Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
1,855 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
57 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 67 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Westminster Schools
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 21, 2015
- a student
EVERY TEACHER!!! IS great. Even if you are in a class that is really hard every single teacher is so tremendously helpful. Even if they can not meet with you they will most certainly use skye, email, or phone call. They want you to succeed.

The Westminster Schools
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 21, 2015
- a student
Each teacher is wonderful. Each one is so tremendously devoted. I have NEVER had a bad teacher. I honestly do not even know what a bad teacher is, because I am have never had one. That is how great this school is!!!

The Westminster Schools
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 21, 2015
- a student
There is not much homework, but instructors believe highly in the perception of self teaching outside of the class, i.e. you must study constantly and even if you do not have a test coming up, because if you do not, often not you will fall behind.

The Westminster Schools
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 21, 2015
- a student
Everyone's goal is to be the #1 student. The only difference is that everyone achieves there own #1 goal here because not everyone has the same goal. You will find your passion at Westminster and from that you will find your life's work.

The Westminster Schools
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 21, 2015
- a student
Due to the high moral integrity at Westminster often you will find that high respect of other surely follows that of students that deem there peers with the responsibility of self-integrity.

The Westminster Schools
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 21, 2015
- a student
The teachers are always trying to do the best for you. They are in essence a teacher whom wants the best for every single student and they are willing to stay as long as needed to help you.

The Westminster Schools
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 21, 2015
- a student
Student Council's and Honor Council's are ran by students not any of the administration. All decisions are made by your peers. Including punishments if you were to every break your integrity and fairness. This school has the most responsible and mature adolescents that I have encountered. For example, my Wednesday morning bible group leader was always on time promptly at 7:00 and above all of the integrity within westminster this extra layer of participation really shaped me into the person whom I am now.

The Westminster Schools 5

Posted December 21, 2015
- a student
Great School! This school is extremely easy if you are willing to work hard and organize. If you are a person whom might procrastinate or likes to regurgitate information this would definitely not be the appropriate school for yourself. I have never had a single teacher whom did not care about us. For example, school ends at 3:00 and office hours ends at 3:30. Most of time teachers could leave at 3:30 if they wanted, but say I needed help in honors geometry (highly unlikely) this particular teacher whom I am thinking about would leave at 7:00 if I needed that help. Every single teacher here is willing to push of there plans to help you no matter how long it will take. Westminster is constantly upgrading both the faculty and students, which is good because it ensures that the pupils have the best instructors, and teacher's have the best students. Everything about this school exists in parallel, good sport teams, good academic teams, excellent teachers, excellent students, and intense rigor, high acceptance rate to IVY league colleges. I want to leave you this this last comment, "High School is something that ever person will attend, if you were to attend just the classes at Westminster you then in essence are not utilizing your entire time, money, and knowledge, instead push your self to try some of the 27 ap's classes, push yourself to try some of the 18 plus sport teams ran by amazing trainers, push yourself to try some of the 30+ academic teams completely organized by student leaders, push your self to utilize even the vast technology tools IT gives us for free, (we have college grade software, CAS, every adobe product, Xcode etc...if you want it they'll get it, matlab, Solid works) try to build an app, push yourself to learn coding with a faculty member, and try your utmost best, if you are someone who doesn't push the limits why are you here?"

The Westminster Schools 4

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
Westminster still has the brightest students and the best college placement, but are there cracks starting to show in the polished veneer of this storied institution? Frequent admin changes and faculty turnover in upper school seem to have eroded the quality and rigor of the 9-12 experience.

The Westminster Schools 5

Posted January 06, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter is in middle school this year at Westminster. The entire experience for her, thus far, has been absolutely wonderful. She is actually excited to go to school every day. Yes, there are great learning opportunities (like many schools in Atlanta) but here children are encouraged to think outside of the box, ask questions and expand their perspectives regarding the world. Most importantly to me, I see time and time again, the adults at this school not only display academic intelligence but a REAL emotional intelligence towards the children. In the end, my highest priority for my daughter is that she is in a supportive and nurturing learning environment where she is encouraged to grow and thrive. We have found this and more at Westminster.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Westminster Schools
1424 W Paces Ferry Road NW, Atlanta, GA  30327
(404) 355-8673
Last modified The Westminster Schools is a Private school that serves grades K-12
The Westminster Schools Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 67 reviews. Top