful school. The principal, the teachers, the PTA, ....they are a great team; and my child benefits.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2005

Woodland offers a core curriculum that is better than some private schools. The specialty areas of music, art and physical education have an excellent teaching staff and offers a highly competitive curriculum as well. Our media center and television studio is exceptional. The faculty and staff at Woodland is caring and appear to truly enjoy working at Woodland. New parents should know that this school is very family-friendly. Parents and family are always welcome to visit or volunteer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2005

Woodland is a great school! My child has been at Woodland since kidergarten. He is now in 3rd grade. The high quality of the instruction, the caring teachers, the great lidership provided by our Principal, Noris Price, the different programs (music, band, orchestra, art, Spanish, physical education, etc), parent involment, to name a few, make of Woodland the school I always wanted for my son so that he becomes a well-rounded boy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2005

Better than any Private School! I speak from experience! Having had my children in an elite Private School for the first 4 years of their life, finding this Public School with a superb quality of education that supersedes any Private School's, was like finding a diamond in my back yard! Woodland has unprecedented parental involvement, an incredible art program, foreign language, and an 'out of this world' science lab that is attended by every single child in the school from PK - 5th and Special Needs! My children have never felt more loved and given the encouragement to excel beyond even what I ever thought they could! With the team work of Woodland's Staff and Award Winning PTA, it is THE BEST school for any child! The MOST BEAUTIFUL aspect of Woodland is we embrace our diversity; be it social,racial,economical,mental or physical! What an incredible place for ANY child to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2005

Woodland is a fantastic school! Every student is well educated - whatever their level, and all students are taught using the Talented and Gifted Teaching Strategies, not just the students who test into the TAG program. This is my oldest child's sixth year there, and every year he has had wonderful, caring teachers who challenged him to work hard and do his best. Every parent is involved up at the school, as that is required by the educational contract.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2003

We have been at this school for 5 years - 2 children, both children are in the TAG program and are well served. It is a school where the principal and staff all know the children's name and who they are- it is a very well rounded education with high expectations and the diversity makes it the perfect place to teach your children about the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

This school is superb! The leadership of the principal, Mrs. Price is extraordinary. I have had two children there and have been pleased with the dedication of the all the staff. The environment and educational level is comparable to an academic excellent private school. Woodland is an institution where execellence in education is met at its finest. Parents are active participants in their children's education. It was an excellent choice for our children since moving here from Michigan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2003

Excellent school!! All 3 of my children attend Woodland and were are proud to be wildcats! Mrs. Price is the best and shows great leadership with her staff and the children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2003

This school has a warm and caring atmosphere. Great music and art teachers. It is the only school I know of that has a staff parental involvement coordinator. Serves all children well from special education to TAG.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

135 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

135 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

135 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

124 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

124 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

124 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

117 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 42% 37%
White 22% 44%
Hispanic 21% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 52%N/A51%
Female 48%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Amy Gamble
Fax number
  • (770) 673-4091

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1130 Spalding Dr
Atlanta, GA 30350
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 551-5890

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Davis Academy
Atlanta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT