Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westlake High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

54 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2009

Magnet Program is awesome - the best in South Fulton County!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

im a student here and westlake is not the best school to be at. i have a couple of teachers that are barely ever in class and when they are they dont attend or teach to the students. there are planty of fights and food fights. the kids always have drama and its someting new everyday. so parents i would advise you to not enroll your kids at Westlake
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2009

Westlake High is an excellent school. It consist of Academy of Liberal Arts, Academy of Healthcare Technology and Sceince and Math Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

There are some excellent teachers at Westlake. My daughter is in the Math/Science Magnet Program and I give it very high marks!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

As a former member of the WHS Math and Science Magnet Program and a current candidate for a MPH in Epidemiology, I am very proud to say I am a Westlake High School Alumnus. While, WHS may have lacked the aesthetic ammenities that other school were afforded, I was privileged to sit in classrooms with dedicated faculty that never hesistated to give us honest evaluation and insourmountable support. I believe the faculty and staff have been unfairly blamed for the difficulties the school faces with disruptive behavior. I strongly believe in the adage, 'it takes a village'. As a former member of the Sandtown community, I take pride in giving back to the community-though trodden with faults, but strong in excellence, pride, and history-from which I came. Matriculation through Xavier University, persuing a BS in Chemistry, would have been impossible if it were not for the preparatory courses I received.


Posted December 18, 2008

I am a parent of a sophomore and for Westlake to be such a beautiful facility the behavior of the children is still out of control. The food fights continue and some classrooms are uncontrollable by the staff. I pray that things get better because the truth it we face obstacles in many schools. Being a parent who has one child in private school and one at Westlake breaks my heart to know that I have to pay a fortune for structure. The differences between the two are tremendous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2008

As a teacher at Westlake, I am confident in saying that there is room for improvement, as with any school. Administration needs to do a better job in making sure that the halls are clear and students are where they should be. On the other hand, we have a dedicated faculty & staff who have the students' best interest at heart. The majority of our staff gives 100% in making sure that Westlake exceeds above and beyond normal standards. Our principal, Dr. White is a very loving and caring person who treats everyone with respect. Parents and communit leaders need to recognize his efforts in Westlake's pursuit to excellence. Overall, the students are respectful and ready to learn. I have enjoyed teaching at Westlake for the past 10 years.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 17, 2008

whs has improved great lengths compared to a couple of years ago. Westlake has everything you need to have a genuine school performance and those of you who believe that other schools conduct themselves more orderly then you are sadly mistaken.You are depriving your students or yourselves of a true experience and further cripple them for what is the real world.Yes im a student and used to be under the same impression .
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2008

Well I attend Westlake High School and it is like any other school. Yes it has its drama and fights from time to time, but it is school. You are there for your own purposes which is learning. I hate the fact that people want to make Westlake sound just wild and to whoever said that Mrs. Ervin did not make it a better school, you must have went to a different Westlake because she made it fun and a place where you can learn with confidence. So thank you very much!!! Anyway Westlake like I said has its ups and downs but overall it is pretty decent school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2008

West lake high is a very intresting school i must say its one of the wildest schools in atlanta. West lake is filled with drama!! everyday there would be a fight. And the food fights in 2007 used to b crazy every1 would leave the lunch room covered in food. The adminstrators had no control whats so ever. I feel like mrs. Ervin didnt make the school any better. If anything she just made it worse. One thing i can say is that west lake had the best pep rallys we used to have so much fun doing the wave and representing our school colors. Looking back at all the problems that school had i must say i am a proud graduate from west lake. That school prepared me for war in iraq.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2008

I am very disappointed in the way that the students conduct themselves.I strongly advise that no one goes to this school.If you are not used to profanity,violence, disobedience and fights then please tell your loved ones to not attend this school.Those are just some of the reasons why I am transferring to a school that conducts themselves in a more manerly and orderly fashion.Attend at your own risk...literally!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2008

its a really good school...especially acdemically....im currently unenrolled from westlake to go to grady, even though grady is also a wonderful school, i would love to go back to westlake
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2008

I graduated from Westlake in 2007. I am currently enrolled in college. When I entered college I was very prepared and I began to appreciate my teachers at Westlake. They were very detailed with our assignments and they refused to let us just slide by and do half work. Thanks to 'The Lake' I was ready and capable for the next phase of my education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2008

Its a kool school! Just hang around the right people. Do your work. Socialize with everyone. Ans stay out of trouble. Then you gotta have a good time!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2008

I have a daughter who attends Westlake and I may not agree with all the rules put in place, however under the circumstances Mrs. Ervin does what she has to do to keep the students under control. It was explained to me, before Mrs. Ervin the school was out of control and I can truly see why...I pop up to the school every now and then and some of the students are out of control. It is sad to say, but she has to run the school in the manner in which it is being ran in order for the kids who want to learn, actually learn and feel safe at the same time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

As a graduate of Westlake in 2002 and now a college graduate, I can honestly say that I was prepared for college and life by my educational experiences at Westlake. When you take the time to read the critiques listed here, pay attention to the spelling and thought processes of the people with negative things to say. I attended the school when Mike and Marc Jones were the principals and they began the process of requiring accountability from teachers, students and parents. Beign tardy is inexcusable and these parents are upset because someone is actually holding them responsible for THEIR minor children. If your child isn't tardy, they don't have to worry about suspension. No one is doing young African-American children any favors by babying them and not holding them accountable and I think it is commendable for the Principal to require accountability from the students and parents.


Posted January 3, 2008

I am very disappointed with the leadership. The principal is self serving and goes over board to give the appearance of change, when in actuality the students are being short changed. Our students are not being educated in a manner that will adequately prepare them for life on a college campus, much less one in the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2007

I am a student that attends westlake.,and I feel that the school is unsatifactory. There a fight all the times, also food fights all the time. I fell that westalke teachers are not doing there jobs,and sometimes don't care about the students education. Some of the rules in the school a crazy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2007

I love this school. I belive that all students that attend westlake high school will graduate well prepared for their collgeg experince. Their principle is one of a kind and even though it is an prodominatly black school she does an swell job with keeping the students in line and their eyes on the prize.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2007

My daughter is a sophomore at Westlake. I have been a teacher for twenty years. Comparatively speaking, Westlake is doing a fine job of educating my daughter. She does have loads of homework...which is a good thing! The athletic program is superb, and the school spirit is amazing. I am especially pleased with her AP World History course. She will be able to compete once she leaves Westlake, and for that I am grateful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

488 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

487 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

488 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

486 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

485 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

412 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

480 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
50%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

475 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
76%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

466 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
44%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
56%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
22%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

370 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
47%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

418 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 37%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • GRANT RIVERA
Fax number
  • (404) 346-6410

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2400 Union Rd SW
Atlanta, GA 30331
Phone: (404) 346-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT