Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Children's School

Private | PK-6 | 400 students

The Children’s School is widely recognized for a its student-centered academic p
 
 

 
 

Living in Atlanta

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $210,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted May 30, 2012

As the outgoing Head of The Children s School, I m proud to say that hundreds of students have been well served by the school, evidenced by the stories they ve shared with us year after year. The school has a committed, talented, dedicated faculty who work tirelessly to meet the needs of all of their students. Classrooms are stimulating, exciting learning environments that other schools and teachers work to model. The Children s School is authentically diverse in a myriad of ways. It is diverse geographically. It is diverse culturally and ethnically. It is diverse socio-economically. And it serves a diverse group of learners who graduate with confidence, poised to succeed both academically and socially. All organizations experience change. The Children s School is well prepared and solidly ready for new leadership. It is an exciting time for the school and as I leave, I celebrate all of its many successes.

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 23, 2009

We are fans of The Children's School. Our child started in Pre-Primary, and we worried about the full-day program for our 3 year old (now in pre-K). He thinks school is wonderful and cannot wait to go most mornings. We like the multi-disciplinary teaching approach that focuses on the whole child and the diverse community. For us, the school balances fostering the wonderment of childhood with academic structure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2009

As my child walks through The Children's School (TCS) campus and is personally greeted by faculty, administration and students of all ages I see the power of the intentional community that is built at TCS. While I know my son will do well academically because of the fundamentals he learns each day, the uniqueness of TCS truly lies in its dedication to community, diversity and building character. While I often wish the school extended beyond 6th grade, I know that it is the ability to focus on only elementary students that allows TCS to shine. Additionally almost all graduates get into the middle school of their choice, alleviating many concerns about what is next! No longer a school for 'aging hippies', TCS turns out responsible, academically strong students on par or better than its peers in Atlanta.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2009

We began at TCS two years ago and we couldn't be happier. TCS is such a rich community where my children feel completely comfortable. The teachers work with individual learning styles while holding students accountable academically. The character development piece of the curriculum is extraordinary. My kids are learning to articulate feels, gain confidence, deal with frustration, and work through conflict. Spend one day walking around campus and you can see why the parents are so passionate about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

Our daughter, now in Grade 1, has been at TCS since Pre-Primary -- and not only does she love it but so do we! The teachers really get to know the children, and the bond created is marvelous. The feedback from the teachers to us is stupendous: they /really/ know their kids and have great insight -- this not only shows that our child is in an environment that nurtures them but also gives us, as parents, helpful information that allows us more fully to participate in our child's education. Our daughter has grown each year -- intellectually, socially, emotionally -- in ways that really demonstrate that TCS is doing a fabulous job. And while I keep telling my daughter to stop growing up (she never listens to that plea, of course) I really look forward to seeing her continue to thrive at TCS, all the way to Grade 6.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

The Children s School has been a treasure in our family s life. Never have we been involved in a community so welcoming, nurturing, and culturally rich. The sacrifices we have made as a family to send our children to TCS have been well worth it. Highlights: A nationally recognized head of school who has served at the school for 20 years, knows every child by name, and regularly drops in the classroom to read a book or join in a messy project. Amazing teachers, who work in teaching pairs to give each child individual attention and love. A rich character education program, with a trait of the month and a counselor who can solve almost any problem with her basket of puppets, her student lunch groups and her welcoming couch for parents. A unique outdoor education program that gets 3rd - 6th graders out on an annual camping experience. Incredible preparation through 6th grade, which make TCS graduates highly sought after by top secondary schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

My child has been a student at The Children's School for over 4 years, and we could not be more thrilled with the academic and social education she is receiving. I highly recommend The Children's School to any parent considering a private education for his or her child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

My child graduated from the sixth grade in June 2008. The Children's School's expertise in elementary education prepared her academically and socially. We couldn't have been happier. Two other points; we really miss the parent community (none like it around) and yes, the admissions director at the school my daughter now attends says he loves accepting TCS children. Leadership at the school is exceptional.


Posted April 22, 2009

TCS really strives to educate the whole child--academically, artistically, physically, and socially. Academic emphasis varies from grade to grade and teacher to teacher, but the school, in line with the best pedagogy, does not force young children to sit at their desks and think linearly. The children do academic work in all grades, and by sixth grade are ready to go to any school in Atlanta, but in the lower grades academics is not the sole measure of success. The school also works to provide opportunities for, and to encourage the children to recognize and prize their gifts in, artistic endeavors, physical fitness and sportsmanship, and social learning. This is the only school in Atlanta, and I've seen plenty, where the faculty works together to discourage bullying and to teach the kids other ways to deal with and interact with each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

We are very disappointed with TCS. Our children deserve the best and in making this choice for their education we have failed them completely. We are anxiously awaiting the end of our contract so that we can transfer them to a school where they will actually learn something.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

I completely disagree that there is any uncertainty as to the academic strength of the school. The school consistently places its graduating sixth graders at top schools in the Atlanta area. The upper grade students who take standardized tests consistently rank well above the national norms for all students and at or above the norms for other independent school students nationwide. Since the lower grade students do not take the tests, there's no way to compare them to national norms, but I believe the results would be similar. My daughter, a current sixth grader, has been there since she was three years old, and she is now well-positioned to attend any school in Atlanta she wishes. More importantly, however, both of my children love to go to school and love to learn . . . aren't interested and motivated students what all elementary schools should strive to produce?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2008

Overall, this school has a beautiful campus, great level of diversity, and a friendly environment with some great families, teachers, and staff. We never heard anything negative about the school until we began having issues, then the flood gates opened with friends of friends with similar issues and experiences. There seems to be a stifling expectation of compliance with leadership, for students and parents, and the feel of your family being marked if you show any opposition. Parents are provided some information in great detail, but in our experience, some significantly important issues were presented haphazardly and with little consideration. The level of academic strength is unclear to us and a concern of several current and past families. To make a truly informed decision, I would certainly speak to several parents of current students and ask that they pass along your contact info to parents who have left the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2007

This is an impressive school! This the first year for my children after we tried a traditional school, transitioning from montessori. Though my children remained academically sound, they went from board, apathetic students to excited and motivated. My 6 year old has completed 10 books and this is only November. Last year, the only books he read were the ones we gave him at home. Its hard to describe, you would have to visit and watch how engaged and excited the children appear. I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2007

The Children School is an exciting school. I started in 1st grade and now I'm graduating. TCS has a lot of activities. This years performance in drama at TCS was The Lion King and it was a great and humorous show. The best part of TCS is that you get to go on over night trips. Some times the faculty can be a little mean and the students allways gossip about you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2005

The Childrens School is one of the best elemenatary schools in Metro Atlanta. The falcuty and staff are academically strong and dedicated to the children at all levels. There is a tremendous amount of parent involvement and it shows in a vareity of ways. I recommend The Childrens School to any parent that expects nothing but the best from there children and teachers. The school ranked among the best schools in metro Atlanta and Georgia.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 44%
Black 29% 37%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Presidential Service Award (2013)
  • Presidential Service Award (2012)
  • Presidential Service Award (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Step team

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Step team
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Nishant N. Mehta
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (404) 607-8565

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Global
  • Service learning
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • Science club
  • Step team
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

March 03, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$18000 - $18000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Woodward Academy
Paideia School
Atlanta Girls' School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

345 Tenth St NE
Atlanta, GA 30309
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 873-6985

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Orion School
Atlanta, GA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT