Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Young Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2009

I am a current student at young middle school and I say that it was one of my favorite and educational evperinces of my life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2009

I am so diappointed with Young. My daughter has been at Young for two years and it has been an awful experience for her and for me. The teachers don't communicate with the parents and the principals lack leadership . The perception that Young is a good school is incorrect. If you are considering enrolling your child at Young do your research on the faculty, principals,talk to other parents,and by all means visit the school.I would not want any child to have an unhappy experience in school at this age as my child is having.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2009

I am an 8th grade parent from JCY Middle School. My daughter has been a student here since 6th grade. These years have been years of change. This year, the students were relocated to Archer High because of the school's reconstruction. It left the administrator unprepared, not enough planning for activities, they switched to academies which is not successful, the teachers have a problem with communicating with parents beforehand and are not pro-active at all, the children dont have any respect, and there is not enough supervision. It makes you wonder if they are learning anything at all. If you dont have a self motivated student then you are in trouble because the teachers do more criticizing than motivating and encouraging the child to reach their fullest potential. The atmosphere that exists at present is certaintly not condusive to learning. I cant wait until my child moves on into high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

Im a parent who child attends JCY I love it and so does he.For the parents that rated the school low what school did you guys attended because it could be the lack of parent education with all the misspelled words that you guys type incorrectly.It dont all comes from school it has to start at home also then your child cant and will not be mislead by others.So parents lets get involve with your childs future as well as the teachers to not only help your child but help you also,its call PTA.My son academic grades are excellent and he is a member of the gentlemens club,football team, basketball, and will be track too,now top that i love JCY
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

I am an 8th grade student (2008-2009) at JCY and it has been a wonderful learning experience for me. I am also a cheerleader at this school and the organization is great!! For all of you parents who say your children's grades dropped, maybe its your child's fault. Yes, there are distractions, but there are distractions in every school. I have been a straight A student since I started school and have straight As even at Young Middle School. The principal and the teachers are great!! I recommend this school to anyone who wants a good public school experience!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2008

I am an 8th grade student (2008-2009) at JCY and it has been a wonderful learning experience for me. I am also a cheerleader at this school and the organization is great!! For all of you parents who say your children's grades dropped, maybe its your child's fault. Yes, there are distractions, but there are distractions in every school. I have been a straight A student since I started school and have straight As even at Young Middle School. The principal and the teachers are great!! I recommend this school to anyone who wants a good public school experience!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2007

JCY is not a school for any student that wants to learn and be taught. I am an active father with my son attending this non school. His academics went from challenge to joke. The teachers were more concerned with calling for lost books by my son but not about the his status and conduct throughout the year. I was not only available at all times but was there on-stie trying to develop a rapport with the faculty. The 6th grade was a joke but has been corrected. If you do not care about success then sent them there. I took my son out and to a school that has concerned teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2006

My child went to this school for 3 years and I have to admit that this was the biggest mistake of my life. The teachers had a don't care attitude. The principal wasn't any better. I strongly urge you that if you are deciding to send your child to this school..think twice or even three times about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2006

Our daughter went to JYC for her entire middle school career. We were extremely pleased the education she received. The teachers were supportive of students. The teachers also made it a routine to communicate with us regarding our daughter's academic progress. JYC overall environment was unlike some middle schools I have visited. Parental involvement was great--a strong and active PSTA. The annihilative staff had a keens sense of the age group they were serving and generally provided the age appropriate sensitivity and nurturing needed. Our daughter received an very good education and preparation for higher learning at JYC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2006

I attended young middle school 4 a short peorid of time and I recived a great education and a place to go when ever it's need.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2006

My daughter was a 6 grade student at JCY and was voluntarily withdrawn because of the negative influence that attracked her attention. As a parent I had to monitor her academics and behavior and noticed that both had changed for the worse, which is when I decided to take another route and place her in a charter school. The teachers at JCY can do aot better job if the students will allow them too. Periodically, I would check on my daughter and notice how disruptive and disrespectful some students were. The unfortunate part about it is that they are missing out on so much of life's preparation. This school could have potential with more parental involvement and less police involvement. I am happy for those students that have excelled at JCY and wish the continuing students many blessings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

I'm a former student of JCY and I guess that the quality of the school really depends on how active and dedicated the child is. If the child has strong academic skills (or is determined to acquire them) then the teachers and faculty are tremendously receptive. However, there are opportunities for students for fall through the cracks. The classes are large, the library is 'ok' or at least adequate, and there is a high teacher turnover rate in some departments. Also, there are just some students who aren't there to learn, so they can prove to be distractions during vital class lessons. Overall, I had a wonderful time at JCY. Everyone is very supportive if you're willing to work (and that goes for parents as well as students.) (JCY Class of '97, WFU Class of '05)
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 11, 2005

i was a student at jcy from 6th- 8th grade. my learning expreience was awesome. i also have some of the most rememerable experiences of my life there. i am currently a sophmore in high school and an honor student. jean childs young middle school is a grear learning enviornment for any middle schooler or soon to be middle schooler.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

I went to Young Middle School for one year and had a wonderful experience I will never forget. I am currently ranked #2 in my junior class thanks t the wonderful learning experience and leadership quality I got from JCY. There are few negative things I can say about JCY, but I could talk about the positive points forever.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

318 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

319 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

313 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

235 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 37%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Thomas Kenner
Fax number
  • (404) 699-6794

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3116 Benjamin E Mays Dr SW
Atlanta, GA 30311
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 802-5900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT