Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mount Vernon Presbyterian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Atlanta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $200,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2009

Our daughter enjoyes MVPS because of the great changes which has taken place this year. She is a leader and the new adminstration has allow her to walk in her gifts. This is just one of the reason. Her teachers are challenging and supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

Mount Vernon Presbyterian is a family community and we are proud that our daughter (Class of 2013) is now in her 10th year at this great school (K-9th). It is a very special place for our family and we look forward to future growth of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Everyone is so friendly and is willing to work together. We all really care about the kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

I had the opportunity to volunteer at our annual golf tournament and spend some quality time with some of the upper school students yesterday. Being the mother of 2 students in the lower school, I was extremely impressed with the social skills, exemplary manners and positive attitudes of these sharp teenage students. To me, that is the values and teachings of Mount Vernon Presbyterian School personified. An impressive group of teens that I can only hope my kindergartner and 2nd grader will be like. MVPS is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

I love this school. The teachers and staff are wonderful! They go the extra mile for the students. They really care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Mount Vernon is an excellent school with outstanding teachers who care about their students. My children love the school and actively participate in the experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Outstanding Christian Community with the most gifted teachers and faculty. Both the school and church are a blessing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

MVPS has been a second home for my child; he has been able to grow and mature with the guidance from his teachers and peers. MVPS is such a warm environment for all children and parents; you definitely feel like you are part of something special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

I wish I had more positive things to say about Mount Vernon. While it provided me with a great education I don't like the direction it's headed in. I hope they win this money because there are some awesome people at this school. However, the leadership needs to realize the full potential that this school has and work towards reaching it. It's hard to watch the leadership take 1 step forward and 2 steps back.


Posted October 3, 2009

MVPS offers a strong academic curriculum in a nurturing environment that creates leadership skills in students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The dedicated and caring faculty help develop well rounded individuals. Friendly and helpful parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Caring teachers, great learning enviroment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

Mount Vernon is an excellent academic, Christian school with a passionate staff, faculty, and parent/student community.


Posted October 2, 2009

Mount Vernon is a great community of students and staff that really care for one another. I have enjoyed working here and look forward to the future as we grow. It's an exciting place to be with grreat clubs and activities...especially the Drama Program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

The teachers care so much about these kids! The school nurtures them academically, socially, physically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

The teachers are phenomenal. MVPS has a wonderful Christian atmosphere and a spectacular community of families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

I love the environment at MVPS. Everyone is so encouraging and supportive of one another. We have wonderful teachers and faculty, and they bring out the best in every student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

Mt Vernon Presbyterian School exemplifies all the qualities that a well-rounded, Christian preparatory school should. From academics to athletics to meaningful Christian values, Mt. Vernon has it all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

We have been involved with Mt Vernon Presbyterian School for 3 years and have been very pleased with the quality of the teaching and administrative staff, the facilities, the extra curricular activities, and the warm and caring environment. There are a lot of private school options in our area and I am very pleased with our choice of MVP. I have recommended it to multiple other families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

Mt.Vernon has been a wonderful experience for my daughter. It's an amazing school with a edicaated faculty, staff and administration. My child will be well prepared for college and Mt. Vernon will help her gain admission to her college of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 44%
Asian 3% 2%
Black 3% 40%
Hispanic 1% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

471 Mt Vernon Hwy
Atlanta, GA 30328
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 252-3448

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




The Weber School
Atlanta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT