Advertisement
Advertisement

Imhotep Academy

Private | PK-8 | 150 students

Individualized instruction.
 
 

 
 

Living in Atlanta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $155,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 6, 2014

My son started this year, Pre-K 3. I am impressed with where he is academically and socially. He loves going to school. He is learning about himself, heritage and learning to read already. The staff is loving. It will be great for my son to graduate from high school with the other students in his class, they are so close and wonderful for each other. Over all, a great spirit at Imhotep Academy.


Posted April 12, 2013

My husband and simply LOVE Imhotep Academy my daughter has attend since she was 3 yeas old she is now 9. The academics is fabulous. They challenge the students on a daily basis. Everyday is a teachable moment at Imhotep. The children are taught not be afraid and try are capable of doing so many things. The information my child is learning in elementary school did not happen for until I was in high school. It takes a village to raise a child that is what Imhotep is offering. Thank you for who you are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

This school has been the best educational experience for my children, especially my boys. The expectations for learning is high and students are pushed to excel in a nurturing and family-oriented environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

The Imhotep Academy has been a great school for all 3 of my children. I cannot say enough about the level of academic provided. I applaud the teachers and administration for thier continue dedication. I recoment this school for anyone looking to excel thier childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

I am a current parent of a 3rd grader at Imhotep and I PROUDLY support the endeavors of the committed parents of this school. As I watch my son go through the doors of Imhotep every morning...I breathe a sigh of relief because I'm confident in the education that he is receiving and that I'm leaving him with an administration that treats him like he belongs to them. When it is time for my son to apply to a preparatory high school, no one is going to ask "WHO REMODELED YOUR 3RD GRADE CLASSROOM?" But..they will ask about his TEST SCORES! This administration provides an environment where PROVEN academic excellence is the standard..not the exception and they have done it for 20 years! I applaud the teachers, the administration and the parents of Imhotep!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2013

Please don't waste your/child's time or money. The school lacks a strong admin. The admin is afraid to let the teachers use technology. Most of the teachers lack passion and creativity. Parents had to basically fund to remodel a classroom so that 2nd/3rd grade could have their own space.( The school had the parents pay 100% of the cost) The school has a high turn over rate. Can't seem to keep good teachers!


Posted March 1, 2012

Attention all parents, please disregard this school for your children. Thre are only about 39 children in 4-8th grade, and many teachers are not committed to teaching.


Posted October 11, 2009

Imhotep teaches one year above school level and supposedly adheres to the national standards but it is not evident with the type of instruction that my child received in the fourth grade. One major problem is that the school does not appear to have any written standards that the teachers can follow. The math instruction for 4th through 8th grade is terrible. My advice to anyone considering sending their child to the school is to find a good public school because the school is not worth the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

Excellent school, great administration, My 2 children has gone since age 3 1/2(both are 9 and 7) now. We left for 1 yr do to financial reason and I regretted them leaving, but will be returning to Imhotep in Fall 08. PUBLIC schools is not worth the risk. APS should be called Social Dysfunctional Schools instead of Public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

Wow where do I start. All 3 of my children have attended this school since Pre - K. The academic foundation and critical thinking skills received at Imhotep has been wonderful. My children love the accelerated learning environment that challenges them everyday to be their best. The teachers are nurturing and truly care about the success of my children. I come from a family of educators and would recommend Imhotep for any child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

My children have been enrolled at this school for 3 years. Overall my experience has been fairly positive. This school is designed for the child that is capable of learning in a fast pace environment, if your child does not fall within that range then this school would not be a good fit, if your child needs a little more one on one then you may need to look elsewhere for a smaller setting, and/or a slower pace. For the amount of tuition all the teachers should be certified and there should be smaller class sizes. There is no parent teacher organization and often times it's difficult to meet with the teachers uninterupted even with an appointment. Overall the school has been great in terms of teaching the children self & cultrual awareness and responsibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2008

I have really enjoyed this setting for my children. The teachers are young and energetic and the administrators are definitely hands on! You know your child's academic standing at all times because of the consistency in progress reports as well as the 'drop in' policy of the school. We've been really pleased and will definitely enroll again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

I am extremely impressed with the education that my son is getting. He is a PK4 student. Today, he came home telling me what he learned about Black History. He knew about Rosa Parks, Garrett Morgan, and Jackie Robinson. I am appreciative of schools like these. Of course, the school is not perfect, but educating Black children is the focus, not disciple or the state test. We need more functional Afrocentric or African-centered schools. Trust me, it is for the betterment of our kids. Overall, my son and I are excited about the education he is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2007

This is a very good schoo, however the principal needs to mentor and intervene with teachers when their approaches are not the best. We are debating if we will re-enroll our child in this school. The intensity on learning is great and I would recommend this scholl for most, however I think for some that may find the hands off approach of the administration more than lacking. The attitudes of some of the teachers need to be adjusted and mentored. Even good teachers need supervison.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2007

For African American Children growing up in today's society, this the type of School that all parents should want for their children. Imohotep provides children with and advance level of education in every grade level. Students in Level K are testing at 2nd grade Levels. This School teaches young black children about their heritage, it teaches them that they had to work twice as hard to make it in this world, it teaches them responsibility for their actions and the consequences tied to their actions. The Teachers and the Administration truly cares for each and every child and love what they do. Parents are very actively involved and tuition is relatively inexpensive for the level of education that you receive. I would highly recommend this School to any parent who is looking to provide the Best Education for their Child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2007

I have 2 kids at this school preK and 1st grade, the teachers are great, the classroom sizes are too large for private, they need more teachers! and the administration needs a lot of work, it leaves a lot to be desired. Needless to say, I won't be re-enrolling. Tanzy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2006

This school provides the students with the rigor to have academic success in all settings. Students are confident about their heritage and learning potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

This school is perfect, it is a family type environment, international club, genius teachers, and black pride based, the curriculim is college prep and if my son wanted to he could skip high school and go straight to college from 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2004

This school is a great place for any student in Atlanta or Smyrna. Parents will love this school. Teachers are great, staff is great and worth the minimal tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Poetry

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Joe Brown
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (404) 586-9597

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Global
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Girl scouts
  • Robotics club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
No.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

599 Tatnall Street
Atlanta, GA 30318
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 586-9595

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT