Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pace Academy

Private | K-12 | 995 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Atlanta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $637,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2010

Great school for families...there is high level of academic achievement that they are known for, but there are also wonderful opportunities for your student to participate in all aspects of student life...fine arts are amazing with excellent teachers in painting, drawing, photography and ceramics, Athletic program is outstanding with new facilities and teams in almost every sport - but the best part is that your child actually might get to be on the team! Not always the case in these Buckhead private schools, they have an renown service program that has been in place for over 30 years, multiple clubs, their model UN was the only school representing the US in Qatar this year, their debate team has won state every year and multiple national titles. I am glad my kids are there because I know at a larger school they would never have had these varied experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2010

Pace is a really strong school, but it's academics, finances, and athletics really play second-fiddle to Westminster in Atlanta.


Posted January 8, 2010

Pace is the best school academically and in the arts in Atlanta. It's expensive for most, so be ready, but is worth it. It's small, so if you don't like the feel of a small school, maybe it's not for you. However, I have found that my Pace experience actually contradicts the normal expectations of a small school (not much to do, only one type of person, etc.) . I feel like I've had the best of all worlds at Pace because I can stand out on the athletic fields even as a freshman, sing in the famed Pace musicals, and get individual attention from my AP teachers. I have friends in all these arenas and all grades, something I have because of Pace's size. Small schools can have spirit too! Witness Spirit Week or Service Day, or opening night just once, and you will never look back.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2009

The teachers are the best- they are dynamic, engaged, and knowledgeable- and that is contagious!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2009

As a parent whose three children went through Pace Academy from pre-first through 12th grade, I am well qualified to say that the school nurtures each child's sense of wonder, imagination, & creativity, while also instilling responsibility, a strong work ethic, a strong sense of self, and a love of learning in its students. The curriculum is rigorous and the expectations are high, while the climate is nurturing & individualized. My children's academic and personal successes in life can be attributed to Pace Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

I have three very different kids at Pace, but each one has found their perfect school. It is hard to believe that this small school (900 students K-12) can deliver just what each of my kids need. The great things is that while each child excels in one particular area, academics, sports, the arts -- they participate in every area. The school has expectations that each child gets as involved in the community as they can. Parents are also deeply involved and committed to the school. It has a strong family feeling due to leadership in all three schools that promotes parent involvement. The teachers are outstanding, especially the ones who have been there the longest. They are the school's greatest asset. It is truly the best school in Atlanta if you are looking for the warmth and intimacy of a small private school and the highest academic standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

As a recent alum of Pace Academy, I look back mostly fondly at my 13 years at the school. The transition to the new administration was a bit rocky at times, but the teachers were nothing short of fabulous. Each and every teacher I had went the extra mile to teach me not only the material, but how to think. Now in college, I find that I'm breezing through course work. In fact, I'm only in my first year of college but I have enough credits that I qualify as a sophomore. It is a difficult school. Academics rule, and there is little hand-holding. If a student cannot keep up on their own, they can face serious hardship. However, the faculty are always willing to help however they can, and most of the students help as well. It is a lot of work, and academics are tough, but well worth it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2008

As a student of Pace Academy for thirteen years, I can honestly say that my school provided me with every tool needed for a bright future. I was challenged and encouraged as a student both academically and socially. It was not always the easiest academically speaking, but looking back, that is what I like about Pace. I still go back now as an alum, to visit past teachers, faculty, and staff, who, over the years, became like a second family to me. I would highly encourage this institution to anyone looking for an exceptional education in Atlanta. It is the best of the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2008

As an in-going senior at Pace, this school can be very hollow and rigid. The education mold is one size fits all, and Pace sometimes seems they care more about there image then there education's quality. I am one (of the many) students who find themselves being teasted for the stupidest and oddest reasons (hair too bulky, a little bit chubby, clothes don't match). Sometimes it doesn't feel like most the teachers care about the emotional well-being of it's students, except for an extremely select few. I find the academics at Pace are the same as the previous private school in Florida I attended-----Average, hollow, and rigid beyond belief. If I had a choice in attending Pace, I wouldn't have.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2008

i love this school and am looking 4ward 2 going here untill 12th grade! Pace has given me a wonderful education so far and i know that its wonderful teachers will continue this 4ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2008

Don't waste your kid's precious and vulnerable childhood years here! The school is very narrow in it's teaching i.e. teachers expect the same thing out of every student, which is where academic problems start. In other words, It's Pace's way or the highway. The art programs certainly aren't nearly renowned as they tell spectators to the school. A lot of money goes into the overdone fine arts center, and the arts are overly-emphasized and sometimes seem more important then academics. This school is as average and rigid as the next Southern private school. From what I've witnessed, there is a lot of pressure from other students to be 'perfect' and there is a sizable amount of bullying, which is a big attribute to children's low self-esteem and non-concentration in class. A large lack of diversity. Don't expect the so called 'top-tier' education Pace tries to boast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2008

This is one of the most elite schools in the country and very exclusive in their selection process. They are focused on academics but believe in well-rounded education. Their arts and other enrichment programs are unparalleled. Do not believe everything you read, go see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

We have two children at Pace Academy and we highly recommend the school and it's program of excellence! We chose the school because of its personalized dedication to the students, low ratios and the academic success. We consistenly see clear evidence of learning at an advanced level. The critical thinking skills and ability to research for knowledge with in depth projects is impressive for the ages of our children. The Headmasters at Pace are all personable, involved and very attentive to all of their students and families! Most importantly is that our children are very happy, exceptionally challenged in academics and they feel safe and secure. I can say without hesitation that Pace Academy is a school where great importance is placed on the student and family. You can't help feeling a sense of belonging at Pace as the parent partnership is the essence of their dedication to your child's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2007

I am a teacher at Pace and LOVE this school. I would never consider teaching anywhere else. The faculty is very warm and caring. Students are the number one priority. In the middle school where I work we are very supportive of students who learn in different ways. Classes are small, and students have a chance to be involved in all types of activities. We have high standards and give our students the support to meet and exceed them. I recommend Pace 100%.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 22, 2006

The school has improved since they hired a new headmaster. However, there is much baggage left over since his departure. The school is very over priced and spends too much time pushing social issues over academics. There is some hope the new Headmaster will be an improvement, but buyer beware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

Don't waste your money or your child's precious learning opportunities! This school is an educational country club for children of the wealthy. If your child needs enlightened teaching or learns differently in any way, forget it! There is a rigid, totalitarian, cookie cutter approach to learning & academic discipline - one size fits all - & basically it's sink or swim with punitive outcomes regardless of individual needs or circumstances. Most of the teachers here are knowledge specialists who dump material on students in the name of 'rigor' & 'challenge' but don't teach them how to think. This school felt like a prison to our child - definitely not for everyone. We left at our earliest chance. Beware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My oldest daughter entered Wahington U. St.Louis last year. She was so well prepared for college work that she made dean's list and the National Association of Collegiate Scholars her freshman year having placed int several junior level classes. She is very typical of the students that graduate from Pace. Even if academics are not the student's strongest suit, there is always some area in which they excel; be it ceramics, photography, theatre, or sports. Pace also has a nationally recognized debate team. I really cannot say enough good things about the school. My youngest will graduate this coming spring, and I plan to continue volunteering my time to the school because of what it has done for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Pace Academy offers a quality and enriched environment for learning, exploring and articulation enhancing mental, academic and productive challenges in the fields of education, cultural arts, competitive athletics, music and community services! The basis of students' success in this Ivy League school and private institution includes strong parental involvement, a dedicated academic staff, active alumni and an experienced and committed Headmaster.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 44%
Black 6% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Hispanic 2% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8 a.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Fred Assaf
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

966 West Paces Ferry Road Northwest
Atlanta, GA 30327
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 262-1345

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT