Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mount Vernon Presbyterian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Atlanta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $200,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2009

Mt.Vernon has been a wonderful experience for my daughter. It's an amazing school with a edicaated faculty, staff and administration. My child will be well prepared for college and Mt. Vernon will help her gain admission to her college of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

MVPS is one of the greatest blessings our family has ever received. Our community of parents, faculty and staff is the very essence of our Mission Statement. The curriculum is challenging, the standards are high, and our leadership is exceptional: faith-based, integrity-filled and values-driven. Thank you, Mount Vernon, for preparing our students ... not just for college, but for life!! Go Mustangs!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

The faculty and admonistrators are the best and love these kids! Great academics and spiritual leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

Great educational and family environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

It's a great school with strong christian values
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

MVP is such a wonderful environment for our children - caring teachers with christian values!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

MVPS provides a great educational environment while also providing a sense of family. There are lots of opportunities for extra curricular activities for all ages. Parent/teacher communication is excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

MVPS has been absolutely wonderful! My son has attended MVPS for 13 years and will graduate in 2011. The Faculty and Staff are great, we have a new administration this year, and plans to expand the new 'green' high school campus. The Varsity Basketball team won the 2008-2009 State Championship in our division. Go Mustangs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

Mount Vernon Presbyterian School is growing and flourishing one student at a time. New leadership, new focus and the vision for our kids future is worth the wait. MVPS asks: Are you Ready? Yes, we are, what has taken you so long?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

I love this school. The faculty and staff are incredible. The teachers are great and very caring. They go the extra mile with the students and parents. My student was in the first graduating class at MVPS. We will never forget our experience with this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

We have been at MVPS for 3 years and are THRILLED with the school. My son just finished Kindergarten and had 14 students in his class. My daughter's preschool class had 11 students with two teachers. They get so much personalized attention. And so much exposure. 4x a week they get PE, music 3x, spanish 3x, computer lab, science lab, chapel, art, christian education, library...every week! And the families are wonderful. I love that I can let my child go home from school with anyone in their class. The teachers are continually challenged and trained. It is VERY structured and very challenging academically and may not be for everyone. But it is GREAT for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

Mount Vernon has a great environment that allows students to thrive and flourish
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2009

MVPS is a pretty new school with a great, friendly faculty. Because of its short history, it still has much to improve on along the way to become a distinguished school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 44%
Asian 3% 2%
Black 3% 40%
Hispanic 1% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

471 Mt Vernon Hwy
Atlanta, GA 30328
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 252-3448

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




The Weber School
Atlanta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT