Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mays High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 19, 2013

Our school is Benjamin E. Mays High School. Unfortunately, we are very disappointed with this school. Our children are in the Math and Science Academy. We are very concerned with the leadership of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

I enrolled my ninth grader at Mays for the 2013-2014 school year in the Science and Math Academy, and I am beyond pleased with the educational opportunities afforded her. The principal and staff have been caring, accommodating, and very professional. Her teachers are caring, and are invested in seeing the children succeed. She is happy, and has adjusted well to her new school. They offer a rigorous curriculum, as well as a flurry of extracurricular activities. I feel it is an exceptional school in the Atlanta Public School System.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

Mays leadership and staff does not operate in the community's best interest. The principal and staff operates in a very unprofessional manner towards parents


Posted September 6, 2011

Something is seriously wrong with this school. It was at one time the school that everyone wanted to send their kids to. Not anymore! The new APS Superintendent and the Atlanta Board of Education need to review this school for a large list of problems including serious problems with the dress code, the counselors, discipline and administration. They should also randomly survey the parents. I have a senior who has to practically beg her counselors for an appointment. One counselor handles one academy, for example...there is a Science & Math Academy and the one counselor is assigned to all four grade levels. This school has almost 1800 students!!! This school must focus on their their students who are nearing graduation more. They seem to treat those in the Science & Math Academy with the utmost respect, and the other students are just there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2011

I am an alumnae of B.E. Mays High School. I am a proud member of the Class of 2009! Mays was one of the best choices I could have made. What I want to know from these parents that are claiming that Mays is not an excellent learning institution is how much do you actually attend PTSA meetings, Wednesday conferences, and events? Mays prepared me well enough to get a full ride to Morehouse College. The Administration will only put forth as much effort as you are willing to offer yourself. If you only come to the school to curse someone out, they will not respond positively. Mays is THE top performing school in the district. As an alum, I still go back to Mays and offer goods and services to the school and to organizations. If you have so many negative comments about the school, HELP IT! You waste your time posting comments and not offering your services. Your taxes pay for your child's education. As an APS Alum (K-12), I will ALWAYS stay true to my district and the Blue and Gold! I saw issues with Mays, and I made changes via SGA. I even started a Freshmen-Senior Buddy Mentor Program. Did your kids tell you that? Before you write negative reviews, get involved! Mays High Til I Die!


Posted May 23, 2011

Former alumni. Sad to see how far the school has fallen from its former glory. Used to be one of the elite schools in the county; no less than a "9" for its Great Schools rating. Now it is a shell of what it was. Those fellow alumni that don't believe me need only go and take a visit. If you don't get turned around and shown the door, you will see that things have clearly changed for the worst. Athletics are still good, but that is where the excellence ends. The band program is no longer the same after the Legend retired. The academies are a mess since H.C. retired. And the discipline from the administration has been completely inconsistent since R.B. left. If this is not turned around quick because of the Good Ol' Boy network/politics, we will be just like "Thug"lass and "Waste"ington in a couple of years.


Posted December 7, 2009

This school is a great school compared to Douglass and Crim.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

I am very unhappy with the communication at Mays High School. The rules apply to some students and not to others. The dress code needs to be revised immediately! Attendance is poor and accepted at Mays. Parental involvement is only allowed for some parents. A parent can call and/or email Mays, leave a detailed message and phone number for various faculty numerous times and never get communication back. People who are dedicated to their profession, will take the time to call a parent back and should be pleased to have concerned parents. I do not like Mays for my child. We live in the Mays zone and I will try very hard to get an administrative transfer for my child out of Mays.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

I have two daughters at Mays due to rezoning. If it had not been for that I never would have chosen Mays for their curriculum. I think the problem with Mays starts with the head administration - Dr. Smith. He seems so out of touch with the students. I have not seen him interact with the students unless at a sporting event. My youngest daughter didn't know who he was when she saw him at a PTSA meeting, because he is never interacting with the students in the halls. I have never seen him at the events for the arts. It seems that unless it is a sporting event, he is not interested. I don't see how you can expect to have a great school and well rounded students when the head (principal) is not that way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

My grandson has been attending Mays HS for the past two years and I am very pleased with his experience there. I think the band leader, Mr. Irving, is not only a great teacher, but a wonderful mentor and example to his students. I have read the negative reviews posted on this site by parents and students, but for the most part, some of those leaving negative comments need to brush up on their writing and spelling skills. As for the dress code, I totally approve. It's time our youth learned the difference between dressing for school and dressing for the club. As far as the pants falling down on the student's behinds, those students need to know that style came from prison and sent the message to other male inmates that the individual with their pants down was another man's 'woman', taken as a punk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

My daughter was in this school for 3 days at the begining of the school year 2008-2009. I have never been treated so rudely by the staff and principle as I was at Mays. Besides some other issues of the students and the safety of the students. After the third day she was enrolled at Grady High. BEST CHOICE we ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2014

Mays is the worst school i have ever attended! From the dress code to the teachers and students, mays is an overrated high school. I am currently attending mays, but I think I'm transferring to Grady or Douglass. Mays is an exprience i don't want to live through ever again!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2008

I am a freshmen at Mays only thing about Mays that I hate is that the dress code and how if you are a ninth grader and you dont pass one of your subjects like math social studies and science if you dont pass that you are getting kept back and do the same classes over
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2008

I am a 2008 Graduate of Mays High School. My time spent here is and forever will be precious to me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2008

My child is a sophomore at Mays and I think the school is great. The teachers that my child has had are caring, want the children to learn and are willing to go that extra step to help them. No school or system is perfect; but give credit where credit is due. Support our school - students, teachers, counselors and staff. Mays really does have a great program for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

i think mays is not a good school for my children to attend because they have a bad behavior problem,academically,and their extra curriculum classes aren't very good either
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2005

I'm a rising senior at Mays High and it is not as bad as some people are making it seems. Yeah we have our problems but what school doesn't. Whne it comes to academics and sports we are number one in the school district. Look at the rate of students passing the GHSGT and the EOCT. Parents I say enroll your kids today.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2005

Mays High School is a school that needs to get its act together in the APS School system. Education needs to go forth and also learning. It has been a unsuccesful year with my children being at Mays. Its time for a transfer where I know my kids can get somewhere to meet the high standards of a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2005

I think that Mays has one of the worse Administrative (Prinicpal, Vice Principal, Secretary, etc.) in the State of Georgia. I really cannot understand how anyone can have a job working with and around children, but yet hate children. I had two sons that attended Mays and it was one of the worse experiences that I have ever had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2005

I'm a new ninth grader at B.E.Mays High. Dispite what most people think about Mays, they have very concerned teachers. They will do anything to get you to school to get an education. One of my teachers in the ninth grade came, and got me from my bus stop because I missed the bus. He went out of his way to come and get me. When your at Mays your not just a student your also apart of the Raider family.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

304 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

302 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

305 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

306 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

409 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
67%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

391 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
56%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

381 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
56%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
47%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

386 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
17%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
52%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 97% 37%
Hispanic 3% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Tyronne Martin Smith
Fax number
  • (404) 699-6781

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3450 Benjamin E Mays Dr SW
Atlanta, GA 30331
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 802-5100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT