Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parkside Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 469 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 16, 2007

School is great! Staff is great! My son and I came from New Orleans and the school personnel excepted us with open arms. I can't say the same for the pre-k coodinator the previous year, but your children will love the pre-k teachers. Ms. Alphabet (pre-k) and Ms. Williams (K) were sent from heaven! Ms. Boyd took my son personally under her wing to help him adjust as well....We love you all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

Great school! The staff is wonderful and Ms. Battle, the principal are both on the ball!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

We couldn't have chosen a better school or neighborhood for our child. Grant Park is a nice place to live and Parkside is it's crown jewel. Paul
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

Wow. That is how I describe Parkside. We recently relocated from Los Angeles to Grant Park and had researched the Cobb, Atlanta and Dekalb County Schools VERY closely. At the insistance of a friend, we decided to take a closer look at Parkside and we were completely blown away during our tour. The school is poised to become THE shining example for other schools throughout the country. With it's integration of high end technology into every classroom, a principal that is well respected and loved by the staff and students and a teaching staff and librarian so dedicated to the school that they all send their own children there, you cannot go wrong with Parkside. I feel as if we are getting a private school education (actually BETTER than a private school education), for free. Gorgeous Campus. Phenomenal Arts Programs. Parents and College Students Who Volunteer on Campus. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

Parkside Elementary exemplifies the true essence of a community school. The culture of the school is definitely student-inspired. Every wall in the school is adorned with the students work in a very coordinated way. For instance, my 2nd grader had a social studies project to complete on Japan and when you walk on the 1st grade hallway, the walls focused on geography (location) so throughout the school all grades are academically snychronized so that content is driven at every target. Also, Parkside has a very active PTA. They promote events quaterly and support the faculty and staff wholeheartedly. The Art teacher is awesome, he enhances the scenes around and about the school and inspires the students to be creative. I wish I had more space, but I personally recognize the expertise and character of: Ms. Smith, Ms. Broadway, Dr. Battle, Ms. Taylor, Ms. Gwinn, Ms. Boyd, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2004

My child absolutely loves her school. Last year I thought about moving back to California and my daughter was so adamant about staying at Parkside I decided to stay here in Georgia for at least another two years. This year she has her first male teacher Mr. Clayton. Mr. Clayton has very unique teaching skills and my daughter has really learned a lot in this first quarter. My child's self esteem has elevated and she has learned how to accept failures as well as her success in a positive manner. Parkside recieves a 100% in my book.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2004

I absolutely love this school. I have 2 children attending this school. The teachers are very concerned with their well-being. Ms. Battle is very personable and my children love her. It is a friendly, warm enviroment. They also have many extracurricular activities. Excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2004

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! Principal Battle is excellent with the teachers and the students. I loved this school from the very moment I enrolled my daughter 3 years ago. She is now a middle schooler at Inman middle school which is one of the top middle schools in metro Atlanta. If you are looking for a great no, excellent elementary school located near downtown Atlanta, this is the one.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

92 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

92 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

92 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

61 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 78% 37%
White 12% 44%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Phillip Luck
Fax number
  • (404) 624-9855

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

685 Mercer St SE
Atlanta, GA 30312
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 802-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT