Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of The Assumption Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 480 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Atlanta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $309,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

170 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 11, 2010

I taught in public schools for 39 years before coming to this school (OLA). Although I find the teaching staffs in both settings able and competent, I feelthat there is a genuine concern for the whole child here at OLA. I also am relieved to experience a school which is values-based. I could not ask for a more nurturing environment for students, teachers, and families than here at OLA.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 11, 2010

It is an excellent school academically and all the families are very invested in their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Great educational experience-mind body spirit for children and grandchildren
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Quality of the education delivered, level of caring of the teachers, staff and parents involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Strong Christian values, quality of the education delivered, level of caring of the teachers and staff plus the beautiful campus that the children get to experience.


Posted May 10, 2010

OLA is a second home for our family! We could not have found a better school. May God bless all of our staff and all the families at OLA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

OLA offers a wonderful, warm, friendly learning environment. It is helping students develop academically, socially and spiritually and grow into smart, responsible, involved citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Great education. Great Team spirit and parent participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Strong school and parish community with dedicated faculty and staff, and parents to support educating the 'whole' child; spiritually, intellectually, physically
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Great disciplinary standards, appropriate curricula and excellent staff make OLA School one of the best in Atlanta. Parents are heavily engaged in all activities and support the school in every single way possible. The school keeps enhancing itself, from facility maintenance, to new technologies, to competent educationalists .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

It is a wonderful Catholic based community with loving and giving teachers, staff and families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Nurturing atmosphere, excellent and updated teaching tools, active community of teachers and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Solid values, consistent teaching methods and attention to each and every child in a unique way. The Catholic education and community are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

OLA is a great school because the teachers are fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

OLACS is a warm nurturing school. The curriculum is superior, the staff is friendly and eager to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

OLACS is a top academic school with an outstanding faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Our son started in pre-K and is now graduating from 8th grade. Our daugther started in pre-K and she will graduate in 3 years. We believe in OLA: it is a great environment for kids to grow up in both academically and personally!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

We have 3 children at OLA and our oldest started in Pre-K and went through 8th grade. The teachers and staff really care about the children and want them to leave OLA being the best person they can be. It is a very safe environment where children can thrive academically, spiritually and emotionally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

My great grandchildren are receiving a superior education , thanks to the great teachers and staff.


Posted May 10, 2010

We love OLA because it has the perfect mix of eductaion, christian teachings, discipline and nurturing atmosphere. The students are respectful and well educated.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 44%
Hispanic 14% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 2% 37%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
  • NCGS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Atlanta
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1320 Hearst Drive Northeast
Atlanta, GA 30319
Phone: (404) 364-1902

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Marist School
Atlanta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT