Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Atlanta, GA
Students enrolled: 769

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Morningside Elementary School 4

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
I have a daughter in 1st grade at MES. Good school, mixed reviews on the teachers, some are outstanding.. but competitive parents help to drive their children to exceed expectations. That competitiveness also affects internal politics but that is at every school so you have to work with it or around it. Overall if you are a vigilant parent they will do well at MES and volunteer to learn how everything works, your child will benefit from your knowledge.

Morningside Elementary School 5

Posted January 13, 2014
- a parent
Our experience at MES has been great. Our daughter has been there for 3 years. One year proved especially challenging because of a new teacher, the school and principal were very helpful. We worked through it together. As for class sizes - sure they're a little bigger than we'd like but that's a byproduct of the school's success: families move to Morningside because the school is so good. I find the vast majority of teachers motivated, caring and professional - let me know if you find a public school where all the teachers are amazing, I'll move there now. Becky the principal is incredibly hard working, down to earth and sure sometimes she can be tough to pin down, but that's because she work's incredibly hard for our kids. I have never had a problem just talking directly to her before or after school, or grabbing a quick conversation in the hall way. The parental involvement makes MES special too. Each kid is different, every school has its good points and bad. . on the whole MES has so many more positives than negatives. Our daughter and her friends are all varying levels of academic ability, but they are all polite, confident and happy.


Morningside Elementary School 2

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
This is the second year my girls have been at Morningside and the second year that school was not organized or ready for the start of the school year. Events and meetings for parents have been poorly organized and communicated or cancelled without notification. The principal lacks professionalism and sincerity. She encourages parents to reach out to her but doesn't respond to email or voicemail messages. Overall a frustrating and disappointing experience.

Morningside Elementary School 2

Posted February 27, 2013
- a parent
Atlanta public schools are not intrested in helping kids who have minor learning disabilities who are diganosed with ADHD and or Dyslexia.

Morningside Elementary School 5

Posted November 29, 2011
- a community member
I attended Morningside throughout elementary school, and I could not have been better prepared for the private middle school (Westminster) I attended. Morningside is, to put it fantastically, an almost magical place for a child to attend. The teachers are kind, helpful, and knowledgeable, and I had never experienced problems of bullying or popularity until middle school. Teachers and students are well connected with one another, and students form long-lasting friendships with equally kind and eager classmates. The best program at M'side is the Challenge program, in my opinion. I'm running out of characters, so basically if you get anything out of this review, understand that, when I moved onto middle school, I had an equal or better education than some of my friends who attended private elementary school, so never doubt a public school elementary education. I'll remember M'side fondly for the rest of my life, and hope I can send my kids to a school similar to it in the future. Go dolphins and MES!


Morningside Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2011
- a parent
Morningside is an excellent school. We have to children there in 1st and 3rd grades. Both have been there since Kindergarten. Most teachers are very good and communicate well. Principal is outstanding. Counselors could be a bit more active, yet overall are present. Library is great!! Music classes are fantastic. Languages have expert teachers. PTA is very involved and feels like a community. EIP and Challenge special programs are functioning. Plenty of computers. Network needs to be better maintained... Building could be a bit more modern; it's an 85 years old school. The portable classrooms are going away this year, and we'll regain the front lawn of the school. Yeah! Morningside is a great school. Be prepared to be involved and to participate as a parent!!

Morningside Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2010
- a parent
I have two children--one in 4th and one in Kindergarten-- at Morningside and we have been very pleased. Both of my kids love the school and I am amazed at the level of the curriculum. They are learning at an incredible pace.

Morningside Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 10, 2010
- a parent
My child is in his 2nd year at MES. We have been extremely disappointed in the school in both academics and discipline. Tremendous lack of support from Principal and ass't principal. Great neighborhood feel and terrific parental support. Unfortunately, it runs under the Atlanta Public School system.


Morningside Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2009
- a parent
My daughter transferred in from a Buckhead private school and although I was nervous about the transition, she has found a real home at MES. She has become more confident and happier since the move. The teachers/education have been excellent and it is a great neighborhood environment. We couldn't be more pleased!

Morningside Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 24, 2008
- a community member
morningside is a great school, especaly for the location. It is a great school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Morningside Elementary School
1053 E Rock Springs Rd NE, Atlanta, GA  30306
(404) 802-8950
Last modified Morningside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Morningside Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top