Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Galloway School

Private | PK-12 | 747 students

Students at Galloway develop an abiding love for learning.
 
 

 
 

Living in Atlanta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $345,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 17 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

84 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2009

I love this school. I go there currently and it is amazing to know that I go to a school where I am comfortable hugging everyone in my class and teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2009

On balance, Galloway has more negatives than positives -- too small in high school, not enough rich extracurriculars, inconsistency in teacher quality and attitude, leadership that has not yet defined what Galloway should become in today's educational environment. Bright, highly motivated students will be under-rewarded for their efforts, due to the 'fear' of 'competition'. Mediocrity is often acceptable. There are some fabulous teachers, but no consistent curriculum 'program' that ensures what your student will get from year to year. Education is adequate in most cases, but not stellar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

I am a former student of Galloway, now in high school at another private school. After 7 years at Galloway, I left because of the unsatisfactory quality of the education, educators, and environment. The curriculum is no where close to challenging for an average student. The extreme lack of discipline is evident in the interactions between students and teachers. I would not recommend this school to anyone.


Posted June 4, 2009

The Galloway School is in the midst of a huge transition which I hope will have positive implications.. Overall, I think this is a nice little school. The positives: a fantastic preschool program, nice looking facilities and a solid educational philosophy. There is a lot of ethnic diversity. The curriculum is advanced in the EL program. The children are happy and enjoy school and many of the educators are exceptional. The community is made up of involved, like-minded parents who value the whole child, are educationally minded, and value substance over form. The art program and the theater program are wonderful. The negatives are more troubling: the curriculum is wildly inconsistent from teacher to teacher and grade to grade. The ML and UL curriculum and sports programs are limited. MANY of the teachers are incredibly negative towards kids and parents. The overall experience is VERY INCONSISTENT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

As I think back to my years at Galloway, I graduated with a well rounded education that allowed me to excel academically in college. I really appreciated the discussion based classrooms and learning how to apply a theory, not just the wrote memorization of the concept. The faculty is great at what they do, and I feel they really want to be a part of the Galloway community.


Posted May 22, 2009

I attended The Galloway School for many years and absolutely loved my experience. It is an incredible learning environment that stresses high academic performance while providing immeasurable support. I felt extraordinarily confident entering college and continued my Galloway learned pursuit of excellence throughout my educational and professional life. It taught me to be more than just a student of books, but to be a student of lifelong learning. Many don't understand this amazingly unique institution. Its an organic and evolving educational movement driven by the members of its great community. If parents and students fear and/or judge this nature, they fail to realize the control and influence they hold. The Galloway School is a gift and a rare gem to academics and cognitive development.


Posted May 18, 2009

My son entered public school after several years at Galloway. He was behind in English (especially 'mechanics') and math proficiency. More importantly, too many Galloway teachers have gotten 'inertia' and are more complacent than they should be, especially given the kind of learning that Galloway purports to provide. Students are too often allowed to settle for less than doing their best -- or finding out how to do their best. It's fine to have kids be 'comfortable' at school, but they also need to learn about non-negotiable boundaries and fair competition. My son has benefitted from some fair competition in academics and extracurriculars; it's not always detrimental. In too many cases the school is not 'rigorous' enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

This is not the same school it was 5 years ago. Changes in the Administration and Faculty are eroding the vision that Elliot Galloway had when he founded this school. Teachers range from good to exceptional, but the Administration is ineffective in dealing with many typical school problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

My child attended middle school at Galloway and now attends a public high school. She is definitely not as well prepared in some ways as students from a good public middle school or other private schools. Grammar and writing skills, along with math, are particularly deficient. Galloway needs to do much more to adequately prepare students for the 'real world'. Galloway can be, and often is, a caring environment -- but there is much more required for a 21st century education and not all of it gets done at Galloway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

My child came to Galloway from government school for 8th grade and is challenged daily. Homework is managable. My child had not a single issue being accepted by fellow students. The teachers are all great, caring people. It is obvious they love their jobs. There is a lot of freedom at this school which is a great relief coming from the prison of a public middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

i go to galloway, and i LOVE it. everyone there is just great, there is tons of freedom, and nobody judges you. at galloway, you can totally be yourself. there are absolutely no limits. if anything, the performing arts program is remarkable. we have so much fun, but still put on a great show
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2008

I am currently a student at The Galloway School and I think that it is a one of a kind school with one of a kind students and teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2008

As a mother of an EL student, I cannot say enough about The Galloway School. The program is creative and makes learning fun. My child was reading before even entering kindergadent and I am amazed by the variety of things he learned: from academic basics to having in depth knowledge about animals, our world etc. My sense is that although their EL program is excellent, there is not enough consistency year to year. However, that aside, the teachers are experienced, kind and inspiring. My child never wants to miss school and has learned more than I expected of him at this point--what else can you ask for? Top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

I have never expericned Upper Learning or Early Learning at Galloway, but let me tell you as a student, the Middle Learning program is terrible and dissapointing. ML is a time in lots of adolecents lives when bullying occurs and you run into a lot of issues with friends, etc. Galloway does not help those problems at all. The ML program, teachers, and administrators make everything worse. The amount of bullying that occurs in ML at Galloway is astonishing. And whats even more astonishing is how naive and unsupportive the faculty are when you need help. They avoid the problem instead of solving it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2008

Galloway was an AMAZING school! I recently graduated from it, and once I got to college I realized how much I benefit from going to such a small and caring school. Things like not having a cafeteria, not having cheerleaders, and not having homecoming or prom kings or queens really saved me from a lot of social stress most high schoolers go through. Teachers are always their to help students. Students are aware of what is going on in the world around them and even have fundraisers for things they are compassionate about. This year and last, students organized a concert to raise money for the Save Darfur Coalition at the Roxy theatre. Students are very down to earth and learn how to work with each other. I would HIGHLY recommend Galloway to any parent!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2007

My wife and I love this private school from interacting of students and learning to outdoor 3 day camping trip,foreign languages,computer music,debates,the staff is wonderful and we only been there 3 yrs. Galloway is at the top of graduation rates,SAT scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

i am a student at the galloway school, and I just have to say that this school gets pretty old. i try to wonder how people like my friends could go here since they were really little. I never really felt challenged, and I want to leave so badly for highschool. the thing is, if you aren't popular, then you are an 'outcast' and nobody likes you. It gets kind of annoying, and if your on finacial aid, watching people drive to schooll in their mercedes and their porches get kind of annoying. i've gotten used to it over the years, but it really puts a damper to my day when I don't fit in... it may be a problem at all schools, but at galloway, popularity competition is the worst.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2007

The Galloway School is an exceptional school. I recommend it to all! Come visit and see for yourself! This school is unbelievable with a great Fine Arts Center!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2007

I attended The Westminster Schools for 10 years before attending Galloway. The enviroment is much more laid back, and the students are generally much more diversified than the other Atlanta private schools. It prepared me well for college, and I highly recommend it as an alternative to the other elitist and pretentious private schools avalible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2007

I am a first year teacher at The Galloway School, and I can not give it enough praise. The support from my fellow teachers has been exceptional, and the children are wonderful. The students are allowed more freedom than many other schools. For the most part, that freedom is not abused. The students are enthusiastic about learning, they tend to go above and beyond my suggested guidelines, and I look forward to going to work every morning. I don't know many people who can say that. I grew up going to Catholic school in Louisiana, so I know that the progressive nature of Galloway may veer people away because it would mean change. My suggestion- check it out for yourself. Walk the halls and you will immediatly feel the warmth and wonder of Galloway.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 44%
Black 8% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Hispanic 3% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
More from this school
  • The Galloway School is the philosophically grounded, learner-focused independent school in Atlanta, Georgia, where students age 3 through grade 12 develop an abiding love for learning. Preparing students to live successfully as enlightened citizens in a changing world, our community embraces diversity, insists upon common decency, and fosters human dignity.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$10000 - $25000
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

215 W Wieuca Rd NW
Atlanta, GA 30342
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 252-8389

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Schenck School
Atlanta, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT