Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Johnson's Learning Center

Private | K-3

 
 

Living in Atlanta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2007

My son entered this learning environment at the age of three and was challenged from the very beginning; however, he both met and exceeded expectations. The school is truly remarkable and though this sort of thing never makes the 5:00 news and I will definitely share my experience with all that will lend an ear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

Send your kids to Johnson's only if you want kids that are 1) confident 2) smart 3) arrogant (but in a good way because they know they are so smart.) I have 2 kids at the school and the education is 2nd to none. Have you heard of a preschooler having spelling tests with words like house and don't, or even the month and days of the year. Or a kindergartner that can easily identify noun, verbs, predicates. What about a 1-3rd grader that gives 20 minutes presentations to members of Atlanta's media for a social studies or science project. I could go on but you have to see for yourself. My advice though, parents must be committed to their kids learning. It's not easy, but the kids won't know it of you don't tell them. Our community needs kids that can compete.this school is the answer! Tired but proud parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

I am extremely pleased with Johnson's Learning Center. My son is in the toddlers class and I have seen a tremendous amount of growth since his arrival at the school. His teachers are kind and caring. In addition to the excellent education he is receiving, he has also grown socially and emotionally. However, it is not just my child that is excelling, his classmates are doing just as well. Everybody is learning, nobody is being left behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

I have a 2 year old who attended and I was not as impressed with this school as I have been told. My child cried for a whole month of being dropped off. I would not recommend this school if your child cannot speak or communicate to you what is going on in his/her classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2007

I have a daughter who has attended JLC since she was three years old and I am very very pleased with what she has learned. The curriculum at JLC is outstanding. My daughter is in Pre-K now and I still amazed as to what she is learning. I live in Southwest Atlanta (Walden Park) and I choose to drive all the way to Gresham Road because of the excellent job they are doing. Keep up the awesome work!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

The quality of education, encouragement and care that my children receive at Johnsons Learning Center is exceptional. I especially have learned to appreciate the curriculum in which the children are challenged and reach their potential in reading, math and science. The basic concepts are taught where the children get an understanding and excel in every area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2006

Johnson's Learning Center has been the best thing that could have ever happened to my daughter. The staff is incredible and their curriculum is very challenging. My daughter has truly excelled here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2006

This is a wonderful school. My daughter previously attended this school and now attends one of the top private schools in the area and is an excellent student. Johnson's Learning Center not only set the bar high and prepared her for success any academic setting but also taught her life skills during the five years she attended. The overall value is high above most and the value is with your child for a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2006

The curriculum at this school is wonderful. They set the bar well above what is normal and the children meet or exceed said expectations. I have found that the educational program at this facility is a little over a grade above other schools including those private and public schools considered at the upper echelon of the school system in the metro area. The children at this school go on to excel at the top middle and high schools in the area as well as some prestigious colleges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2006

I love this school and the staff are wonderful. I have two kids that attended this school. I was very impressed with their kindergarten program your child would learn more than you ever imagined. Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

I have been a parent at this school for 7 years (2 children) and have been extremely pleased. The quality of education has been exceptional! My daughters have moved on to other schools and have been at the top of their classes!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 100% 37%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2709 Gresham Road Southeast
Atlanta, GA 30316
Phone: (404) 243-1041

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cambridge Academy
Decatur, GA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT