Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Heritage Elementary School 1

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
My non-verbal son who has autism was placed in this school because it was the school in his district that could service him in the 1st grade. We did not have a choice to send him to his home school. On the 8th day of school 2015-2016, the teacher and the paraprofessional lost him. He was found rather quickly, however, it proved that he was not being supervised 100 percent as his special needs IEP outlined. To further add insult, the two people who we entrust his care to began seriously arguing in front of me and other students/staff. It was so bad it appeared to been close to an altercation/fight. They were very unprofessional, but more so, it proved to me that all they are doing is collecting a check and not really working for it. We are going to file an official complaint against this school.

Heritage Elementary School 1

Posted July 31, 2013
- a parent
This school is horrible. The staff is very cold and they let the kids run around the school at all times of day. I even had a situation where my child was walking to the daycare that was close by without my notice. VERY BAD SCHOOL DO NOT ENROLL YOUR CHILD HERE>>>>> YOU WILL REGRET IT, BIG TIME!

Heritage Elementary School 1

Posted April 24, 2013
- a parent
My daughter started this school in February 2013. The facility is nice and the staff is ok. It needs a little fine tuning and some of the teachers need to understand they are there for the children.

Heritage Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
My daughter's teachers have devoted a lot of time to her over the years. She is an extremely smart little girl and they took notice of it.

Heritage Elementary School 1

Posted April 08, 2010
- a parent
I have 2 children at this school, one of which has been here for two years. All I have to say is this school needs a whole new staff from administration down to the teachers. They need to start all over again with people who have a passion for teaching and a passion for safety and discipline. There are too many unruly children here and not enough adults who care about keeping them in check. I will be sending my children to a new school for the 2010-2011 school year. Academically, I think this school is behind.

Heritage Elementary School 1

Posted July 29, 2009
- a parent
This school needs new management and needs a system in place for the students that need extra help(disruptive students)What about the students that are really there to learn?Very happy with the option to transfer out this year.NEW MANAGEMENT and MORE TEACHER THAT LOVE TO TEACH.I am grateful for all the good teachers out there.

Heritage Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 20, 2009
- a teacher
I agree with the teacher who wrote the previous review. I am a substitute teacher who took on a mutiple day assignment at Heritage Elementary School and every thing she said I experienced, including the administrations blatant lack of support or respect.

Heritage Elementary School 1

Posted November 28, 2008
- a teacher
This school is filled with violent and disruptive students that are given little to no consequences for their actions. The administration does not support teachers who have disruptive students in their classroom. The teachers are blamed for the students' actions. They are told they have no classroom management skills. Some of the behaviors students display are assualting teachers, destroying school property, fighting, throwing chairs and books, and emotional meltdowns. If you want your child to learn in a safe environment, this is not the place.

Heritage Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2008
- a parent
This is great! The class sizes are small. The teacher is very involoved with the students. They send home wekkly progess reports so I always know how my daughter is doing in school. I even have her teachers cell phone number! Mrs. Wilcox is an excellent teacher! I'm going to miss this school. We're moving to Buford so my daughter will start 1st grade at Fort Daniel.

Heritage Elementary School 2

Posted May 29, 2007
- a parent
This school could be a great place to learn if the administration would be more visible. Students are not held accountable for their actions. There is too much sugar coating going on with students as far as the administrative team is concerned. This is so sad! The quality of academic programs at this school is almost hhopless.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Heritage Elementary School
2600 Jolly Rd, Atlanta, GA  30349
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (404) 669-8144
Last modified Heritage Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top