Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lovett School

Private | 1-12 | 1650 students

We are best known for development of the whole child.

 

Living in Atlanta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $637,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2014

the campus is amazing, and so is the networking and social connections for the children and the parents. There is a lot of old southern money at Lovett, so be prepared, the students and parents can be cliquish. I have heard rumors of some not so PC treatment of minorities, perhaps out of ignorance. Like assuming an african american parent was a server at a fundraiser. Lovett is a great status school, and children do have access to amazing materials and opportunities. Just be aware of what you are getting into with the non academic aspects.


Posted February 25, 2014

My son has been there for half a year and so far it exceeds our, and more importantly his, expectations. He is genuinely excited to get out the door. He loves all his teachers and takes advantage of many of the after school programs. The whole student approach is not a marketing tag line as they spend real effort to insure he gets life lessons in topics that matter but aren't typically taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

We have two children here since kindergarten. They are now 7th and 4th graders. Both my kids love the school, teachers, social environment (we are not Caucasian). Both are thriving academically. We were advised by people in our community to apply them at Westminster for more challenge. My kids never want to leave Lovett. One of our kids took a test for gifted students and WAY outperformed some of the Westminster kids that took the same test (I know because the same people that told us we should transfer were bragging about their kids score, even though ours were much higher). So bottom line is that send your kid to whichever school as long as it has a solid reputation and your kids are happy. The rest is YOUR kids personality. All school have some strong points and some not so strong. But the best "schooling" is done at home...these places are there to build on that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

I attended Lovett for 14 years (pre-k -12th) and value the excellent education I received. The teachers are outstanding!!


Posted August 6, 2013

The negative reviews around oppression, conformity, narrow-mindedness are all correct. This school has been this way for decades and from friends currently there has not changed since we sent kids there in the 80s.


Posted December 5, 2012

My son has attended Lovett for 3 years and started as a kindergartener. Lovett has high expectations AND gives lots of support ie: reading and writing tutorials after school. I am a teacher and have taught third grade-my son comes home with independently done work that my 3rd graders couldn't do. In addition, they have great character development classes, science classes, art, drama, etc., etc. We are thrilled with this exceptional liberal arts education! The only down side are the monthly "materials" charge-the notebooks, markers, books, etc. are around $100 per month...really?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2012

This is an oppressive school; there is a STRONG instance on white, male-driven conformity. Girls are "girls": long hair, pretty, thin, will make good wives. Boys are men: leaders, decision-makers. They've also had a revolving door of children of color for years. Administrators implicitly communicate that admission is a "gift" for non-white families. We paid for 3 kids for 6 years and were treated like guests. Once there the burden for diversity is placed on the families. They ask children & parents to represent at open house or to give a speech in chapel, like props. Most diversity "efforts" exclude the majority of the school (whites). Admins held an evening meeting for non-white families ONLY to "give tips" on how to help their children succeed. It's the culture, not the child. Another ex. of managing vs authentic engagement with full community: Admins created student groups by race lead by black teachers ONLY, taking kids from lunch & class to talk & support each other as if they are the crux of the issues. It was like AA for children of color, their confessional. Like AA, their issues and complaints never left the room. In an increasing diverse U.S., they have a long way to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

The highest values at Lovett are conformity and class consciousness. Putting your child in this oppressive and stressful environment just when they should be developing confidence and intellectual curiosity is a huge mistake. Students constantly compare houses, cars and vacations. Resentment from the underpaid teachers toward these children of privilege is palpable and they treat the students with hostility and contempt. The administration turns a blind eye to this and focuses instead on 'green initiatives, raising money and capital improvements. Many teachers are sub-par and don't use proper spelling or grammar. Most of the kids are at Lovett because they couldn't get into Westminster, which is down the road, and the institution has a real inferiority complex about the issue. An inordinate amount of energy spent on the under-performing football team, who is regularly beaten by small public schools without nearly the resources. During the civil rights movement, Lovett denied admission to the son of MLK, Jr. and now the institution is racked with guilt and spends a great deal of time with self-flagellation and political correctness. The result, very few high-achieving alumni.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2012

What planet is the parent on that says Lovett students are there because they couldn't get into Westminster? One that wanted her child to go to Westminister and didn't get in? Westminster is a great school. So is Lovett. They offer different things to different people and that is the beauty of it. My children don't spend their time comparing cars, houses and vacations. They enjoy all the other students, regardless of their background --- something they learn at home. One child isn't athletic but finds lots of other school activities to be involved with. The teachers as a whole are great. Every school will have some teachers who aren't up to par with others. Tainting them all is absurd and unfair. The campus is limited in its building footprint. Some of the buildings are/were very old and it would be more expensive to renovate than build from scratch. You obviously had a bad experience and that is unfortunate. But throwing all students and faculty "under the bus" is immature at best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2011

First let me say that Lovett is a great school. Your child will enjoy being there. There are a lot of activities, extra curriculars, etc. The curriculum is very challenging. It is advanced and the work load can be quite heavy at times. The headmaster is terrific, open minded and available. My only issue is with the middle school - some great teachers, some not so great. There were a lot of middle school changes made this year, so hopefully things improve. The upper school is said to be terrific. If your child graduates Lovett, he/she will most likely be very prepared to do well in college. More diversity would be nice in terms of the student body and staff. It is a great school although it is not right for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2011

I wen to Lovett from K to 10th then to Riverwood. This was back in the 70's. I was there for the King protests in the 60's. By the time the time in was in 8th grade ; the school had changed. The quality of teachers varied from great to no way. It used to be very friendly later it became money hungry. The most important lesson I learned was how to think/ study. I later went to an Ivy school for a BBA and MBA I swore Lovett was harder. My freshman/sophmore years in college were rehash of Lovett. My sister hated it was barely passing transfered to another well known private school and got 3 years of straight A's and several impressive scolarship offers. She took the best offer and stayed with high marks.


Posted November 7, 2010

6th grade, African American son is loving Lovett!! Teachers are great and very attentive, their are lots of activities to get involved in, small class sizes, principal is very involved, and campus is great. I thought there would be a little more diversity but it hasn't seemed to bother my son and I know it's something that the school is striving to improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

I agree with the sentiments below regarding Lovett not treating students fairly. Unfortunately, when a complaint is lodged about a teacher, the status quo response is a very defensive one. The MS principal seems to have no regard for the fair and consistent treatment of the students and is only interested in backing up her teachers. It's as if the students and parents have no voice and the school has completely forgotten who their customers are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

My daughter is finishing kindergarten. She has grown so much during her school year. She has a lot of friends, and loves to go to school. Her teachers are very involved, and have great communication with the parents. The Lovett Parent Association is very active, and the administration really makes an effort to listen to parents and students concerns. They have a great academic record, lots of opportunities in different sports, but they invest time also in educating the child to be an ethical well formed individual. We love the school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

Amazing school with wonderful opportunites for students!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2010

I could not recommend the Middle school my experience and how they treated my son was unacceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

Great school. I didn't have any friends at my old school and now I have a ton of friends. AMAZING school. So much great stuff to explain...so little time...
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2010

5 star shool Based on the star rating at public schools Lovett would be a 20 star school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

My 3 children went to Lovett since they were 4 years old thru High school.They education they obtained at lovett by far surpasses any school in this state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

I am a student at Lovett and could not ask for a better education. The teachers, students, campus, and courses are all top-notch. I would not change anything about it.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 44%
Black 17% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Hispanic 1% 12%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Georgia
GA Institute of Technology
University of Alabama
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Chinese (Mandarin)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Billy Peebles
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (404) 261-1967

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
  • Internships
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language club: French
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 10, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


2 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
195
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
900

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$20000 - $25000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Georgia
GA Institute of Technology
University of Alabama
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4075 Paces Ferry Road Northwest
Atlanta, GA 30327
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 868-3032

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Trinity School
Atlanta, GA




Pace Academy
Atlanta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT