Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
122 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 165 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Woodland Elementary Charter School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted June 21, 2016
- a teacher
Teachers do. The school counselor is awful and does not support students at all. The administrators are aware but do nothing about it.

Woodland Elementary Charter School 2

Posted June 21, 2016
- a teacher
I taught at Woodland Elementary and it was an interesting experience. There are very hard working teachers who continually go above and beyond to meet the needs of the students. However, the administrators are constantly changing, lack the needed support and do not follow through on the things they say. Student behaviors are outrageous and take over every classroom. Administrators push the behavior issues under the rug and do not deal with them at all. Students destroy classrooms, get into fist fights and use verbal profanity regularly. There are great resources for teachers to use for the students. It is unfortunate that Woodland was such a terrible place to work. The teacher turnover rate is very high and everyone is miserable.

Woodland Elementary Charter School 5

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is finishing up her second year at Woodland Elementary. I have been incredibly impressed by the school. Everyone wants your child to learn, to be challenged and to succeed. I am proud that all of Woodland's hard work on STEM has led them to become STEM Certified this year. Hydroponics labs, coding, technology, planetarium, etc. all help the students to learn so much. I can't say enough about the principal and staff. I've never seen harder working people. My daughter loves Woodland. She's thriving and I couldn't be happier. I would highly recommend the school.

Woodland Elementary Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
I've seen this first hand with my daughter's teacher. Her 1st grade class is led with compassion and results are achieved through discipline and empathy. I strongly believe the two go together.

Woodland Elementary Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
I love that Woodland has a word of the month, like perseverance, integrity and honesty -- each class learns what the word is and has lessons around it. They are there to teach a lot more than just the three r's.

Woodland Elementary Charter School 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
My child attended K this year at woodland and we came from a very strong preschool/daycare background where she was already very academically ahead(Reading fluently by the age of 4) ,so I was concerned about how this environment is going to be challenging for my child. I am very happy to say that this year has been a great year for my child. Her teacher recognized her potential almost immediately and kept pushing her to do her very best and beyond and kept her engaged and challenged throughout the school year .My child looks forward to going to school every morning ,she loves her class teacher and is learning a LOT. Also as a parent I think the school has a very enthusiastic principal and she is sure to take the school to many levels high than where they are right now. Woodland is a great school and I am positive that if they continue to do what they are doing they will do great in their scores and rating.

Woodland Elementary Charter School 5

Posted March 31, 2016
- a parent
My son is 2nd Grader and he has learned a lot. Coming from a different country, it was a kind of struggle. The teachers are awesome, helped him to settle down and guided him so well. Teachers always engage parents and send regular updates on what's going on in class. Overall, highly impressed with school infrastructure, teachers and a very enthusiastic principal

Woodland Elementary Charter School 5

Posted January 30, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are amazing, work hard, and very helpful. I am so impressed with their STEAM program.

Woodland Elementary Charter School 5

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
I transferred my daughter to Woodland from A Dekalb County school. she learned and improved so much more in 1 semester, than any and all of the other time spent in Dekalb county. I was so impressed with the leadership of Woodland, the educators, and staff. they all make for a great experience for my child, and I could not be more pleased!

Woodland Elementary Charter School 5

Posted July 21, 2015
- a community member
Love the staff! Very friendly, caring and pushes the children to excel!! Look forward to another wonderful school year.

Nearby schools

Woodland Elementary Charter School
1130 Spalding Dr, Atlanta, GA  30350
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 165 reviews. (770) 551-5890
Last modified Woodland Elementary Charter School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top