Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 63 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


70 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Charles R. Drew Charter School 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
We have absolutely LOVED our experience at Drew. My son has made so many friends over the years. He has learned to adapt to new situations and work collaboratively with others. The two specials that he has during the day give him exposure to different things that he wouldn't ordinarily have tried. My engineer uncle was amazed that my 7 year old was able to make a perspective drawing at such a young age and is actually using power tools to build things in school. As he gets older I know that he will be fully aware of all of his options in life. The day is about an hour longer than traditional schools but for us it's worth it and honestly my son has never noticed that the day is a bit longer.

Charles R. Drew Charter School 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
The instructional program at Drew Charter Junior Academy is academically rigorous, but at the same time, incredibly supportive and the teachers and staff have created a warm and caring culture. The building and resources at the Junior/Senior Academy are absolutely phenomenal! This is our first year at Drew and we look forward to our son graduating from Drew.


Charles R. Drew Charter School 3

Posted July 17, 2014
- a parent
I had my child a Drew last year before we moved to Decatur. If anyone is trying to decide between the two, I found Decatur City Schools to be a better fit for my family. Drew is getting sooo big, which is a negative in my opinion. (Have fun at drop-off and pick-up and don't plan on having any of your kids friends in the same class when there are 7 classes in one grade.) Seriously, Drew is fine, but the long school day, 8-4, is a bit much for younger kids. And while the extra time is spent on extracurricular activities like music or art, I felt like my child was never going to become proficient at any thing since they switch classes a couple times each semester. I'd rather have my child out of school at 2:45 in time to go to lessons, whether swimming, piano, etc., where I know he will actually have time to fully develop his skills. Just my two cents.

Charles R. Drew Charter School 5

Posted November 20, 2013
- a community member
I am and student and from y perspective Drew is amazing especially with the new high school coming Drew will be academically unstoppable. I love this school and its staff and I plan on never leaving until I graduate from its life changing " Cradle To College Program" By the way so you can marvel at my education I am in 7th grade and am using a laptop from our grant and partnership with Echo.

Charles R. Drew Charter School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Drew is a breathe of fresh air. This is our first year and already it's like night and day from where we came from. Both kids are in TAG but have been introduced to some pretty incredible things that expand way beyond. Very pleased and happy to have them as a partner in my childrens education.


Charles R. Drew Charter School 5

Posted August 15, 2013
- a community member
I attended Drew Charter from grades 2nd to 8th (2001-2008) and I must say it was a great experience! All of my teachers were very helpful in many different ways. The teachers there encouraged me to move forward and to do my best even if I didn't know what I was doing. Even though I have graduated from there and high school, I still go up to visit my old teachers that are still there because they still care and it shows.

Charles R. Drew Charter School 5

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
We are in our 4th year at Drew Charter School and I can't say enough great things about the school. We have a very supportive staff and great parents. The kids have been exposed to so many great opportunities that they otherwise would not have experienced. We are very lucky to have found this school.

Charles R. Drew Charter School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
Drew Charter school is a 5 star school! It is a top notch academic school with concerned faculty and supporting staff. The security team is ever present and my kids are safe. I only wish there was a Drew University.


Charles R. Drew Charter School 5

Posted April 24, 2013
- a parent
My daughter started with Drew in Pre-K... I must admit the expectation level academically is above and beyond what I experienced growing up in the City of Decatur School System which was then and now a very good school system. I love the challenge that is placed on the kids to get them to think outside of the box and their own comfort levels. Although this school challenge my child to be her absolute best... at times, I find myself being challenged with science and social studies projects as well. My daughter is now in 3rd grade and I have enjoyed almost all of her teachers with the exception of one up to this point. Overall I think Drew is an excellent school however, I have found it a little perplexing that as the demographics of the area changed so has the schools in this area as all schools educationally should be equal.

Charles R. Drew Charter School 5

Posted January 31, 2013
- a parent
Our daughters started Drew six months ago after we relocated from a top performing school in the North. Friends advised that if we were moving to GA, to only consider private or public schools in the suburbs. We're so glad we chose to live in town and most importantly, Drew. So far we have zero regrets. Our experiences have been nothing but positive. Our daughters' teachers are well educated, professional and truly care about their students. The ongoing feedback the parents receive, make it virtually impossible for a student to slip through the cracks. And if a child requires remediation, the resources are there. I'm also impressed that despite the size, the administrators know many students by name. The STEAM curriculum is commended considering that many schools are phasing out art/music enrichment. Moreover, our daughters' friends are much more diverse not only in race, but socioeconomics; something we feel are invaluable. The approved high school is icing on the cake. I used to joke that Drew was the best kept secret, but my husband says the secret is out.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charles R. Drew Charter School
301 E Lake Blvd SE, Atlanta, GA  30317
(404) 687-0001
Last modified Charles R. Drew Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Charles R. Drew Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 70 reviews. Top