Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lin Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 593 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 6, 2013

We have a kindergartner at Mary Lin and are very happy with how our first few months have been. We were nervous about our 5 year old entering the big school system, worried that she'd be 'lost' or managed to the average. We were wrong. Her class has 19 kids, guided by a teacher and assistant teacher. We had our P-T conference last week and it was clear that our child was getting individual attention, with specific focus on areas where she struggles and those where she excels. Her teacher gave us direct examples of how she was addressing our child's unique traits. The parent body is very involved and there is ample opportunity to volunteer and observe. Parents have been very welcoming and the entire community is proud of the school. Most importantly, our daughter is happy. She comes home with lots of stories about what she did with her friends. Her teachers create an environment of mutual respect and accountability. Our daughter is also non-stop about continuing her education outside of the classroom (reading, math word games, discussing geography, etc). My only struggle is that the day is long. 8-2:30 is a long time for a 5 year old to stay focused. I see that as a temporary issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2013

My son is finishing up his fourth and final year at Mary Lin. We transferred from a South Cobb charter school, and moved here specifically to be in the Lin attendance zone. It was a great decision.The teachers are great at meeting kids at their own level and challenging those who need additional challenges. Dr. Mitchell is far and away the best principal I've known (as a student, parent, or teacher). He supports his faculty, listens to parents (and these are very vocal and involved parents!), AND he gets the kids. There is great communication from the school administration, most of the teachers, and PTA. I wish I could do 4.5 stars instead of 4, but I just can't do five because this year I have really missed the high level of communication that my son's previous teachers at Lin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

My son is in 1st grade and came here from a private school in Cobb county. My son's teacher Ms. Gutherie within 2 weeks contacted us to say that my son was only reading at a Kindergarten level. I was mad and sad. He was immediately put in after school tutoring with tons of his friends once a week. I saw dramatic improvements after just a few sessions. My son now reads at a normal 1st grade level. Ms. Gutherie in my opinion is the best teacher I have ever come across. She is brilliant, creative, professional and her students just love her. Coming from the subburbs this city school is soooo much more welcoming then what I am used to. Everyone that I have come in contact with has been extremely nice. The school IS dated and currently they have some portables, but the school will be expanded and renovated in the coming years. I wish that my elder son would have been able to attend Mary Lin. He would have been much better off then he is now. :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2012

Here's a review from a parent who does not belong to the "majority" group. As long as you are part of the strong parent community, I am pretty sure your experiences will be wonderful, but beware if you look different. These parents will not let you become part of their group - they will systematically hound you out. It is a horribly cliquish environment. I would go to the extent of saying that they will even keep your child away from the key school resources, including the Challenge program, the selection for which is a big farce. The school is as good as the teacher you get. We had a fantastic teacher the first year, but the next year it was a disaster where the teacher basically gave in to the demands of the dominating moms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2012

I have a daughter in Kindergarten at Mary Lin and am very happy with her teacher, the administration and most of all the parent involvement. The community is strong and supportive. The building needs some updating which will hopefully be addressed when the renovation occurs but the most important aspects are excellent. We couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2010

My children came here from a good school and they were behind because the education is strong here. However, the school is so supportive that they provided in school support so that my children were up to level by the end of the year. We had to leave town for a while and when they were enrolled in good schools out of state, they were far ahead of other students: the teacher talked about one of them skipping a grade! It is also a warm loving environment. We feel lucky to have found it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Mary Lin Elementary has too been a wonderful learning environment for my daughter since kindergarten. It is a very safe environment and there is a lot of participation for parents.The teachers are very friendly too! Mary Lin is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

Mary Lin Elementary has been a wonderful learning environment for my daughter since kindergarten. They provide quality education while still maintaining some creativity in the process. It's a true neighborhood school. Over the years it has maintained it's own unique culture and identity. I hope that it continues to do so in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

-great parent involvement with a community feel. It is a public school, so anyone in the area can attend, not just those who can pay the tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2009

I love this school ,The teachers are wounderful .My child has been attending this school since kindergarten,Now she is heading to middle school. There test score are off the chart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

My child has learned so much since starting kindergarten at Mary Lin this school year. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The classes are small...my daughter's class is comprised of 16 students, a wonderful teacher and an awesome teacher's assistant. We could not be happier with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2006

Mary Lin is an excellent Elementary School. Parents are extremely involved and care about their children's education, as well as, the administration. It offers music, art and physical education as well as challenge programs that is needed to reinforce as well as enhance the students ability. It is also the most diverse school in the APS system, which speaks volumes, especially if this is important to the upbringing of your children. It offers the opportunity to celebrate the diversity and differences of everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2005

I adore this school. My child adores this school. Why can't more schools be like this?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2005

It is a very diversed school. It has good teacher to student ratio: about 1:15. The PTA is very active. If you are looking for a family friendly atmosphere this is the school. for your child.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

96 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

96 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

96 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 44%
Black 18% 37%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Brian Mitchell
Fax number
  • (404) 371-7168

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

586 Candler Park Dr NE
Atlanta, GA 30307
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 802-8850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Paideia School
Atlanta, GA





Horizons School
Atlanta, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT