Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
54 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (6 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (5 responses)
characters left.
There are 122 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Parkside Elementary School 4

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
The teachers and staff are always welcoming to parents and children, and my daughter loves going to school here. There is a great community of involved parents who are dedicated to making this school a better place. The more parents get involved, the better the school will be. It is already a good school, so it will just keep getting better and better.

Parkside Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Sparks just came to Parkside, and as soon as I walked in her classroom, it was warm and inviting. She had changed it from the way it was laid out by the previous teacher, and it was greatly improved. Ms. Sparks is always kind and my child really likes her and enjoys being in her class. Thanks, Ms. Sparks!

Parkside Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
I'd like to thanks Ms. Wagner, a first grade teacher at Parkside, for her exceptional efforts in teaching, leading and supporting her students this year. She has a very friendly and professional demeanor, which encourages the class to follow her instructions. She also displays a firm approach to what's expected from the students with regards to their studies, their behavior and their overall contributions to the class. Our son Gavin has benefited greatly from this experience, both academically and socially, and Parkside is a better place thanks to the dedication of Ms. Wagner and her capable colleagues.

Parkside Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
After mixed results from our first year at Parkside, I was skeptical about what to expect from first grade. I'm pleased to report a much more positive experience all around. Despite some challenges that come from a very diverse population (culturally and economically), we have benefited from a wonderfully supportive staff and engaged parent base. Our son is developing the academic, social and personal skills he'll need to be successful, and we feel very grateful that Parkside is our school. Go Pandas!

Parkside Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
I want to thank my daughter's Kindergarten teacher, Mrs. McCannon. My daughter has learned so much while in her class, and she really takes the time to focus on the ability of each student and help them reach their full potential. She is appropriately strict when warranted, and gets to know each child. She has open lines of communication with parents, and best of all, my daughter loves her. :)

Parkside Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
My nephew Jacory Williams is in Ms. Teikings' ( I hope I'm spelling that correctly) class. I commend her for being a kindergarten teacher. This in itself can be very trying. She also helped me to go on a field trip with the class when there was a communication breakdown and they were not aware that I was supposed to be a chaperone for the trip.

Parkside Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
We moved to this neighborhood after all the charter school lottery dates passed. We were led to believe that our kids would get a sub-par education at Parkside. We planned to "stick it out" for the year and possibly enter the charter lotteries the following year. Within a matter of weeks of kindergarten starting, we knew he was in a great place. We realized it was charter school families who often said those negative things, without having any evidence to support their claims. Our sensitive kid got a teacher who encouraged and supported him, and he made friends we adore. The families who choose Parkside are committed to its success, and there is so much energy surrounding the school. Two years later, we have never been given any reason to look elsewhere when we have such a great public school right here. Our son is excelling in math and science and reading on grade level. We love that he attends a diverse school that is representative of our neighborhood and city.

Parkside Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
Homework reinforces the daily lessons and helps me stay on top of what they are discussing in class.

Parkside Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
Again, having just had a big discussion about Harriet Tubman with my son, this at the forefront of my mind--but I certainly agree that these values are developed and valued.

Parkside Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
The kids learn about what makes us different and similar. They understand that we come from different backgrounds and situations, but that doesn't make it wrong or strange--it's just representative of our community and world.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Parkside Elementary School
685 Mercer St SE, Atlanta, GA  30312
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 122 reviews. (404) 802-4100
Last modified Parkside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top