Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 93 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mount Vernon Presbyterian School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
Not only are our children's teachers caring, warm, and creative, but they spend a great deal of time on their craft. We always hear about how they present at education conferences and how research guides much of their practice.

Mount Vernon Presbyterian School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
On countless occasions I have heard the headmaster encourage teachers and students to 'fail up' ...through this mantra, the community isn't afraid to try something new, to take a risk, and if one fails, he/she learns more from the failure than if he/she never tried.

Mount Vernon Presbyterian School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
While we emphasize these qualities at home, at Mount Vernon the teachers and staff hold our children to a high standard. Kindness and fairness are characteristics that are lived out and discussed in multiple ways--through their club experiences, chapel services, and their bi-monthly christian education groups.

Mount Vernon Presbyterian School 4

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
We have found a community at Mount Vernon--a community of teachers who truly care about our children.

Mount Vernon Presbyterian School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
As a school mindset, ethical decision-making is encouraged and supported each day. I am most impressed at how my children are learning to think of others first.

Mount Vernon Presbyterian School 5

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
We have two children in the school and have been more than pleased with the excellent teachers, great leadership, and welcoming, down-to-earth family atmosphere. We appreciate how the curriculum focuses on the skills (not just information) that our children will need in tomorrow's world. Our children are not just learning "the way" to solve a problem or memorizing facts, they are learning to think critically, analyze, and synthesize. Our children LOVE school. They LOVE their teachers. Who could ask for more? Recently, we were most impressed with the way the administration approached a situation with our oldest child. Together, we discussed a struggle she was having in class and came to a solution. We were blown away with their empathetic approach. They suggested a path for success and supported us and her every step of the way as it was resolved. I love my school.

Mount Vernon Presbyterian School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
Empathy is at the heart of design thinking. My child is encouraged to consider another person's point of view and do empathy interviews (!) and she's only 7! I love that MVPS is an Ashoka Changemaker School.

Mount Vernon Presbyterian School 5

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
I was shocked to read some of the reviews as we have been at the school for almost 10 years. It makes you wonder what the real issues are for the unhappy students. As a family, we have watched it grow and mature into a school that our student can be very proud of. The teachers care for the students and are willing to help them to be successful. They take a genuine interest in each child however, at the same time have high expectations for the students - ethically, academically and socially. It is their job as an upper school student to request and seek additional help, the teachers are available throughout the day and after school just for students. Through the many opportunities offered they can choose to be leaders in the school. This includes sports, academics and the arts. Our child has thrived in the smaller environment and will be truly ready for college next year.

Mount Vernon Presbyterian School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
The Dean of Students is wonderful and has such a great feel for the students. She enjoys being the students and the respect between students and administration is awesome. Dr Peterson has been a tremendous asset to the climate of the Upper School and faculty.

Mount Vernon Presbyterian School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
Students are held accountable for their actions and are well aware of the rules that apply to going to a private school and being known in the community as a ?Mount Vernon student.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mount Vernon Presbyterian School
471 Mt Vernon Hwy, Atlanta, GA  30328
(404) 252-3448
Last modified Mount Vernon Presbyterian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Mount Vernon Presbyterian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 93 reviews. Top