Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Atlanta, GA
Students enrolled: 662
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Centennial Place Elementary School 3

Posted July 18, 2015
- a parent
This school COULD be a great school. Once upon a time it was family oriented and the leadership as well as the teachers cared very much for the full child. Unfortunately this past year after leadership hired some fantastic and some not so fantastic teachers they decided they didn't care what the parents thought and basically pushed us out of the door. This caused the teachers to work even harder to show the parents that we were welcome. If you could get to the classroom - you felt warmly welcomed by the teachers but you had to walk through the front door (BRRRR) and get to the classroom first. Hate the parents opinion doesn't matter anymore.

Centennial Place Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 18, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are excellent! The leadership can stand to take notes from the teachers. If the leadership was as committed as the teachers the school would almost be perfect.

Centennial Place Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted July 18, 2015
- a parent
The homework can't be vaguely answered as requested here. It depends on the grade. One of my kids could finish homework in one night for the week while the other in 2 to 3 days. Yet their friends parents felt differently about the amount of time required to complete the homework. The greatest down fall was CA was suppose to level classes and didn't so the homework was appropriate for some and below level for others since this didn't take place.

Centennial Place Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 25, 2015
- a parent
Centennial Teachers are effective, proactive and very innovative. I appreciate their passion and dedication to developing the "total" student.

Centennial Place Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 25, 2015
- a parent
Centennial gives alot of homework, BUT we live in a global economy now and our children need math, social studies, reading, science, enrichment daily. Parent participation is required. Parents don't disengage on your responsibility - ENGAGE and tag team with the Teachers !!!

Centennial Place Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 25, 2015
- a parent
Centennial's daily activities in the class room and STEM events promote persistence, grit, determination and a "I CAN DO IT" attitude.

Centennial Place Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 25, 2015
- a parent
Centennial develops respect in the students by first developing the students self-esteem and respect for themselves. AMAZING !

Centennial Place Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 25, 2015
- a parent
Teachers lead and develop compassion by example. Positive reinforcements are given to the students instead of scolding, because some students are not receiving this instruction at home. It is phenomenal that Centennial promotes compassion, caring, and empathy in this environment.

Centennial Place Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 25, 2015
- a parent
The Centennial Academy Student Mission - HERO, encourages and rewards students that display behavior of honesty, integrity and fairness.

Centennial Place Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2015
- a parent
I am a single mom without any family here in Atlanta. Centennial Academy has been a phenomenal experience for me. My son has attended Centennial since Kindergarten. He is now going into the 2nd grade. The Principal, Asst Principals, and Teachers are ALL AMAZING. I love the family-feel of everyone there. The faculty is always willing to help and bend backwards to guide and assist me. I have carefully observed the Teachers interacting with my son and other students and they treat the children as if these precious beings are their own. The curriculum and STEM programs are AMAZING. At times the homework can be alot for a 1st grader lol, but it is all worth it. One more thing - the morning yoga for the kids is so innovative and really helps get the wiggles out of them before class. The YMCA After-school next door has also been a life-saver for me. If you are a single mom without any family here in Atlanta . . .I STRONGLY RECOMMEND you enroll your "bundle of joy" into this school asap and make sure you attend the Parent Teacher Meetings - these meetings are so insightful.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Centennial Place Elementary School
531 Luckie St NW, Atlanta, GA  30313
(404) 802-8550
Last modified Centennial Place Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Centennial Place Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 71 reviews. Top