Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Spirit Preparatory School

Private | PK-12 | 601 students

Holy Spirit Prep is best known for its faith filled close-knit community.
 
 

 
 

Living in Atlanta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $637,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 15 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2013

This school is a hidden gem compared to other Atlanta private schools and Catholic schools in the area. A strong Catholic education is the foundation of this school. Committed to valuing every child as a gift from God and wiling to teach all children so that they can reach their highest potential. Worth taking a second look...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2013

Ask yourself a couple of questions....why has the class size dropped so dramatically (especially 9th grade, 2013) and why are they having to bring in foreign exchange students to fill the gaps? Do your homework and ask questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2013

Strong academics and traditional Catholic values are the foundation for this school. Our family couldn't be more challenged and happier in this environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2012

There is a lot of teacher turnover in this school. Parents serving as coaches bordering on abusive. If you are considering the resource program at this school, ask a lot of questions. Ask what the qualifications are of the teachers. Are the students in the resource program Catholic? What will the tuition be? Get it in writing. The school raised the resource tuition right before school started this year and again during the school year. Does the school remediate or just accomodate? Do they use a multi-sensory approach? If you have a child coming out of Schecnk or the Speech School there are better options in Atlanta.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2012

Please read all the postings before you decide to send your children here. There were many more comments that seem to have been deleted from this space. That is not fair. After 4 years our family was been very unhappy with the level of instruction and environment HSP offers. Teachers come and go every year and seem to leave under secretive circumstances. This school is NOT part of the Atlanta Catholic Archdiocese. Don t walk away Run away
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2012

I do not have an upper school child, but my daughter is a student in the lower school at HSP, in the first grade. She loves school, talks often about what she has learned from day to day, and has never wanted to leave at the end of the day! I have watched her grow in leaps and bounds and am very happy that we found our place at Holy Spirit Prep. I love the smaller class size and appreciate that all the teachers know and greet her on a daily basis, not just her own teacher. It's a very safe, nurturing environment that all parents should consider for their younger children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2012

School is way behind in math and language arts, especially in middle school. My child is struggling to catch up at a new school. Ask questions. I wish I had. Very casual atmosphere with a lot of behavioral, teasing and bullying issues. Spanish and Religion was great. The rest, not up to par. Not worth the money, in my opnion
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2012

I have worked at other schools in the Atlanta area, and I have been so happy teaching at Holy Spirit! It is a wonderful school that finds a way to challenge children while also giving extra support to those who need it. The teacher turnover is no worse than any other school, and all the teachers I work with have a background in education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 6, 2012

Our family loves Holy Spirit Prep! We have 2 children on the Lower School Campus and couldn't be more pleased with our experience over the past 5 years. The teachers are nurturing and genuinely care about forming the whole child. Classes are academically challenging and the learning is individualized. Technology is on the rise with one to one chromebooks being used in the Middle School and Promethian Boards and Ipads used in the lower grades. This school has a real family feel that we haven't found anywhere else in the Atlanta area. Thank you Holy Spirit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2012

In life's major decisions in regards to your child, it is important to complete due diligence on all sides of the avenue coming and going. We are going into 5 years with a gifted child who has challenged and supported to succeed. I will too say you have to give or yourself to make successes happen at any school. Its life's circle of influence. It is too hard to accept when it is your child that may be having the problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

As you can read from the reviews enclosed on this school, this school is very controversial. Unfortunately, the administration allows and contributes to a school with a very toxic environment. The faculty doesn t stay very long, once they find out the direction the school is going in (downward spiral) they move out quickly. We were misled as to the educational capabilities the school could provide. Worst decision we ever made for our children, once we paid, we tried to register for high school classes and realized there was no process, no room, no good quality teachers the math and science expertise is absent from this school and there is no attention to writing skills - a critical element for every child. Carefully evaluate your educational decisions for your children - good first step looking here to see the "real" scoop. Good Luck and move to an established institution - Newly formed schools like HSP are a dangerous choice - pick a 100 year old institution. There is a reason they are not affiliated with Atlanta Area Association of Independent Schools (AAAIS) - they don't want to be regulated or controlled, the administration can do whatever they chose - DANGEROUS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2012

I have 2 children at HSP and it would be impossible for me to be any happier with our decision to send our children here. We have been at the school for 4 years and are constantly amazed by the staff, the school, the education my children are receiving, and the Catholic morals they will have with them their entire lives. The staff's credentials are absolutely amazing and FAR above what I would have expected from Elementary teachers. They have many enrichment programs for advanced students needing additional stimulation as well as programs for students that need extra support in particular areas. The only complaint we ever had about the school was regarding the need for rennovations at the lower school (including our muddy soccer fields). However, that thought is a distant memory! The school underwent an amazing renovation over the summer and is now absolutely beautiful - including astro-turf soccer fields!! This school is a bit pricier than other local Catholic schools - BUT WORTH EVERY CENT AND MORE! In the hustle and bustle and stresses life deals us every day, our child's education is the one thing my husband and I NEVER worry about. How can you put a price tag on that?!?!!?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

We have had an amazing experience at Holy Spirit. The teachers are fabulous and my children are thriving in this positive, individualized environment. The dedication of the teachers and administration to help each child reach their fullest potential is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2012

I am also very disappointed with this school. The athletic program is very weak. They still use parent coaches. You spend $18,000/yr and they can't afford to hire real coachs? The baseball diamond is a disaster and they rent space to play football. Their football league is not sanctioned. Everyone is crowded into one basketball court. If you want sports avoid this school. Overpriced !!! Go to Blessed Trinity or Marist.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

Great school! We loved the overall experience at Holy Spirit. Lovely families and great education. One negative was when we moved out of state with a great deal of advance notification. The school would not refund our prepayments. We lost a lot of money! Don't sign their contract or pay unless you are DEFINITELY going to be at the school! Their contract doesn't seem clear on this, disappointing from a Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

I have always had the highest regard for Holy Spirit Prep and I believe I always will. However, I was shocked and horrified at the behavior of our President and Headmaster at a varsity basketball game last week in our gymnasium. We were playing a local rival school. The players on the court and the student cheering sections were competing fiercely throughout the game. Suddenly, very near the end of the game, the Headmaster walked to the visitor cheering section and physically pulled a very young student and preceded to throw him out of the gym. Apparently, the Headmaster did not like the morph suit the student was wearing for some reason. When a female parent from the visiting school came to the Headmaster to understand what was going on, he physically grabbed her and was screaming at her. Luckily the incident cooled down before it escalated because a number of visiting parents (a few men) came to the lady's rescue. The Headmaster then proceeded to scream at one visiting parent after another. After completing these actions the Headmaster gave high fives to some students in our cheering section. I don't believe the actions or the celebration with our students were appropriate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

We chose Holy Spirit Preparatory after looking at several private schools in the Buckhead area. This is our second year at the school and we couldn't be more pleased with our choice. Our child has a warm, caring teacher who "gently" coaches her to excel. She is doing work one grade level higher in both math and english. When our friends with same age children at other schools discuss what their children are learning, we are always amazed that it is the work our child was doing last year. As a Catholic school, religion is an intricate part of their teaching philosophy but it is not obtrusive. Our child is thriving with the perfect mix of religious and academic education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

My two children attend this school. I have always been impressed with the staff and the level of individualized attention each student receives. I am writing this review today because they have impressed me beyond words today. All of my son's teachers and the success director met with us to see how they can make my son's learning experience even better. He is very bright but not a traditional learner. He needs more of a tactile (Kinaesthetic learning) learning environment. They will be infusing more of this style into his curriculum. It is so amazing to me that I literally have a team of educators behind me, helping and guiding and yes even some prayers to boot! It may not have the fanciest facilities, but it sure is the very best where it counts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

HSPS is a very unique and special place.Our daughter attends and we are so impressed with the supportive and dedicated faculty and friendly atmosphere.The individualized education is wonderful but what impresses us the most is observing our child serve selflessly in the community.All the students live up to the school's motto "to serve,not to be served".These children demonstrate what can't be measured on test scores: Love for God,respect for life ,forgiveness, and service to others.There truly is nothing like it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

Holy Spirit Preparatory inspired my daughter to imagine what she could achieve. She has been academically challenged and shown the value of both leadership & service. Her attendance at HSP as they say "has made all the difference"
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 44%
Hispanic 10% 12%
Black 9% 37%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school High Academic School
Faith-based School
Public School
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 98% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 2% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation 55% Out Of State
45% in-state
61% public
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Top 50 Catholic HS (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Engineering
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:05 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:20 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Kyle Pietrantonio
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • lwinkler@holyspiritprep.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NAIS
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (678) 623-0550

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Multi-aged
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Engineering
  • Industrial / graphic design

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Atlanta
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Archery
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Archery
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Literary magazine
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Math club
  • Pro-life
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Sea Cadet
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • As a school modeled on the classical tradition, Holy Spirit Prep aspires to connect our students with timeless knowledge and along with their families mold them into the next generation of exceptional thinkers. As a Catholic School, Holy Spirit Prep strives to form and fill each heart with Christ's love so students can enjoy the unique futures to which Christ calls them. Our graduates have gone on to study at some of the most prestigious colleges and universities.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
High Academic School
Faith-based School
Public School

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $20000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
55% Out Of State
45% in-state
61% public
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 98%
Military - 2%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4449 Northside Dr
Atlanta, GA 30327
Website: Click here
Phone: (678) 761-7992

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Schenck School
Atlanta, GA



Pace Academy
Atlanta, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT