Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Maynard H. Jackson- Jr. High School 2

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
50+ million dollars to renovate the facility and they just fill it up with students who are not interested in school and have very serious behavioral problems. Some excellent teachers and administrators but they are just beating their heads against the wall.
1 person found this helpful

Maynard H. Jackson- Jr. High School 1

Posted August 05, 2014
- a parent
This school is horrible they do not respect parents what so ever DO NOT listen to these other reviews because they are all lies that are written by the principal.


Maynard H. Jackson- Jr. High School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a community member
I am actually a student who attend Jackson and my school is an awesome school we have newly renovated school. Teachers are more concern than before. My mother can come and talk to the principal with no problem and the principal gives her great responses. The curricular there is phenomenal during and after school. Our ballet department is great, the chorus is wonderful and the band is magnificent.

Maynard H. Jackson- Jr. High School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
The teachers and principal are much concerned about the students and the level they are on . We hope to get the coaches and atheletic director on board to have the students working as brothers on the field as well as in their studies.

Maynard H. Jackson- Jr. High School 4

Posted September 10, 2013
- a community member
The graduation coaches are encouraging and give excellent suggestions as to how a student can improve on their academics to be prepared for college. The new principal is very involved and as a parent I enjoy working with her. There could be more parent participation in PTA meetings and activities.


Maynard H. Jackson- Jr. High School 5

Posted October 04, 2012
- a community member
Maynard Jackson, you are getting the best principal. Mrs. Johnson is so good at her job. Your parents, teachers, and students will love her!!! If you want to be the best, you chose the right principal.

Maynard H. Jackson- Jr. High School 5

Posted October 03, 2012
- a parent
You are getting a great principal. Your scores will not be low for long. She knows how to push students and teachers to succeed beyond anything they imagined. Mrs. Johnson is the best principal we have ever worked with, and I know she is going to do the same for you.

Maynard H. Jackson- Jr. High School 5

Posted October 01, 2012
- a teacher
You are getting the best principal. Mrs. Johnson loves her students and staff. She makes us work to compete to be the best. Don't take her smile for weakness. She is extremely competitive, and she is going to drive you crazy wanting to win everything. But it does feel good when you reach your goals in the end.


Maynard H. Jackson- Jr. High School 2

Posted May 08, 2010
- a parent
small classroom size; doesn't matter because the conduct in some of them is horrendous Some of the Teachers leave before the busses are out of the parking lot! It has academies but the principle is so disconnected its ridiculous Some of the teachers care.. and if you are to attend please go to the IT dept. Much better regarding academics & the discipline! Athletics is disorganized & the coaches allow the players to play 'me' ball... no teamwork taught.... If I could start over with choosing, it wouldn't begin here.... keep looking
1 person found this helpful

Maynard H. Jackson- Jr. High School 5

Posted June 22, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Maynard H. Jackson- Jr. High School
1550 Hosea L Williams Drive Northeast, Atlanta, GA  30316
(404) 802-5200
Last modified Maynard H. Jackson- Jr. High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Maynard H. Jackson- Jr. High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top