Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Morningside Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

I have a daughter in 1st grade at MES. Good school, mixed reviews on the teachers, some are outstanding.. but competitive parents help to drive their children to exceed expectations. That competitiveness also affects internal politics but that is at every school so you have to work with it or around it. Overall if you are a vigilant parent they will do well at MES and volunteer to learn how everything works, your child will benefit from your knowledge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

Our experience at MES has been great. Our daughter has been there for 3 years. One year proved especially challenging because of a new teacher, the school and principal were very helpful. We worked through it together. As for class sizes - sure they're a little bigger than we'd like but that's a byproduct of the school's success: families move to Morningside because the school is so good. I find the vast majority of teachers motivated, caring and professional - let me know if you find a public school where all the teachers are amazing, I'll move there now. Becky the principal is incredibly hard working, down to earth and sure sometimes she can be tough to pin down, but that's because she work's incredibly hard for our kids. I have never had a problem just talking directly to her before or after school, or grabbing a quick conversation in the hall way. The parental involvement makes MES special too. Each kid is different, every school has its good points and bad. . on the whole MES has so many more positives than negatives. Our daughter and her friends are all varying levels of academic ability, but they are all polite, confident and happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

This is the second year my girls have been at Morningside and the second year that school was not organized or ready for the start of the school year. Events and meetings for parents have been poorly organized and communicated or cancelled without notification. The principal lacks professionalism and sincerity. She encourages parents to reach out to her but doesn't respond to email or voicemail messages. Overall a frustrating and disappointing experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2013

Atlanta public schools are not intrested in helping kids who have minor learning disabilities who are diganosed with ADHD and or Dyslexia.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2011

I attended Morningside throughout elementary school, and I could not have been better prepared for the private middle school (Westminster) I attended. Morningside is, to put it fantastically, an almost magical place for a child to attend. The teachers are kind, helpful, and knowledgeable, and I had never experienced problems of bullying or popularity until middle school. Teachers and students are well connected with one another, and students form long-lasting friendships with equally kind and eager classmates. The best program at M'side is the Challenge program, in my opinion. I'm running out of characters, so basically if you get anything out of this review, understand that, when I moved onto middle school, I had an equal or better education than some of my friends who attended private elementary school, so never doubt a public school elementary education. I'll remember M'side fondly for the rest of my life, and hope I can send my kids to a school similar to it in the future. Go dolphins and MES!


Posted November 25, 2011

Morningside is an excellent school. We have to children there in 1st and 3rd grades. Both have been there since Kindergarten. Most teachers are very good and communicate well. Principal is outstanding. Counselors could be a bit more active, yet overall are present. Library is great!! Music classes are fantastic. Languages have expert teachers. PTA is very involved and feels like a community. EIP and Challenge special programs are functioning. Plenty of computers. Network needs to be better maintained... Building could be a bit more modern; it's an 85 years old school. The portable classrooms are going away this year, and we'll regain the front lawn of the school. Yeah! Morningside is a great school. Be prepared to be involved and to participate as a parent!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

I have two children--one in 4th and one in Kindergarten-- at Morningside and we have been very pleased. Both of my kids love the school and I am amazed at the level of the curriculum. They are learning at an incredible pace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2010

My child is in his 2nd year at MES. We have been extremely disappointed in the school in both academics and discipline. Tremendous lack of support from Principal and ass't principal. Great neighborhood feel and terrific parental support. Unfortunately, it runs under the Atlanta Public School system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

My daughter transferred in from a Buckhead private school and although I was nervous about the transition, she has found a real home at MES. She has become more confident and happier since the move. The teachers/education have been excellent and it is a great neighborhood environment. We couldn't be more pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

morningside is a great school, especaly for the location. It is a great school


Posted December 8, 2007

Having had 4 kids here, I've been very satisfied. My 2 with special needs are being served well, even though it is a large school, and the gifted children are being challenged. Community involvement excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

My son began Kindergarten this year (@ the off campus K-annex), and the school was not organized or ready for the first day of school (at all). Having heard so many positive things about the school, I was very surprised. But the school seems to be running smoothly now and I am happy with the teachers. The principal (new this year) may be a bit overwhelmed, as I have emailed her 3 times and left her a voicemail with her assistant-and never received a response (regarding curriculum differences in the classes - something I thought to be a very important topic!). Also, I never see the principal on the Kindergarten campus, and I spend a lot of time there volunteering for class projects, reading stories, etc... This lack of leadership couldn't be good for the teachers, students and other parents, could it?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

I have a rising 1st grader at Morningside and to say that I am satisfied with her progress at Morningside is to say the least. This is a wonderful school with wonderful faculty, staff, and leadership in the new Principal. It is the reason I moved into the City of Atlanta and increased my debt and living expenses. It is well worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

Morningside is an outstanding school with a great administrative team. The teaching staff is very dedicated, caring, and capable. The PTA is outstanding and always willing to help in any way.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 10, 2007

When rating this school, I consider children with special needs. My child has been attending Morningside for 5 years and there has been a lack of services to say the least. It is surprising to me that this school is rated so highly. There is a new principal who we all hope will be a better leader than the past principals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2007

My daughter attended Kindergarten at Morningside last year. It is a great school. There is so much parent involvment. And the staff is very helpful with any issues or questions you have. I would send my kids back to Morningside in a heartbeat!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

Morningside Elementary is excellent in its academic programs. Most students exceed standards, in all aspects. The program encourages creative thinking and reasoning. My child joined the chess club at 6, and he has continued playing for 2 years now. In general, parents are very involved and cooperate with teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

Wonderful intown school. Great Principal, great teachers - all it lacks is space!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

Morningside has been a blessing to our family. The teachers are top-notch and caring; the administration is adequate. There is heavy parental involvement in a beneficial way. The academics are rigorous enough and the extracurriculars, although crowded, are positive. We have had a great experience there and have not ever felt that we made the wrong decision by not placing her in independent schools. It offers a nurturing, safe, diverse, tolerant, and disciplined environment for children. I give it 5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

129 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

129 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

129 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

126 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

126 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

126 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

114 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 44%
Black 13% 37%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Hispanic 3% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1053 E Rock Springs Rd NE
Atlanta, GA 30306
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 802-8950

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT