Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady of the Assumption Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 480 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Atlanta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $309,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

170 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2010

OLA has been a great environment for our kids - great education, caring community, strong yet nuturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

it has a great church and school


Posted May 10, 2010

My grandaughter goes to OLA (1st grade) and she loves it. I went to the GrandParents day celebration at the school and it was so nice. I was very happy and impressed about how the school makes an effort to include the extended family in their school life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Wonderful school...My nieces and nephews are sooooooo happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

It is a great community of families! The teachers are fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

Great Catholic Community, great faculty, great families and great kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

Best school! We've been at OLA for 7 years. Our oldest was very prepared for High school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

Loving, caring Christian community of students, parents, and faculty which comes together to help our children excel as students and citizens......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

It's such a lovely school...its a small and a close knit school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

OLA offers a nurturing Catholic upbringing to re-enforce what my husband and I are teaching our children at home. This is my last year as a parent at OLA School, and I will miss being involved with the classrooms and wonderful teachers. And of course, I will miss Mr. Jefferson!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

A very loving school with teachers with high expectations for all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

The teachers and entire staff are committed to providing an excellant faith based education. There is a welcoming environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Families and the community are actively involved in a learning environment that promotes ethics and morals in a safe learning environmnet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

We miss OLA very much. ' Great School, Great Teachers, and Great Faculty and Staff Members.' Thanks to all of you. from Alabama :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

I love their dedication to their students and their faculty. Their morals, and their principals and principles.


Posted May 5, 2010

I love OLA school because of its Christian based education and its committment to serving the community. OLA does a great job of developing the whole child. I am very impressed with the committment of the teachers and principal to academic excellence. I am so thankful that my children have experienced OLA. It is a great place to be educated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

They successfully blend structure and discipline with sincere love of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

The faculty are great. The kids love the school.


Posted May 3, 2010

Everyone sincerely cares about the welfare, needs and education of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

My 2 granchildren attend OLA...and I have attended grandparents day...I am very pleased with the school and the staff is great...


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 44%
Hispanic 8% 10%
Black 4% 40%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
  • NCGS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Atlanta
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1320 Hearst Dr NE
Atlanta, GA 30319
Phone: (404) 364-1902

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Marist School
Atlanta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT