Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
48 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gate City Heritage School 5

Posted March 03, 2015
- a parent
Gate City School of Excellence formally known as Gate City Heritage School has truly been a blessing. The teachers and administrators have created an environment where every child is appreciated. My children are taught in a loving and nurturing environment. The small class sizes enables one on one instruction and the multi grade teacher has mastered the art of differentiated instruction. The curriculum is challenging. The tuition is very affordable and the school is centrally located. I absolutely love this school.

Gate City Heritage School 5

Posted August 01, 2011
- a parent
I found about Gate City Heritage School in 2010,because I wanted my daughter to have private school education and after reading the reviews and a visit to the school.I was not disappointed..This will be my daughter second year at GCHS and now my 3year old will be attending the school this year.If you are looking for private school education with excellent leadeship, low tuition costs, promotes African American heritage and small class size. Then enroll your child at Gate City Hertiage School and you wont be disappointed!!

Gate City Heritage School 4

Posted July 22, 2011
- a parent
GCHS is a wonderful environment that truly grows the whole child. My son started attending the school in Pre-K and is advancing to the 2nd grade. He is progressing so well and is beginning to do 3rd grade math. The teachers are careing and they are sincerely invested in the children, as well as the community. Dance, tennis, and computers competency are part of the curriculum. The tuition is also extremely reasonable. Its a great school and its moving into an even better facility Fall 2011.

Gate City Heritage School 5

Posted October 05, 2010
- a parent
This is an awesome school. My son started when he was 4 years old and within that year he was on a 1st grade math level. He is also learning to spell. I like the school because the classes are small and that helps the children get the attention they need individually. Tuition is reasonable and the staff is excellent! The only downside is that some of the parents are not as active as others, however, the one's that are make it feel like a real community.

Gate City Heritage School
no rating

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
Gate City is a wonderful school! The school teachers are great. The school teaches mastery and it develops the whole child. My children are getting the best education in the City of Atlanta!

Gate City Heritage School 5

Posted January 07, 2010
- a parent
My daughter came entered the Gate City Heritage School in the 1st grade and was unable to read and within 3mnths of her attending class she began reading.I am highly satisfied with this school,there teachers,and would recommend this private institution to anyone looking to further there child's education w/the help of patient and dedicated teachers like the ones at Gate City!!

Gate City Heritage School 4

Posted March 11, 2009
- a parent
Gate City Heritage is a phenomenal school! There is no other place in the city that provides a competitive curriculum, intimate class sizes and caring teachers -- all in one. Above all, I'm most impressed with the high level of confidence and self-esteem that is shaped in every child.

Gate City Heritage School 4

Posted June 25, 2008
- a parent
Gate City is an outstanding school where a well rounded education is the key. I challenge anyone to come by during the school year, see them in action and not be impressed. All you need to see is the 'opening session' and you'll be blown away. Whether your child needs extra help or an extra challenge, GCHS is the place to be. The teachers have high expectations for the children and they meet or exceed those expectations through strong curriculum and dedicated parent involvement in our children's lives.

Gate City Heritage School
no rating

Posted April 17, 2008
- a parent
This school is outstanding, the children's level of learning is well above average. The school is run by proessional people who have a genuine concern for the students' future. I would recommend this school to anyone that is concerned about their children's education.

Gate City Heritage School 5

Posted April 08, 2008
- a community member
This is a wonderful. well ran school and I'm thrilled that my grandsons are part of this great learning enviroment. In addition to the '3 R's' students also enjoy art, music, dance, chess, and cooking. I can't remember the last time a public school offered such a well rounded program. Learning starts at home and Gates City Heritage School in Atlanta, Ga. builds on that foundation. Submited by a happy and grateful L.A. grandmother

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gate City Heritage School
501 Mitchell Street Southwest, Atlanta, GA  30314
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (404) 221-0111
Last modified Gate City Heritage School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top