Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Atlanta, GA
Students enrolled: 1,015
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Heritage Elementary School 1

Posted July 31, 2013
- a parent
This school is horrible. The staff is very cold and they let the kids run around the school at all times of day. I even had a situation where my child was walking to the daycare that was close by without my notice. VERY BAD SCHOOL DO NOT ENROLL YOUR CHILD HERE>>>>> YOU WILL REGRET IT, BIG TIME!

Heritage Elementary School 1

Posted April 24, 2013
- a parent
My daughter started this school in February 2013. The facility is nice and the staff is ok. It needs a little fine tuning and some of the teachers need to understand they are there for the children.

Heritage Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
My daughter's teachers have devoted a lot of time to her over the years. She is an extremely smart little girl and they took notice of it.

Heritage Elementary School 1

Posted April 08, 2010
- a parent
I have 2 children at this school, one of which has been here for two years. All I have to say is this school needs a whole new staff from administration down to the teachers. They need to start all over again with people who have a passion for teaching and a passion for safety and discipline. There are too many unruly children here and not enough adults who care about keeping them in check. I will be sending my children to a new school for the 2010-2011 school year. Academically, I think this school is behind.

Heritage Elementary School 1

Posted July 29, 2009
- a parent
This school needs new management and needs a system in place for the students that need extra help(disruptive students)What about the students that are really there to learn?Very happy with the option to transfer out this year.NEW MANAGEMENT and MORE TEACHER THAT LOVE TO TEACH.I am grateful for all the good teachers out there.

Heritage Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 20, 2009
- a teacher
I agree with the teacher who wrote the previous review. I am a substitute teacher who took on a mutiple day assignment at Heritage Elementary School and every thing she said I experienced, including the administrations blatant lack of support or respect.

Heritage Elementary School 1

Posted November 28, 2008
- a teacher
This school is filled with violent and disruptive students that are given little to no consequences for their actions. The administration does not support teachers who have disruptive students in their classroom. The teachers are blamed for the students' actions. They are told they have no classroom management skills. Some of the behaviors students display are assualting teachers, destroying school property, fighting, throwing chairs and books, and emotional meltdowns. If you want your child to learn in a safe environment, this is not the place.

Heritage Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2008
- a parent
This is great! The class sizes are small. The teacher is very involoved with the students. They send home wekkly progess reports so I always know how my daughter is doing in school. I even have her teachers cell phone number! Mrs. Wilcox is an excellent teacher! I'm going to miss this school. We're moving to Buford so my daughter will start 1st grade at Fort Daniel.

Heritage Elementary School 2

Posted May 29, 2007
- a parent
This school could be a great place to learn if the administration would be more visible. Students are not held accountable for their actions. There is too much sugar coating going on with students as far as the administrative team is concerned. This is so sad! The quality of academic programs at this school is almost hhopless.

Heritage Elementary School 3

Posted April 15, 2007
- a parent
My children have attended Heritage Elementary since Pre-K. They are happy with the activities, but my husband and I are not with several aspects of the school. There is an excellent step team and drama club, which have helped our children since their participation. The school has only one academic activity (Technology Club)that is limited due to staff. There is very little parent involvement in the PTA, yet very active when involving extracurricular activities. My husband and I do not feel many (not all)teachers show a passion for teaching or the school. Mrs. Sharron McIntyre has been one of our children's teachers and she surpassed all of our expectations of an excellent teacher. The principal is accessible, however, needs to work more towards raising the caliber of the school (i.e., discipline, academics, programming, parental involvement, and retention of good teachers).

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Heritage Elementary School
2600 Jolly Rd, Atlanta, GA  30349
(404) 669-8144
Last modified Heritage Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Heritage Elementary School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top