Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Torah Day School of Atlanta

Private | K-8 | 339 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Atlanta

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $186,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 16, 2014

Torah Day School provides and amazing environment for orthodox children. It provides a modern, technologically integrated, and excellent education as well as opportunities for every student. Teachers are knowledgeable and care about every individual student. It is also lead by a principal who cares both about students and teachers needs and concerns.


Posted April 22, 2012

This school is Definetly not the best. Especially middle school, students receive endless hours of homework. Teachers sometime just load students up with work and go and sit down to text. Projects are constant and a pain for parent as well. Projects range from making giant scrapbooks to making houses. Some teachers completely ignore the students like they have no rights. Middle school starts at 7:30 ends at 4:30 which is ridiculous. Many kids which don't live in the area get home at six finish homework at 10. Parents actually helda conference against to much homework, it was denied. The principal is not very good, from what I heard he is not liked by parents. Students hate it, there are no students going "yay I love this school" that is. Made up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2012

The school is not a gem, I can tell you that. In this school the rating is not based on how the kids are treated. This school is rated on how the teachers and the principal make it look.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2012

Not a good a school at all, I agree with the Previos comment about ratings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2012

Please stop giving us so much homework, I have no free time! Make the day a little shorter please! Tell our teachers to stop ignoring us. Stop giving us so many reports. Please give us more recess about one hour out of 9-10 hours a day is free time. The canteen is horrible by the time we get what we ordered lunch is over and then you tell us to throw out the food we bought. Stop acting like we like this school! Give kids more opinion and rights. These are a list of things children say when going through TDSA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

It is a wonderful school with a complete and impressive curriculum. Also, the staff is warm and caring for their students instilling in them a love of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

One day, my son was being picked on by some of the other kids, and it was very clear that the principal and administrators took my son very seriously. I was very pleased with their concern and their actions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

Wonderful supportive teachers and principal who get to know their students personally
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

a great learning environment,the staff is dedicated to bringing out the best of our students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Wonderful enviroment, where you can get an amazing eduacation while having an amazing time
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

They place within each child a strong sense of Jewish Identity and direction in life. We always felt that our school loved us and believed that we are worthwhile people created in the image of G-D


Posted April 25, 2010

The school provides a warm and caring environment focused on giving the children a positive outlook towards themselves and their heritage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Torah Day School is a warm, wonderful, educational environment and has given over to its students and community in many ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Having graduated from tdsa, i feel that i had an enriching experiance. I gained alot from the school, but mostly from the care and consideration that each teacher and staff member invested into every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

TDSA is a close-knit school, where the teachers really care about each and every student individually, and cater to their needs. As a graduate, I feel like I would not be where I am today without Torah Day.


Posted April 22, 2010

The principal is the most unique, smart, and amazing pricipal in the world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

As a graduate of Torah Day School, I owe a tremendous amount of gratitude towards them. I would not be where I am today without them. Thank you!


Posted April 22, 2010

I have only heard amazing things about it and have seen its students thrive and become great assets to society.


Posted April 22, 2010

TDSA is a school which hosts a uniquely caring environment. Each student is valued for who they are. The education is top notch. Teachers differentiate instruction to maximize the learning potential of every student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Loving, nurturing environment. A place where children love to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 37%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NSHDS
Fax number
  • (404) 248-1039

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1985 Lavista Road Northeast
Atlanta, GA 30329
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 982-0800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT