Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

7-12|Private
1,079 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 61 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Marist School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted February 24, 2016
- a student
WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY too much. way too much. A lot Go to bet at 12, just finish homework at 11

Marist School 1

Posted October 17, 2015
- a parent
We recently had our son enrolled in middle school here and we thankfully pulled him out ahead of high school. The parent post of February 21st 2015 is unfortunately spot on when it comes to minority students and it saddens me beyond measure. Our son was taunted, teased, and maligned by the other students and it was reprehensible. The contempt for minority non-student athletes appears to be ingrained into the culture of this school and parents should be on guard.

Marist School 3

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
My daughter graduated from the school two years ago. The academic program is very strong and very competitive. We are catholic and a Christian school that supported our faith was very important to us. Our disappointment was with some of the students and their families. Our daughter, who is half Asian, had to endure remarks, jokes, teasing from the other students. She handled it beautifully and did not want us to talk to the school about it, it makes me wonder about the families that sent their kids to Marist! Diversity and acceptance does not seem to be a part of the school environment and the families

Marist School 5

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
We are grateful our children were able to attend Marist School, not only for the academics and the sports programs, but for extraordinary parental involvement. We as parents acknowledge the tremendous participation and influence Marist had in our children's success. The close and supportive friendships our children still have with their Marist classmates always amaze us. The Marist cohesiveness and influence is lifelong.

Marist School 5

Posted April 08, 2015
- a parent
For the parent who posted the comment on Feb 21 saying that Marist is not a Diversity school. Your comment might be right in some way but you did not find out the facts before making a statement. I found that Marist is a wonderful school with many opportunity for the children. Strong academic, good sports and many programs which the children can be benefit from. Not many black students applied to Marist may be due to the cost or the level of parent commitment required. Some black student who attended Marist doing very well (a few black students graduating this year actually received a very good scholarship to colleges). The black students at Marist that I know doing very well in many program: arts, music, sports, debate, academic .... I am a non white parents and I am a very happy with Marist education and program. Please do not say bad thing if you have not investigate the information thoroughly. For your information, there is a black coach in the Football team this year .... coach Leigh Torrence. I saw him there.

Marist School 1

Posted February 21, 2015
- a parent
Marist is a school that lacks diversity of any kind. Not only are there few black students but there are no black head coaches and you can count the black educators on one hand and have multiple fingers remaining. If your black child is not an athlete they can expect to be marginalized at best and ostracized with extreme disdain at worst. The student cliques that form at this school are vicious by any reasonable measure. I am truly saddened by the divisive, non inclusive reputation that this "school" has rightfully earned in our alleged post racial society.

Marist School 5

Posted May 20, 2012
- a community member
Marist School is great for the academic, athletic, and spiritual self. They have something for everyone. The drama department is amazing, the athletic department is very serious at what they do, and the academic is 100% ready to get you/your child ready for college. They teach you how to juggle multiple things at once, which is especially good for college. I love this school and everything about it. Blue and Gold!

Marist School 5

Posted April 15, 2012
- a community member
The best school in Greater Atlanta, or even Georgia for that matter. I wish everyone had a chance to go to this amazing school like I had. The academics, sports, and the over all environment get students "college ready." It has amazing leadership and "peers to peers" so a child will never be nervous on the first day. Not only it thought be to be a strong student mentally, but spirituality as well. Not all of my friends were Catholic so it had a great diversity. I hope to see you on the Alumni list! War Eagle Fever!

Marist School 5

Posted August 21, 2011
- a parent
Outstanding education! Great environment! Wonderful leadership! I have 2 children in the school. we have been part of the school for 6 years and we are waiting to have our third child be part of this wonderful education. Academics are very strong and the extra curricular choices are limitless. You can find incredible arts, drama, music,sports, debate, languages...etc... There is so much to choose from, there will be something for every child.

Marist School 5

Posted April 06, 2010
- a parent
Marist provides an outstanding high school environment. They strive for excellence in everything that they do and I feel that they achieve it. Many people know Marist as a sports powerhouse, but it also has a stellar Fine Arts program led by one of the most respected Art History professors in the U.S. My son was very involved in music and theatre over the last four years and those programs are extremely professional, turning out serious musicians and actors. One of the best parts of the school is its spiritual life. A majority of kids are involved in the retreats where they find a safe place to explore their faith journey and feel validated by their peers. Many Marist alums are on staff, which is a strong endorsement of the quality and culture. We are not Catholic, but we were extremely comfortable there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marist School
3790 Ashford Dunwoody Road Northeast, Atlanta, GA  30319
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. (770) 457-7201
Last modified Marist School is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Top