Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
500 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Located in Northeast Atlanta, Georgia, Immaculate Heart of Mary School (IHM) is a Catholic school that serves a diverse population of 500 students from Kindergarten through Grade 8. Established in 1958 as a parish school, IHM strives daily to follow its guiding principles of Faith, Knowledge, Service and Integrity.
August 19, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Immaculate Heart Of Mary School
Develops respect: no rating

Posted August 20, 2015
- a school leader
All students are treated with respect and love. In return, the students are taught to treat their peers and their teachers with respect and care.

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School
Develops empathy: no rating

Posted August 19, 2015
- a school leader
IHM School has a full time school counselor who teaches a Guidance class to all students. In this class, the students are taught moral values and an anti-bullying curriculum.

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School
Develops honesty: no rating

Posted August 19, 2015
- a school leader
Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic School has been named a "No Place for Hate" by the Anti-Defamation League for the last four years. All students are taught moral values during their Guidance classes. Teachers and administrators following the guidelines set forth in the school's mission statement: "As a diverse, Catholic community, Immaculate Heart of Mary School models Gospel values, while striving to achieve excellence in order to develop positive, productive citizens serving society."

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School
no rating

Posted August 19, 2015
- a school leader
Located in Northeast Atlanta, Georgia, Immaculate Heart of Mary School (IHM) is a Catholic school that serves a diverse population of 500 students from Kindergarten through Grade 8. Established in 1958 as a parish school, IHM strives daily to follow its guiding principles of Faith, Knowledge, Service and Integrity.

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School 5

Posted June 17, 2015
- a parent
We love IHM! The teachers are so committed to the children and the academic instruction is top-notch. The families support the school and each other - it has been a wonderful community for our family. When we enrolled our children several years ago at IHM School, it was not only because of the superb academics, but. more importantly, because of IHM emphasis on the development of the whole child - spiritually, morally, emotionally. We have been very happy with our choice. IHM is a wonderful school!

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School 5

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
I love this school! It is such a great place and has such a wonderful community that surrounds it.

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
I have several friends who have children at IHM. When you walk into the school in the main hallway on the wall is the greeting; "Welcome to our school, welcome to our family" This captures the feel of this extraordinary school. The parents here are involved, the children are learning, and the faculty care about the children. It is a Blue Ribbon School where the students are challenged. You see happy children who are very successful. It is a wonderful educational environment.

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School 5

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
When you walk into this school on the wall is written "Welcome to our school. Welcome to our family". I have friends who have children at this school and I have attended several events. The school definitely has a family feel to it. The teachers are caring and supportive of the students. The children are well behaved and happy. It is a Blue Ribbon School and serves the needs of the children very well.

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School 5

Posted May 12, 2015
- a parent
I absolutely love IHM. My son is a current student there, and my daughter graduated from there. My children have had nothing but wonderful, supportive teachers who genuinely care for them. They have shown them love and guidance in many ways - not just academically but also spiritually, socially, behaviorally. My children have learned so many valuable lessons I can not even begin to describe them all. IHM is 'home' to us, and I would recommend IHM to anyone of any race, any religion, any gender. The teachers, faculty and staff and administration love each and every family like their own. IHM has been named a No Place for Hate School by the Anti Defamation League, and they do not allow bullying at all. They work very hard to be proactive with Virtue of the Month programs, New Student/Ambassador programs, weekly Mass for the entire school, Anti-Bullying programs and curriculums, and constant service projects. I am very proud to be able to say my daughter graduated there - she was so well prepared for high school, and my son is well on his way.

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
This is a wonderful, caring school for my children now 2nd and 4th grade. We have been very happy with all aspects of the school since Kindergarten. The academics are excellent and appropriately challenge my children. The community feeling of the staff, teachers, and co-families is great. Everyone just comes together if a family is in crisis. I have many families that I can call in times of need. I encourage you to take a look at this special place we call our school home.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Immaculate Heart Of Mary School
2855 Briarcliff Road Northeast, Atlanta, GA  30329
(404) 636-4488
Last modified Immaculate Heart Of Mary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Immaculate Heart Of Mary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top