Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
560 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
65 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (9 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (6 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 133 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Spirit Preparatory School 5

Posted April 27, 2016
- a parent
Holy Spirit Preparatory School is an institution of excellence and tradition along with community, education, faith, and love. It is structured and disciplined and full of love from from the teachers, staff and parents.

Holy Spirit Preparatory School 5

Posted April 26, 2016
- a parent
I would give this school even more stars if I could. We have one daughter in preschool and another in first grade. Both started at 2 years old in the Mothers Morning Out program. The school just seems to offer everything: exceptional academics (several recent alumni are at Harvard among other impressive schools), a supportive community, a safe environment, and a competitive athletic program. And I can't say enough positive things about the teachers. After 6 years I am so fond of each teacher every year. They ALL genuinely love the kids and their workplace - it makes for such a happy environment. Any time I have ever had a concern, the teachers and administration have been very receptive and welcoming. Yes, there is a good bit of homework. But it seems to be practical and never busy work. The teachers have high expectations from the students and I appreciate that. I am paying a lot of money for my kids to be well prepared for college. Yes, it is a faith-based school. Catholic, in fact. The kids are taught respect, discipline, spirituality, honesty and integrity. And for the students who are not Catholic, I have seen them treated very respectfully. Just like anything, you get out of it what you put into it..... This school thrives on parent involvement. There is a very active Parent Volunteer Association which plans events all throughout the year - for students, teachers, and families. It's a great way to get to know other parents and kids. Parents are always welcome on campus at any time during the day. I feel so grateful to have found this school but what really matters is how happy my kids are because of this school. The best thing you can do is visit HSP and talk to the kids.

Holy Spirit Preparatory School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
There is a problem with honesty in certain groups and has ramifications both within the school as well as extracurricular activities.

Holy Spirit Preparatory School 4

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
Updated from an earlier review...although we still feel this school has alot of great qualities, what we are experiencing is parents who are willing to do whatever it takes to insure their child gets preferential treatment, whether it be during the regular school hours or for extracurricular activities. Many of the kids who have been at the school for a long time feel a sense of entitlement and often their behavior, be it bullying or just acting out, is overlooked by the administration. We feel there is no accountability for actions and that honesty is not a valued virtue by some of the parents, and therefore, their children. We strive to teach our children to practice the Golden Rule and would expect this same environment at HSP. So far, we have been disappointed. The teachers are wonderful but it does seem, as a few posters have mentioned, that as long as your family gives enough money to the school, etc., your child's bad behavior is tolerated. We work very hard to afford the tuition at HSP and still believe it is the best school for our children but would like to see a little more accountability on the part of the parents, children and administration.

Holy Spirit Preparatory School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted December 25, 2015
- a parent
It's a joke. In order to be successful, parents will need to pay for tutoring.

Holy Spirit Preparatory School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted December 25, 2015
- a parent
A few years ago, they had a big problem with drug at the school. Parents were not notified of the problem. Generally, the student body is average. Upper school students have to deal bullying from their peers and the administration will not address the issue with fairness to all party involve. It's all about status and how deep is your funds...

Holy Spirit Preparatory School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
I can't say enough wonderful things about this school. My 2 children have been there since Preschool and into 5th grade. The academic rigor along with the small environment and nurturing faculty have set an environment for my children to thrive. I am especially impressed with the Seton Center gifted program. It inspires the accelerated learners to "think outside the box" instead of just getting an "A".

Holy Spirit Preparatory School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
To Tracy Kendall for being an outstanding first grade teacher. Our son is flourishing and loves the environment provide by you and your classroom as well as the HSP community.

Holy Spirit Preparatory School 5

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
We are new to HSP this year with one child in first grade and the other in Pre-K2. There are no words to express how thrilled we are with the experience thus far. Our first grader is receiving the accelerated academic program he needs to reach his full potential while developing spiritually in his Catholic faith. Our toddler loves the preschool and his teachers. The preschool has exceeded our expectations with the loving teachers who truly care about the children's development academically, socially and spiritually. Communication at all levels is outstanding at HSP. Teachers reach out consistently to let you know how your child is performing while the administration is friendly and open to suggestions for improvement. Great school with wonderful families and staff. Go Cougars!

Holy Spirit Preparatory School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are true educators by vocation. They are available for tutorial before or after school so that students can get extra help. Classroom teaching methods are varied and creative.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Spirit Preparatory School
4449 Northside Dr, Atlanta, GA  30327
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 133 reviews. (678) 761-7992
Last modified Holy Spirit Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top