Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Atlanta, GA
Students enrolled: 120
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

My rating for this school is a five star rating. This place truly cares for the well being of the kids.
May 21, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Teacher effectiveness:
SCHOOL LEADER
The academics department at AYA is filled with teachers that are fun, egaging as well as caring. The teachers here have many years of experience teaching and it shows with the way empathy and care is reflected on each student.
Posted May 21, 2015

Amount of homework:
SCHOOL LEADER
The work that each cadet completes here is informational, it prepares them for a brighter and better future, its educational and engaging as well as it is fair.
Posted May 21, 2015

Develops grit:
SCHOOL LEADER
I belive this school instills positive traits in the cadets here including persistence, grit and determination.
Posted May 21, 2015

Develops honesty:
SCHOOL LEADER
I do feel this school encourages and helps develop honesty, integrity and fairness to all students. We give students a fighting chance against all odds.
Posted May 21, 2015

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
My rating for this school is a five star rating. This place truly cares for the well being of the kids.
Posted May 21, 2015

Develops empathy:
SCHOOL LEADER
I believe this, AYA has a program that merges: academics, military style training and mental health. The three combinations help develop empathy, compassion and understanding of what self love, and love for others should be like.
Posted May 21, 2015

Develops respect:
SCHOOL LEADER
Yes. With military style and precision. I believe respect is an important trait taught at AYA.
Posted May 21, 2015

Atlanta Youth Academy 4

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
AYA is a school that provides excellent foundational learning skills for youth. The ptogram focus on building a great core learning , which eqautes to future success. The small environment encourages open learning and student unity with a Christ as a focus. Class sizes are small and engaging for the students. Parent support is greatly encouraged.

Atlanta Youth Academy 4

Posted March 11, 2013
- a parent
Speaking of Great Schools, AYA is definitely one! It is a small school that offers quite a lot to the students. As a parent if you involve yourself with more than just dropping off and picking your children up you will understand the Greatness of the school. The Christmas programs, Black History programs, International Day affair, kindergarten and 8th grade graduations are absolutely wonderful. In order for you child to return back to school during mid term exams and final exams you must attend a teacher/parent conference (this establiishes a personal rapport with your child(s) teachers). I am so glad that we decided to let our children attend. The principal is somewhat hard on the children if they are out of place but it is because he cares and wants them to be taught correctly and be challenged in a positive way and it teaches them a level of respect for themselves and others regardless to who they might be. If you are negative and like to find fault but not be proactive in finding a resolution in a positive manner then this is not the place for you. It is truly a secret that is hidden off of Moreland Avenue and it's a school that feels like a family.

Atlanta Youth Academy 4

Posted July 31, 2012
- a parent
We have two children one that attended AYA for two years and matriculated to a prestigious private school; the other who currently attends and has grown and developed from pre-k to fifth grade. AYA provided our kids with academic, social, and spiritual balance. With the limited Christian private schools in Atlanta, I would recommend AYA to everyone. If you are looking for a perfect school AYA may not be the place for you (good luck finding it); if you are looking for a school to guide your child through this journey called life then AYA is the PERFECT school for you. The firm and SOLID foundation that the school provides will allow our children to succeed many years beyond AYA. The good has always outweighed the bad and the bad situations never remained in that state they ALWAYS worked in favor of the student's well being. We love AYA!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Atlanta Youth Academy
2120 Forrest Park Road Southeast, Atlanta, GA  30315
(404) 370-1960
Last modified Atlanta Youth Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Atlanta Youth Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top