Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of The Assumption Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 480 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Atlanta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $309,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

170 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 7, 2010

My granddaughter is learning so much! She's getting an amazing education.


Posted October 6, 2010

The community spirit is wonderful. I've never heard of any bullying at "our" school. All of the students show support for each others activities...from pre-school through middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

The teachers are outstanding and are on fire to teach our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

Outstanding education in all areas. Top rate from the principal on down! We are lucky that our daughter attends OLA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

It's nurturing and academic
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

My son is new to the school and we can already tell that he is not only receiving a more quality education, but is in a great character-building environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

My child is happier at OLA than ever in our first year here in Middle school. The curriculum is strong in both content and support setting high expectations for the students without overwhelming them. It has a great community feel. The staff is very interested in the success of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2010

What a Christian environment based on values, love and devotion for not only teaching our children how to talk the talk but walk the walk. Not only is OLA a safe place for our children but a wonderful start on life, learning so much and utilizing these skills in day to day life. The teachers and staff represent an educational committment to our children that is unsurpassed by many in today's growing society. God leads in this school and it shows!


Posted September 23, 2010

Excellent school and parish, providing a wonderful education for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

OLA school embraces an environment that instills exceptional family and school values that we want our child to grown up with.The teachers and staff are exceptional and it is a nurturing and loving place. The school encourages growth and development for all who attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

We are new to OLA this year, and have found it to be very welocming by students, parents, and faculty. We are also very pleased with the academics - our son is being challenged in every area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

It is a wonderful loving environment that makes my children feel welcome and loved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

My grandaughter is in the 4th grade and now my grandson is in kindergarten at OLA....I have been to Grandparents Day for a few years and am returning in 2011...always an enlightening event...The individual attention the children get is so important...and I can see by my granchildrens work that they are benefiting greatly from their teachings....Keep up the great work...and special thanks for all the hard work that the staff is doing....Thank you OLA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

Wonderful experience. Great teacher to student interaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

OLA provides a nurturing environment for the kids, a challenging curriculum and a high standard for behavior. A perfect place for both of my kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

wonderful, caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

OLA has been a wonderful place for our children to learn and to grow spritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

OLACS has caring and well-informed teachers. It's a loving community dedicated to supporting all its students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

I have seen firsthand how my granddaughter has develped since she has been attending OLA. It's a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

OLA has it all - an effective, hands-on principal; knowledgeable, nurturing teachers and staff; a comprehensive curriculum; very involved parents; and best of all, a strong Catholic identity.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 44%
Hispanic 14% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 2% 37%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
  • NCGS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Atlanta
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1320 Hearst Drive Northeast
Atlanta, GA 30319
Phone: (404) 364-1902

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Marist School
Atlanta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT