Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Westminster Schools

Private | K-12 | 1855 students

Westminster is a Christian, independent day school for boys and girls.

 
 

Living in Atlanta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $637,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 6, 2011

I'm a student at Westminster, and have been since 9th grade. The school is simply incredible: students are very friendly, the faculty are knowledgeable and passionate about their subjects, and the campus and facilities are just otherworldly. However, if you are switching, be prepared for a rough adjustment period, especially academically. The courses are all taught college-style, with minimal, if any, grade inflation, and the workload, especially at the beginning and end of each semester, can be overwhelming. In addition, tests are based, more so in advanced courses, on insight and deep understanding of topics rather than simple regurgitation of facts and formulae. You will almost certainly have to change your study habits, and don't be surprised if you go from straight A's to mainly B's and C's, especially if you are enrolling in honors and AP courses, as the caliber of the average Westminster student is head and shoulders above the average student at any other school. But if you are looking for a place to challenge yourself in all aspects of schooling, Westminster is the school for you.


Posted December 31, 2010

I am a senior at Westminster, and I've been at the school for the last six and a half years. I've had a blast here--my friends are great, my teachers all know their stuff and keep the classes interesting and engaging. I can't say enough good things about this school. Indulge a brief anecdote: I came from the DeKalb Public Schools, and my first impression of Westminster was it's wonderful bathrooms. You see, public elementary school bathrooms are about as clean as their occupants are tall, and, well, let's just say that I was pleasantly surprised to enter a school lavatory that was so clean I felt like, in comparison, I could eat off the counter (if not the floor....). Okay, what does this have to do with a helpful review? What began with an infatuation over the cleanliness of the bathrooms rapidly expanded to include a pleasant astonishment over the academic rigor and cultural vitality of the institution of which I am proud to be a part. Although I most certainly intend to graduate this spring, I will be truly sorry to leave such a fine school.


Posted December 31, 2010

This is my fourth year as a Westminster student; I transferred here in 6th grade. I can't even think of a negative experience I've had at this school. I'm sure other people have already said this, but this school could be very difficult for anyone who has a lot of trouble staying organized and motivating themselves to stay focused. Personally, I have loved this school because of its wonderful teachers and my fellow students. It's the perfect school for students who enjoy learning and are good at organization and are self-motivated. I've never yet had a bad teacher!


Posted December 13, 2010

Each of my children switched to Westminster starting in 6th grade after completing elementary school in the Dekalb County Public Schools. Switching to Westminster was one of the best decisions we ever made -- the teachers and students are fabulous -- smart and engaging in a nurturing way that encourages each student to reach their full potential. This is a fantastic school for self-motivated students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2010

Given its historical success, unmatched resources, broad and influencial alumni base and college-like campus, Westminster is considered by most to be the premier academic private school in Atlanta and one of the best in the country. Westminster does focus on helping students to excel, finding a passion, and preparing for college and life. Its matriculation record each year easily leads the Metro Atlanta schools both public and private and it programs help mold the committed student into an adult ready for the next phase of life. While the school does have its pockets of wealth and a university-like endowment, its commitment to diversity and community service really does help provide a well rounded experience. It attracts the best students, so it can feel competitive, but motivated students will thrive in the environment and others will learn to develp skills to help them succeed, both reinforced by exposure to intelligent classmates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Westminster is a good school for many and a great school for some. Which means if you have an outstanding student/athlete, then you should send them here to be surrounded by kids who are also at the top of their game. If you have a student who is smart or athletic but not superior in these areas, then you might end up feeling disappointed. Which is to say that they are great on the great students, not so good on the good students. The problem this creates for families is the issue. Not every kid in the family is capable of meeting the extremely high standards academically or athletically, and life gets difficult when some kids thrive and others 'fail' at the same school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

My child enrolled at Westminster at the beginning of junior high school after attending Atlanta public schools K-5. The transition was smooth, our child never missed a beat academically and has thrived in an atmosphere that encourages and supports pursuit of achievement and excellence in all aspects of life, not just the classroom. Westminster welcomes and respects diversity, and holds awards and honors assemblies for parents to recognize academic achievement on a level equal to the fine support of the successful athletic program. Excellence in teaching is an emphasis, and the administration is strong. Our child had a choice of three of the city's top private schools when he applied and this was the best fit and our family's experience has exceeded our expectations for Westminster. Great preparation for top universities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2010

Westminster is all around a disappointment after previously attending a different private school in the Atlanta area. Most of the teachers are unsatisfactory, and the administration does a terrible job handling problems.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2010

After too many years at the Atlanta International School, we are extremely impressed with the high school at Westminster. Much smaller classes, more supportive teachers, excellent in sports, and they don't nickel and dime you to death each week. College counseling is much better as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2010

The Westminster Schools is a great opportunity to have interactive learning with the top teachers around. I have gone there since pre-1st and I have loved the school and all the teachers and students there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2010

This is an excellent school. The teachers are fun. They teach you very good habits too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2009

I wouldn't even think about sending my kids there. I have been at Westminster for 11 years and I am leaving due to the cloud of sadness that hangs over the campus. If you want your kids to be depressed and to not have a healthy high school experience than send them to Westminster.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2009

For the talented, high achieving student, this is the place to be. As a parent, I like that they encourage students to be humble and participate in community volunteer activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

The Westminster is top school in Georgia for high performing academic students. I agree that it is probably not the best choice for a student of average ability, but it does have a structured program of extra-help that encourages the students in the areas where they are weaker. The teachers have been helpful in reducing the academic pressure and especially supporting a culture where the students care about each other. It also has excellent programs in every extracurricular area. My children have been well prepared for college (Harvard, Georgetown), enjoyed the drama, music and service programs and made good friends. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

Westminster is simply the best. It has the best culture, the most resources, and the smartest kids. Virtually all the kids that are accepted elect to attend. The best school in Atlanta, by far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

Westminster is simply the best. With the highest SAT scores, an award winning theatre program, nationally recognized newspaper, literary magazines, and yearbook publications, the best all around sports program in the state, fantastic extra-curricular opportunities, and invested teachers and students, Westminster is an unparalleled force in a child's life.I wouldn't rather be anywhere else in the world. Go Cats!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2008

I go to Westminster and i absulutely loveit. I have to admit if you are an average student Westminster is not for you. People might call it the pressure cooker but if you are a dedicated all A student and you get in at Westminter you will do great. This is totally true I heard it is the second best school in the country and tenth in the world!! Go Wild Cats!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2008

Excellent all around, academics, teachers, sports, music and all in a christian environment...My child has attended since first grade...she is now a rising 4th grader and states that 'everyday is her best day ever' this is what I most want to hear as a dedicated parent.......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2008

This is a great school with a strong focus on academics and being a good citizen in the world. The junior high program structure is absolutely amazing, the kids get a lot of oversight and guidance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2008

I am a graduate of Westminster who went on to the architecture program at Georgia Tech, one of the very top programs at one of the very top schools in the nation. Westminster prepared me beautifully for college. While fellow students at Tech struggled to keep up with the workload & general level of performance demanded by a school such as Tech, I never felt over-whelmed, under-prepared, or lacking in any aspect of my foundation of knowledge needed to be successful & graduated Cum Laude. Truly nothing I encountered at Tech was as difficult or demanding as what I encountered at Westminster, and the skills I learned at Westminster continue to serve me today in the workforce. In particular, my colleagues are continually impressed with my writing & communication skills since my degree is from an engineering school. I cannot stress enough how fabulous the education and preparation Westminster provides is.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Black 9% 37%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation The University of Georgia
The University of Virginia
Vanderbilt University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • William Clarkson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Equestrian
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Squash
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Equestrian
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Squash
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Dance club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Game club
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • Robotics club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • PAWS
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 15, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$20000 - $25000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Need-based only

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
The University of Georgia
The University of Virginia
Vanderbilt University
College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1424 W Paces Ferry Road NW
Atlanta, GA 30327
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 355-8673

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pace Academy
Atlanta, GA



Lovett School
Atlanta, GA



Trinity School
Atlanta, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT