Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
500 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Located in Northeast Atlanta, Georgia, Immaculate Heart of Mary School (IHM) is a Catholic school that serves a diverse population of 500 students from Kindergarten through Grade 8. Established in 1958 as a parish school, IHM strives daily to follow its guiding principles of Faith, Knowledge, Service and Integrity.
August 19, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Immaculate Heart Of Mary School 1

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
Disappointed. Middle School experience was pure frustration. The "counselor" is clueless when it comes to dealing with children in the adolescence stage. The elementary atmosphere was very professional. You should seriously consider another school for their Middle School Program if you already have a child at IHM. If SPX is your High School goal, you should check into the Middle School at OLA.

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School 5

Posted March 10, 2016
- a community member
IHM is like home. We truly our a family here. The teachers work together to develop lessons that will reach every type of learner. The teachers utilize the Instructional Support teachers to help meet the needs of all students.

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School 5

Posted March 10, 2016
- a parent
I absolutely love Immaculate Heart of Mary. My family came to Atlanta 30 years ago from another country and IHM welcomed us with open arms. My brother and sister both graduated from IHM and they look back at their years at IHM and smile. When my own son began attending IHM, I felt like I was being allowed to re-live my own childhood through his wonderful experiences here at IHM. Now, it's been 5 years and my son will soon be entering MIddle School next year. His teachers have helped my family and I raise my son. He is becoming a well-rounded, intelligent, compassionate young man and I owe it to the school. He wears his IHM emblem on his shirt with pride and it shows. I am forever grateful to this wonderful school. -Proud IHM Parent

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School
Develops respect: no rating

Posted August 20, 2015
- a school leader
All students are treated with respect and love. In return, the students are taught to treat their peers and their teachers with respect and care.

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School
Develops empathy: no rating

Posted August 19, 2015
- a school leader
IHM School has a full time school counselor who teaches a Guidance class to all students. In this class, the students are taught moral values and an anti-bullying curriculum.

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School
Develops honesty: no rating

Posted August 19, 2015
- a school leader
Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic School has been named a "No Place for Hate" by the Anti-Defamation League for the last four years. All students are taught moral values during their Guidance classes. Teachers and administrators following the guidelines set forth in the school's mission statement: "As a diverse, Catholic community, Immaculate Heart of Mary School models Gospel values, while striving to achieve excellence in order to develop positive, productive citizens serving society."

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School
no rating

Posted August 19, 2015
- a school leader
Located in Northeast Atlanta, Georgia, Immaculate Heart of Mary School (IHM) is a Catholic school that serves a diverse population of 500 students from Kindergarten through Grade 8. Established in 1958 as a parish school, IHM strives daily to follow its guiding principles of Faith, Knowledge, Service and Integrity.

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School 5

Posted June 17, 2015
- a parent
We love IHM! The teachers are so committed to the children and the academic instruction is top-notch. The families support the school and each other - it has been a wonderful community for our family. When we enrolled our children several years ago at IHM School, it was not only because of the superb academics, but. more importantly, because of IHM emphasis on the development of the whole child - spiritually, morally, emotionally. We have been very happy with our choice. IHM is a wonderful school!

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School 5

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
I love this school! It is such a great place and has such a wonderful community that surrounds it.

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
I have several friends who have children at IHM. When you walk into the school in the main hallway on the wall is the greeting; "Welcome to our school, welcome to our family" This captures the feel of this extraordinary school. The parents here are involved, the children are learning, and the faculty care about the children. It is a Blue Ribbon School where the students are challenged. You see happy children who are very successful. It is a wonderful educational environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School
2855 Briarcliff Road Northeast, Atlanta, GA  30329
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (404) 636-4488
Last modified Immaculate Heart Of Mary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top