Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brown Middle School 4

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
This school has an awesome Gifted Program! The teachers and administration card about the kids & put forth the efforts and energy to make sure that these kids stay on track! This is a much better school than many know.

Brown Middle School 5

Posted September 14, 2010
- a parent
We are new to Brown, with one son in the gifted and talented academy and I am so impressed with the level of expectations, the tenacity of the principal and the rigor of the educational teaching/work. My children have gone to the top rated APS public elementary, middle and high schools. This progarm has truly challenged my son and simultaneously taught him life skills, like time management, organization, quality of work, self-motivation, etc. There are less parents involved in the school overall than the other schools our kids have attended, but there is definitely a difference in the community/workforce/income levels, so that creates gaps in availabiliy of time and financial resources often. I wish the rigor of Brown was felt throughout the entire APS system.


Brown Middle School 5

Posted February 18, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Brown Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Principal Underdue is outstanding, understands the need to involve the community in the development of our children; 'It takes a village!'

Brown Middle School 2

Posted September 27, 2009
- a parent
This school has so much more potential if it would use the parents more. Parents are the greatest advocates for a child's success. Brown has very low participation in it;s PTSA and so much talent in the parents. If Mr. Underdue would take time to survey the volunteer interests of the parents and truly allow the parents to help him, then this would be one of the best middle schools in Atlanta Public Schools. Communication is in dire need of improvement. This is a uniform school for some students and thus not for others. This needs to be inforced better. There's still a lot of work to be done to make this school better. A school sometimes has to 'grab' the parents and make them feel more welcome!


Brown Middle School 1

Posted May 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Brown Middle School 3

Posted September 14, 2008
- a parent
I think this school has mde great gains,however, the principal is more into his looks than anything else. I want to talk about my child, not about how good he looks.

Brown Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 09, 2008
- a parent
This is my daughter's first year at BMS, so far I have enjoyed her stay. The feedback from teachers is great and it is a totally uniformed school this year.


Brown Middle School 5

Posted May 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Brown Middle School 4

Posted September 01, 2007
- a parent
I am glad Dr. Ordu is gone!!! She broke the spirits of the entire student and staff population!! She also ran out great teachers from 2003-2006; that is why AYP was not met this year--great teachers could not take it anymore !!!Mr Underdue is what the school needs!! He is a positive and firm principal for staff and students!! Brown will go from good TO GREAT NOW! dedicated parent

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brown Middle School
765 Peeples St SW, Atlanta, GA  30310
(404) 802-6800
Last modified Brown Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brown Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top