Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Spalding Drive Elementary School

Charter | PK-5 | 510 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 15, 2010

Our family could not be happier at Spalding Drive Charter. We have been at the school for over 5 years and have three children attending. Each child is very different but all three have excelled academically. The quality of the teachers is above average and the principal does a great job of thinking outside the box. The technology focus of the charter allows our children to utilize tools that other children their age never even touch. If you are looking for a small neighborhood school, with a very warm, friendly atmosphere, then you will be happy at this school. You will be hard pressed to find the quality academics and down to earth feel in any other school in area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2010

We have been at Spalding five years and could not be more pleased. Every teacher our daughter has had has been absolutely wonderful. The teachers encourage different forms of learning. Technology plays a big role in the school. Our daughter loves doing homework on the computer, learning spelling words by creating her own crossword puzzles online and other such inventive ideas to make learning fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2010

Our family is entering our 4th year at Spalding Drive Charter with a rising 4th grader, 3rd grader and kindergarten student. My husband and I have both been very pleased with how our children have been challenged academically. They have also broadened socially with exposure to a wide variety of experiences in and after school. We love the wholesome diversity at Spalding along wtih the tight-knit community. We were especially impressed with Spalding's first year with a major auction party fund-raiser that far surpassed all goals - a true testament to what can happen when school leadership, staff, parents and students all work hard together. Very pleased with our school choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

This school was not good for us. We realized it when kids went there, but we understood it even more when we moved and placed them in different school. When you have experience of really good school, Spalding drive compare to it is at very low level of education. There is a lot of haos going on in Spalding Drive. Tichers don't know what they are doing, half of the students don't even think about doing their home work and behave very poor at school. So the second half is always affected by this 50% of lazy children. Do not recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

SDC is wonderful for my son. The teachers there take such pride in their work, and so the students do too. They offer many different ways for the parents to volunteer. They encourage parent involvement. It's just an amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Spalding Drive Charter school is one of the best schools around. My son is a kindergartner at SDC and absolutely loves it. He used to have trouble paying attention before he started school at SDC. Now, in just a little month, he's already starting to read and do math! SDC is an excellent school. Their fundraiser this year, instead of going around selling that unhealthy candy, was a 'Tiger Trot-a-thon'. The students collected pledges and donations and ran small laps to raise money. It was such an awesome idea for a fundraiser! They make parent participation mandatory, which I think is wonderful. Parents should always be involved in their child's education. SDC is just an amazing school. I couldn't be happier having my son in that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2009

I can not say enough wonderful things about Spalding Drive Charter School. The Charter which focuses on teaching with technology has provided amazing opportunites for SDC students. SDC has Promethian whiteboards, digital cameras, computers, digital projectors and more in every classroom. Students are taught curriculum through daily computer lab use, virtual field trips, special software and learn claymation, web design, digital broadcasting among other skills. A strong music program offers guitar, chorus, band and orchestra. The majority of teachers are warm & caring. The Charter mandates parent involment hours and the parents are very involved with a strong PTA. Spaldings biggest issue has been overcrowding which will be relieved in the 2009-2010 school year with the opening of Ison Springs Elementary. The population is dropping from 700 students to 400. With all of these opptunities in a small school setting why pay for private school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

My son completed Kindergarten at Spalding Drive and had a wonderful year. His reading and math skills are greater than we could have imagined. If I could have designed the perfect teacher for my son it would have been the teacher carefully selected for him based on his personality and abilities. We are looking forward to another great year at Spalding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

My experience with Spalding Drive charter school was not great. After being at this school for 2 years both teacher starting from kindergarten and first was not that great. I would say please look each school before putting them into this school. They were focus more on the tag students verse all students. They were not teachers that cared about the students. What has happen to the school system. A young teacher can be good but also bad because they don't have the experience with children. I would not recommend this school at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

We moved here from out of state where we loved our children's schools. We were worried about the transition. Our children thrived at Spalding both academically and socially. I have worked at the school for the past several years so I have the dual perspective of parent and employee. Both experiences have been wonderful. Students are challenged and nurtured in a warm and caring environment. I don't know why parents would pay for private school when there is such a strong public school available.


Posted April 30, 2009

I have been fortunate to teach at Spalding for the last several years. The neighborhood is fantastic and the parents are so supportive. The class sizes are small and the staff is vibrant and caring. The administration makes the students the priority.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2009

I love Spalding! I moved to the Sandy Springs area when my son was ready to enter kindergarten. I was a bit nervous considering the reputation of Georgia public schools but I've been very impressed with Spalding. My son is now about to enter the 2nd grad and I'm absolutely amazed at how much he's learned and the level of commitment the teachers display. The school fosters parent involvement and they make you feel like the parent is a part of the school. I feel absolutely moved to volunteer and participate with the school as much as I can. The school truly feels like a community. The faculty, right down to the cafeteria staff are very helpful and truly care about the kids. The curriculum is AWESOME and I think it can stand up against private schools any day. Spalding is definitely a diamond in the ruff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

We have been a part of the Spalding family for the last 5 years and have been very happy with our experience at this school. Ms. Young has done an outstanding job in recruiting and retaining wonderful teachers and promoting a loving and respectful environment for our children. Technology is a major focus of our charter. This has allowed Ms. Young to integrate the sort of experiences that this generation will use throughout their lives. Not only do they have Promethean white boards and LCD projectors available in every classroom, each grade is offered an enhanced technology skill such as web page design, video production and digital photography. When I consider the art and music programs offered to my kids, I feel my children have received a well rounded educational experience at Spalding Charter. My family is very fortunate to have such a great school right in my own neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

My two children have been at Spalding since Pre-k and are now in the second and third grades. We have been very happy with Spalding! Our kids are challenged academically based on their own individual levels. The staff are warm and friendly, and the teachers are well qualified. Spalding has several computer labs, interactive white boards that are used in every classroom to enhance lessons, and a great art and music department. Overall, my children love going to Spalding and we are pleased with the education they are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

I moved to Spalding Drive Charter in the 2007-08 school year after having attended private school for years. I was very hesitant about my children going from a private to a public school. HOWEVER, I could not have been more impressed with this school and the administration! Spalding Drive Charter is a hidden treasure! I have not looked back since my children have been at SDC and absolutely love all it has to offer! My children are very happy, love their teachers and never want to leave Spalding Drive Charter!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

My two children have attended Spalding since Pre-K & we have had nothing but positive experiences. The staff is always helpful, the teachers top-notch and the gifted program is exceptional. My children have received individualized instruction based on their talents and have always been challenged to achieve higher. One of the most wonderful aspects of the school is the sense of community. Many families from the surrounding neighborhoods support the school & make it feel like a big family. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

I have had 3 students at Spalding, starting in 2000. The youngest is now in 4th grade. They have all had wonderful experiences there. The environment is warm and nurturing, yet provides challenges for high achieving students. The PTA is excellent. My only complaint is that many of the families in the neighborhoods do not consider it for their children because they have been told 'you can't send your kids to public school in this area.' Recently there seems to be some reversal of this trend, so I am hopeful.I have been very happy with the educational experience my children have had at Spalding. Check it out, I feel certain you'll like what you see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2007

This school is excellent. Best in Fulton County by far!!! Teachers are great - they actually teach and the children learn something. Speech techer is great!!!! Ms. Finoli (often in the library) is just wonderful. My daughter loves this school and does quite well. Classrrom sizes are very acceptable. This school reminds me of my school growing up back home in Chicago. Way to Go Spaulding!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2007

My children transfered here from another school. Based on the reviews I thought this would be a much better school for them. The transition in the middle of the sholl year was not a good one. My children where just thrown into random classes. Not enough emphasis on CORE subjects. Tebhnology seems to be the primary interest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2007

Spalding is a wonderful school. Both of our daughters have gone all the way through Spalding from Kindergarten through 5th grade. We have had excellent teachers and a challenging curriculum. The curriculum is as strong as private schools if not stronger. The diverse climate has been wonderful for our children as they are growing up in an ethnically diverse world in which they will be prepared for. I have always felt my children to be safe at Spalding. We are lucky to live in a neighborhood with such a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

78 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

58 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

60 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

58 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

58 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 44%
Black 23% 37%
Hispanic 23% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 51%N/A51%
Female 49%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (770) 673-4070

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

130 West Spalding Dr NE
Atlanta, GA 30328
Phone: (770) 551-5880

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Epstein School
Atlanta, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT