Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Atlanta High School

Public | 9-12 | 1240 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 15, 2010

As a student, the best way to describe North Atlanta is by stating that it is governed by paradox and contradiction. For example, the graduating class of 2009 (which had no more than 250 students) earned $16 million in scholarship money, but the composite SAT score for the whole school was 1378. There are more people who live out of zone that aren't in the magnet program than in-zone residents in the whole school. Basically, if you are not in the IB or pre-IB program, then you can kiss all your aspirations of a quality education good-bye. The arts program has atrophied significantly since the closing of the magnet; today, people are in the program so they can chill all day. To any parent reading this: if you can get your child into the International Studies program, then send your child here. There is no guarantee for a quality education otherwise.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2009

Our son graduated from North Atlanta High School in June. He achieved much and soared for the stars with the help of some of the most dedicated, and talented teachers I have ever met. North Atlanta uses the resources its diverse population to help all students achieve. There is no attitude of 'self-entitlement' here, and that is so refreshing. In the 2009 graduating class, $16 million dollars in scholarships were awarded to North Atlanta students. In these tough economic times, why pay tuition for high school when the outcome can be even more positive in a public school? These students actually have a better chance of getting into the college of their dreams, if they work hard and use their talents. My observations is that is not true in the private arena.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2009

North Atlanta High School what can I say? For starters I would ignore most of the parent comments because they don't attend the school. Im currently attending North Atlanta and I absoultly disappointed. I heard this great stuff about the school, doesn't live up to it's exspectations. They hassle you to get into the school. And then you don't even get to be on the arts team if thats what your going there for.That team is full. The classes horrid. Some of the teachers care and some are pushovers. Personally I think they all have probably lost some of there pysch while working there. Highly rude staff.I think some of them are just there to eat. No discipline what so ever. My friend got hit in the head with a football at lunch and they still continue to throw that football around today. Im scared I'll fail End of Course Test.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2009

This is a great school. We have many activities to choose from for our electives and the base that is laid during 1st and 2nd year will help each and every student for the rest of their lives.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2009

I currently have a sophmore student who attends North Atlanta. I have no regrets for sending my child here each day. This school is awesome and I have great communication with all the teachers .The IS program has been been very rewarding and challenging. I look forward to my 8th grader coming over next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

Currently, I'm a student at North Atlanta, and I love it here. Despite the rumors, North Atlanta's IB program is very hard. I've learned so much from all of my classes and its only our fifth week of school. Not only is North Atlanta a great school academically, but it's very diverse. I've learned about many new cultures. I highly recommend this school! It's the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

I am attending North Atlanta High School and I like the experience there. It's really easy to make friends and you can be yourself. The classes can be very challenging but also rewarding in the future. I'm a junior and it seems like a long road before I will be able to graduate but I know that the faculty and staff will provide all the support and I appreciate the hard work through all these years
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 18, 2007

I think that North Atlanta has a lot of potential to be a great school. There are some great teachers, and some not so great teachers. There are some great classes, and some not so great classes. There are some strong students here at NAHS, and they come from some strong parents that are very involved in NAHS. We also have a new principal, Mr.Mygrant, my old Middle School teacher that worked wonders there, coming next school year, so I think that he will bring a lot of much needed improvement here at NAHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2006

As a graduate of NAH, I was truly satisfied with my high school education. I currently attend one of top liberal arts colleges in the country and NAH certainly prepared me for the rigorous curriculum that I face now. If you really want to go somewhere after high school, NAH can definitely send you there; but only if you desire it. NAH is without a doubt the best high school in the Atlanta Public School System. This school has so many opportunities and advantages, the student just has to make use of them.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 7, 2005

I graduated from NAHS and couldn't imagine going to any other Atlanta school. Some of the finest teachers in America are at that school and Im sad to see them losing a wonderful principal. NAHS has everything a parent and student could ask for.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 30, 2005

This school is wonderful and one of the best high schools in atlanta. Currently, there are great academics and I am learning so much more than i ever thought i would. The performing arts program is not only great, but they have fun and there are so many clubs you are able to join. I know so many parents involved in this school, it's almost as if they attend it. The parents are great and help us out a lot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2005

The real truth about North Atlanta...there is absolutely no discipline. The students basically run the class. You won't really get an education unless you are in the IB or AP classes. Which is totally unfair. To me, choosing the right high school is super important. Those four years are extremely important in preparing you for college and life after high school. I found out the hard way when I took the SAT and was completely unprepared because of my education at North Atlanta.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 4, 2005

North Atlanta High is a great school who is losing a great principal. Several great leaders have left NAHS in the last 3 years. I just hope that these quality leaders can be replaced with other quality leaders who really care about discipline, school safety, the students, and adequate school structure and climate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2004

I had a daughter that just graduated in May from NAHS and I also have a son that is a junior there and I wouldn't send my child to any other Atlanta Public School. I have been very pleased with the school and all of the extracurriculum activities that the school has to offer. There is no school that is free from problems, but I do know that at NAHS the staff there does enforce all the rules and doesn't tolerate the nosense. And there is a great presence of parent involvement. I know that I'm one parent that has been truly involved in all of the activities that my children were involved in. NAHS staff please keep up the good work because it only shows in your students and you're not in the 'needs improvement' category, like some other Atlanta Public Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2004

One of my daughter's graduated from NAHS in 2000 and at that time the school was a great place to attend. I presently have a 10th grader who attends NAHS and the student body has changed so much that it is no longer a great school to attend. My daughter likes the school but she does not realize what the school was like before and all of the opportunites just 4 years ago. She is doing a great job in school and I will let her remain there as long as she is maintaining a high average. I wish there were more parents who cared about the welfare of their children and the value of getting a good education. Parents please make your children behave and spend more time learning and less time getting into trouble.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2004

This is a good school with good teachers. They give too much homework for one night but that just goes to show that they enforce the education upon the students. The school is safe and there are many after-school activities to further the education of the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 8, 2004

This school has been great for me. The teachers are nice but strict when they need to be. They go over the material that we need to know for the SAT's and overall it's just a really good school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

188 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

185 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

189 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

188 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

412 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

430 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
71%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
63%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
62%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
38%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 51% 37%
White 23% 44%
Hispanic 20% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30am
School end time
  • 3:30pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. H. E. "Gene" Taylor
Fax number
  • (404) 351-8763

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Lacrosse
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Lacrosse

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4111 Northside Pkwy. NW
Atlanta, GA 30327
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 802-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lovett School
Atlanta, GA



Pace Academy
Atlanta, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT