Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parkside Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 17 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

65 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 11, 2014

When my family moved to Atlanta in the summer of last year we had a plan to send our Kindergartener to Parkside until we could land an ever-coveted spot at ANCS or Drew Charter. What we quickly realized was that Parkside is rich in diversity, has an administrative team that is dedicated to the their students and school, and significant parental involvement. Big things are happening at Parkside and I'm excited for next year and the years to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2014

School is a warm and caring environment that allows kids to grow and perform,. They are ready to move on to Middle School when they are done here and continue to achieve great things, it has been a pleasure sending our kids here for the last 8 years and we have three more years here. We are looking forward to all the great things that the school does
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

My odlest son will be finishing up his 5th grade year at Parkside in the next couple weeks. He has been there for 7 years (since he started PreK) and we have been completely impressed with the faculty and the wonderful education that he has received. We also have a 2nd grade daughter who has been there since PreK as well and will remain through her 5th grade year. Every single teacher that both of them has had has been top notch. As a school system employee myself, I have worked in several schools around the Metro area and Parkside is among the best of the best. There are plenty of enrichment activities that might not be available at some other schools including Gifted, Robotics, Safety Patrol, Dance Team, music lessons, etc. Parkside has become a second family to us and is a diverse and accepting community school that I highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

I have two children at Parkside Elementary School, both started in the Pre K program. I couldn't be happier with their success! Both kids have excelled socially and academically. Parkside's teachers are involved and teach the students more than just what is in the text books, they teach how to be successful in life. The Robotics club, boys public speaking competition, piano have been some of my favorite extras that not all other schools offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

Parkside Elementary has been the perfect choice for my twins daughters. They started in Pre-K and have had another amazing year in Kindergarten. I've been very impressed by the experience of the Kindergarten team and how much my girls- who are the youngest in their classes- have learned in such a short amount of time. Both are reading- one proficiently- and are excelling in math and science. Most importantly they love to learn and are excited to apply what they're learning to the world around them. Their creative spirit has been nutured as well- I see it in the stories they're now writing! I love that when I walk through the doors at Parkside I'm greeted by friendly teachers who know me and my children. I feel confident in the leadership of our new principal, Caitlin Sims, and can tell that she is focused on strengthening and building upon the good foundation of the school. It's important to me that my children attend a school that serves and is representative of their community, provides them with a strong academic foundation, as well as diverse social experience. Parkside does this and more families in the neighborhoods it serves are coming to the same conclusion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

My daughter is currently a fifth grade student and has attended Parkside for the last six years beginning in the kindergarten. Her first principal, Dr. Battle as well as her second principal, Dr. Luck were phenomenal leaders. My child loves her school and I have enjoyed each teacher she has had the opportunity to learn from. The teachers are strong, educated and grounded in love. She is challenged when necessary and given encouragement when needed. All teachers are different but Parkside is a like a second family. I feel so at ease, leaving her in caring hands each day and I know she is receiving a quality eduation. I love the extra curricular activities offered at the school as well as the diversity that has been there since my child started in the kindergarten. We will truly miss the relationships and the family bond that has been formed once the school year comes to and end. Parkside is an awesome school and both of the previous principals worked diligently to put Parkside on the map.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

My first-grade daughter is in her second year at parkside and we couldn't be happier. Learning is fun but rigorous (expect homework right from Kindergarden). The teachers are warm but professional - my daughter gets hugs just about every morning from her teachers. The administration is communicative, approachable, and truly interested in input and finding solutions to issues that arise. And as a parent, you are welcome just about any time for observation, meeting your kid for lunch, chaperoning field trips, or volunteering during or outside of school hours. I am impressed with how many teachers hold advanced degrees and/or are from very prestigious schools. I also love how well-equipped Parkside is - because of its Title 1 status, it gets extra funding, and uses it wisely. Rooms have promethean boards, multiple computers for students to use, a special digital slate for teachers to project visuals onto the promethean board, and lots of other high-tech equipment. These kids will be well prepared for the 21st century! I wish more families in Grant Park would consider Parkside as a viable option - it has so much potential, and with more parent involvement it will truly shine
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

Parkside is a diverse and loving environment where my child has received excellent academic instruction. Science and mathematics are an emphasis, and we also have an amazing art program. My child loves his teachers and his school, and it is a place that I find very warm and inviting as a parent as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

I am the proud parent of a Parkside second grader. I have to say that I am continually amazed at this wonderful Parkside community's capacity for collaboration and engagement--not only by parents and stakeholders, but by the school's faculty, staff and administration as well. I have never been made to feel anything other than welcome and all of my input/comments/frustrations have been heard with interest and resolutions to ANY issue I had were immediately forthcoming. The level of instruction is, in my experience, excellent and every teacher my son has had since kindergarten has gone out of their way to make themselves available to me any time I needed to check in on his progress. Is it a perfect school? Absolutely not. There are things that frustrate me and things that I think can be done a little better. But these are, to me, secondary to the fact that I have a happy, well-adjusted Parkside second grader and that makes me a happy Dad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

I have been a Parkside Elementary School parent since 2007, when my oldest son began his attendance there in kindergarten. My initial plan was to have him start there and then proceed to move him to a nearby charter school. My oldest son is now in middle school and my youngest son now attends Parkiside in kindergarten. I am still pleased with the school and look forward to another awesome K-5 experience. I believe the parental involvement and school leadership is just as strong, if not stronger, than it was back in 2007.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

I love the community at Parkside. I feel like there are teachers and staff that truly love my children there. I feel like my input is welcome and considered. I have found that the teachers and administrators are accessible when I need to discuss my children's behavior or academic progress. My eldest children always meets and usually exceeds the scores necessary for the CRCT. His 4 years at Parkside prepared him for the further challenges of middle school. My yongest child has had an excellent Pre-K experience. He has learned how to behave in a learning environment and has begun to read to us! I try to be as involved as my schedule will allow and always feel energized and inspired after events. Many people really seem to "have your back" at Parkside. I've watched someone else's child, on the spur of the moment and have had other parents pitch in for me when something has come up. South East Atlanta feels very small town to me and I feel like this "village" is taking good care of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

Parkside is considered by many as the "second choice" school in Grant Park, where you go if you don't make it into the lottery for the Charter school. However, my son didn't get in to the charter school, spent a month at Parkside, and we decided that even if we did get in to the charter school, we would turn it down in order to stay at Parkside. His Kindergarten teacher, Mr. Weems, is a better teacher than we could have ever hoped for. The academics are rigorous and challenging, the programs are rich and diverse, and the Gifted And Talented program is top notch (and not available at the charter school). Having problems with the amount of candy at the school, but working with the Principal Caitlin Sims, who is working hard to make nutrition a high priority. Principal is great - she's known for turning schools around, and is certainly doing that at Parkside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

We have been so impressed with Parkside - the academics, extracurricular activities, and the community. We are also extremely pleased with the resources Parkside has at its disposal and the uses it makes of those resources. I am confident in the education my child is receiving at Parkside and comforted by the fact that Parkside has the resources, talent and desire to help my current student (and my children who will be entering Parkside in the coming years) no matter what challenges may be presented down the road.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

We had a great experience at Parkside from PreK-5th Grade! We have recommended this school to many of our friends and neighbors with elementary aged children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

Parkside used to be the most-transferred ES in the school district until capacity prevented additional transfers. Now neighborhood families are choosing Parkside as well, making it a wonderful gem in the Southeast Atlanta community. Our new principal is amazing, bringing wonderful resources and much-needed "growing pains" processes to the school. My son has loved his two years there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

My son attends Parkside Elementary. We love the teachers and the all the parents that dedicate their time and efforts to making Parkside what it is. The new garden project shows the beginning of more community connections. Principal Simms has graced us with a new vision for Grant Park's Parkside Elementary. The school has an exceptional support staff that makes it all happens. Kudos to our previous principal Dr Lucky , whom set the pace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

Parkside has been a great school for our son. It has a great group of teachers and tremendous facilities and programs. Our son is excited every day to go to school and is happy to do his homework every night.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

I am a grandmother of 2 girls who have attended Parkside since 2009. They have had excellent teachers and participated in the violin program. The school is very welcoming and the teachers approachable. I have been volunteering in the classroom each week for the last 1 1/2 years and have been impressed with the teachers and staff. I would recommend this school to anyone who livs in the district.


Posted October 9, 2013

I was previously happy with this school but after this past school year I am very disappointed. My child made high honor roll but unlike most parents I wasn't happy. Why you may ask? Well I often assess my child to see if she is in fact learning what she is supposed to. I was so disappointed because what they said my child knew she didn't and it was impossible for her to have been on honor roll. I often times asked about certain things I knew she should be learning and was just told oh everything is fine. On top of that they do a very poor job of recognizing the few parents who volunteer and stay involved. I knew it was time to go when my own child asked to go to another school. I am Black but I come from a very culturally diverse background and grew up with people from all races and nationalities and that is one thing I desired for my child. If this is something you want for your child, you will not find it here. However, they will be well educated in AA History, Sororities, and Fraternities which is not a bad thing at all except when its all you display. The world we live in is not just Black and not just White. I don't know when APS schools North and South will realize this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

We have had a terrible experience and can't wait to find another school that we can switch our daughter to. We have had issues where other children have hit our daughter & used racial slurs at her and teachers who do little if anything about it. We are 1 of the VERY FEW white families at this school and have not been warmly welcomed. I have spoken with the administration they state that they will handle it yet nothing ever changes and no follow up is ever received. The staff seems to care very little and I was shocked that they did not have a required daily planner for the students to use to teach them responsibility, time management and self confidence. There is no cultural diversity amongst the staff, all staff is of black decent except the principal. The gym is full of roll models and their pictures, all of which are black. There seems to be quite a bit of racism toward white families & we feel uncomfortable here. I hate to have to say that as we try to show our children that everyone is created equal and how someone acts is more important than how they look. This does not seem to be a value that the school and many of the families we have come in contact with seem to follow.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

92 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

92 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

92 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

61 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 77% 37%
White 14% 44%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Phillip Luck
Fax number
  • (404) 624-9855

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

685 Mercer St SE
Atlanta, GA 30312
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 802-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT