Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of The Assumption Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 480 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Atlanta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $309,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

170 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2010

I love the wonderful families that make part of the school. The children are really great and the parents really care about the school and how it is helping their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

OLA provides a great environment for learning and fostering friendships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

I love the teachers and the community! I feel like everyone is working together for the good of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

Its an amazing school with wonderful teachers who go out of their way to create a fabulous learning environm,ent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

Nurturing environment, academic excellence, catholic values, great teachers and community, just wonderful fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

OLA School is a community including parents, students, and teachers. We exercise mutual respect every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

E love OLA because its giving my child a top notch education, while nurturing them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

Both my husband and I have received Catholic educations and we believe that OLA is a great example of what we experienced. We are so happy our grandchildren are fortunate to be able to attend such a wonderful and caring school. Mary Pat Kalbas


Posted May 19, 2010

My daughter has been there for two years and I couldn't be happier. Like all good Cathloic schools they provide loving discipline from teacheers who pour their heart and soul into it every day. The children love it and know it's a special to be. The parent involvement is outstanding and the Principal is well respected for running such a tight program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

A through back to the days of a Christian Community education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Wonderful community of teachers and support personnel providing a high level of social, spiritual and educational expectations for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

The school really helps the students prepare for the future
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

The Principal Anita Nagel & Assistant Bennie Smith along with the entire staff treat my daughter as if she were one of ther own. The Principal & Assistant Principal greet the children every morning. The curriculum and religion go hand and hand. I wished this school woulg go all the way up to 12th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

It has great leadership and staff who care very much abaout the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

It provides a very fine academic atmosphere for the students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Its a small school with great parents and teachers with a great 'intown' Atlanta location.


Posted May 12, 2010

My sister's grandchild attends this school. She loves the school staff, students, and activities. She is doing so well. Way to go! As a retired teacher, I know how important all of this is.


Posted May 12, 2010

The quality education at this school (anchored by dedicated, conscientious teachers and administrators) prepared my brother and sister in the late 1970s and continues to do so currently for my niece. OLA's staff nurtures its students academically, socially and spritually, providing discipline and encouraging the development of character and integrity.


Posted May 12, 2010

I don't have any children but I am a member of the OLA parish, and can see that the school is a wonderful place, welcoming and very active. There are a ton of events and activities focused on service, prayer, and building community for the success of the kids and their families. Very deserving!


Posted May 12, 2010

We have 4 graduates of OLA school and all went on to successful high school and college years.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 44%
Hispanic 14% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 2% 37%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
  • NCGS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Atlanta
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1320 Hearst Drive Northeast
Atlanta, GA 30319
Phone: (404) 364-1902

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Marist School
Atlanta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT