Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parkside Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 536 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 17 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

65 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2009

Great school with a phenomenal staff and student body in a tremendous neighborhood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

I love the fact that the Principal and Staff really takes pride in the education of this school for the sudents. Learning is extremeley Important and second to none. The children and structured and diciplined. Parental involvement is also a huge part of the school. Each day is a new day at Parkside. I am extermely proud that this is the school that my daughter attends. I have never been interactive with a Principle that takes the time to meet and greet each and every student and parent that brings their child to school. Even in the rain. I am Thankful for PARKSIDE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

I love Parkside Elementary because the people are friendly and work hard for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

I love the PTA, Parent Center, Media Center, Faculty and Staff, after-school opportunities.... simply everything!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Parkside staff are involved and care about the kids, the school and the community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Parkside is a great community of people who care about children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

The teachers and admin really care and the kids love school, which is of utmost importance to their learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

it gives the kids the attention they need
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

My children and I are totally enjoying our first year at Parkside. Their teachers are challenging them and have high expectations for all of the students. At the same time they are nurturing. I have never been to a school where I have seen all of the teachers and staff happy to be where they are working. Parkside is the perfect example of what a place of education should be. Many of the staff have their own children enrolled there, not just for convenience, but for the level of academic rigor and level of commitment of the administrators and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

My daughter and I were commuting to a school 20 minutes away, not knowing that Grant Park's little secret was Parkside Elementary. She started in the middle of the year and I was so nervous for her. All of the teachers and the administration were very comforting and assuring that I had made a very wise decision. Every day that I pick my daughter up (from the affordable after school program), she is always smiling and excited to tell me about her learning experiences. Ms. Battle was an awesome principal and will be missed. In that same breathe, we welcome Mr. Luck, not that he was a stranger, as our leader for Parkside Elementary! GO PANDAS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2008

My son will be attending Parkside for the 2008-2009 school year for first grade. I can say nothing but great things about Parkside. The Principal (AWESOME), the staff (AWESOME), espeically his kindergarten teacher Mrs. Washington and the para -Mrs. Weaver, the after school program (AWESOME and affordable), the extra curricular activities (AWESOME). The school is like a second family for my son and he loves it. If anyone is thinking about sending their child to Parkside you will not regret it. I have been so impressed about the things my son has been taught. When I pick him up and thats the first thing that comes out of his mouth, I know that he is truly being taught in a fun creative way. GO PARKSIDE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

Both of my sons have attended Parkside Elementary and I love to rave about the quality of education my children have recieved there. When you walk into Parkside, you feel like you are a part of a great big family. Principal Battle sets the tone and everyone else falls in line. Hugs are a regular sight, fromt the early morning until afterschool. There are always parents at the school, volunteering in classrooms, the front office and in the school's garden. I just can't say enough about this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

I love it. My child learns so much here! Next year I will have two children attending this fantastic school and I'm looking forward to picking them both up everyday, happy, healthy and well taught! Sincerely, Corey Allen
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

My Grandson attends Parkside Elementary School. I am so impressed with the staff, teachers, curriculum, and the physical plant. My grandson is challenged and in love with learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

I am a grandparent of a second grader at Parkside and I am inpressed and pleased with the physical plant, instructional leader, staff and , curriculum and challenging techniques for helping students be all that God has created them to be. Mrs. Turner.. B'Ham, AL an excited grandparent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2007

I have been blessed and proud of Parkside Elementary School . The physical plant, the instructional leader and the staff shows the true essence of a knowledgeable and caring team. This is what the stakeholders need to be assured that students can be all that God has created them to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

My son attends Parkside and we have had nothing but positive experiences there so far this year. The academics started right from Day 1 and he has been challenged and intrigued consistently. The teachers are great, the environment is inviting and the staff in general are friendly. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

School is great! Staff is great! My son and I came from New Orleans and the school personnel excepted us with open arms. I can't say the same for the pre-k coodinator the previous year, but your children will love the pre-k teachers. Ms. Alphabet (pre-k) and Ms. Williams (K) were sent from heaven! Ms. Boyd took my son personally under her wing to help him adjust as well....We love you all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

Great school! The staff is wonderful and Ms. Battle, the principal are both on the ball!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

We couldn't have chosen a better school or neighborhood for our child. Grant Park is a nice place to live and Parkside is it's crown jewel. Paul
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

92 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

92 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

92 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

61 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 77% 37%
White 14% 44%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Phillip Luck
Fax number
  • (404) 624-9855

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

685 Mercer St SE
Atlanta, GA 30312
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 802-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT