Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

University Community Academy

Charter | PK-8 | 330 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2011

This school should be closed down. They don't focus on the children. Everything has become political. They have a president not a principle. (that should explain it all). They staff is rude and uneducated themselves. They are trying to be something they are not. I agree children should wear uniforms but putting a 2nd grader in ISS is wrong. They don't buy their own clothes! Everyone wants to be the leader so that causes major confusion. Its the children who suffer. :-(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

My son is currently enrolled in the Pre-K program. While his teacher is great I dont believe that he is getting what he needs out of the class. He left a daycare where they were actually taching the kids math at 4 yrs old to go to a school where they were just tracing letter. My son was writing sentences when he was enrolled in UCA. The teachers do not give the parents much information unless you ask, and from what I have seen most do not. A child was sent home with a full body rash and none of the parents were notified. My son had the same symptoms and it turned out he caught scarlet fever. There are some children that just run around and not really paying attention to others. Most teachers do not say a thing to any of the students when they are in the halls acting a mess. They just walk past them. Yes the principal is very nice but when you have a staff that is looking up hair pieces online in the front office while people come in and out the door is a bad reflection on them. My son will not be going back to this school at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

Yes, the school needs some work,but overall the teachers are doing a great job.I have 2 daughters that attend the school and their teachers are awesome!!! I agree with the parents, reguarding more parent invlolment other than this its ok.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

It's an old building that needs alot of repairing inside and out. I give them 1 star for trying.Please teachers! teach our kids they are our furture.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2010

I agree with this parent. University Academy need assistance. Wonderful Principal but some of the teachers are slowful when it comes to educating our children. This charter school does not challenge the student in any academic areas. My child has not learned what was expected when started. He will not attend this Charter School in 2010. Not a Good School to send children until inprovement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

I stand corrected. My previous post (Sept. 13th) has changed. They now have a new principal and new problems. They spend more time on uniforms than educating students. They are money hungry and no longer family oriented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

There are serious safety issues at the school. The way pick-up is conducted is ridicilous--parents must park on the side of the street and walk into the school to find their kids. I, for one, have never had my identification checked when I pick up the children I am privately hired to drive home. I find this a hazard to the children; if I can pick them up, anyone can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2008

I have been at uca since the 1st grade and now i'm the 7th. i just switched schools but i can truly say that uca has always been my favorite school. All the teachers are there if you ever need them and they are awesome. My greatest times were at uca and i will never forget the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2008

I enrolled my 3 boys in this school and have seen many great changes in them. They have become more responsible and their creativity has been embraced. I love the teaches for their constant communication with the parents. Here at UCA as long as we work together we can do anything!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2008

I enrolled my son in this school because it was the better choice over the zoned school he was assigned to. The building is not the best but it has potential if APS will allow them to purchase it. I love UCA. The prinicipal ALWAYS makes time to talk with the parents. I can say my son's teacher was awesome and consistently kept me up-to-date on his overall progress. The school could be so much better if parents would become more involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

I have attended uca for 2 years.Of course it no the cleanest.But i love my friends the schoolteachers.cherry but i will miss uca and im sure if you got to this school at first u will be mad about the way it looks but in the end uca is the place
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2008

Although my daughter will be withdrawing from this school at the end of the year (moving), the school is family based. I agree with the parents, you get in what you put in. It does take a village to raise a child and the teachers can not do that which is not reinforced at home. The teachers are dedicated. You may ask how do I know this....because I have personal contact information and a relationship with them. They know my child, my husband and her sister. The chilren's education is the schools first priority. They offer free tutorial every Wednesday and homework, which requires parental assistance is sent home daily. Notice I said parental assistance. If you were to attend several middle schools in the APS system you will notice what appears to be a lack of disicipline. Please remember this is the age where the kids 'think they know everything.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

I too am saddened to read the reports written on this page. While UCA is not as far along as it could be, I have nothing but good things to say about the school. The teachers are dedicated to the school and several go above and beyond on a daily basis. The parent involvement really needs to improve. The attendance at PTA meetings is dismal. If you want the school to improve you must be willing to help. Ask yourself, when is the last time you went to the school and volunteered to help for something other than a field trip? The teachers need more help for the parents. They should not have to be teachers and parents the same time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

I'm saddened to read the reports on this page portraying UCA as a school with serious problems. The parents that have written on this page should understand that to become a school of excellence starts from what you instill in your child at home. I have three students that attend uca and all of their teachers are exceptional. Yes the principal is concerned with the dress code because it preparing our students for their future. Please understand if you want the children that attend this school to succeed we need to help in the progress. I have had nothing but positivity from this school. The building needs work but, then again so do some the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

To say the least I withdrew my son who is in the sixth grade out of UCA during Christmas break. I would have to say that there is some serious house cleaning that has to be done at this school, starting at the Principal all the way down the teachers. The school alone is gloomy. I would have to give praise to the after-school staff, love them. I have learned that just because a school is making AYP doesn t mean it s a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

I should have written my comments before school reopened, because I would want parents that were considering this school to look elsewhere. Last year there were two excexcellent kindergarden teachers. One of them left. There is so much noise in the cafeteria a person could get indigestion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

They lack a real discipline plan. The overall environmnet lacks order. They still lack the exracurricular activties advertisted. Parents would be more involved if they could get a word with the principal, who seems never around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2007

This school has been a great disappointment. The teachers lack motivation and guidance. There are absolutely no activities for the children. They offer no advance level classes - they barely have books or resources to maintain what they do teach. The principal is more concerned with the type of shoes a child wears instead of the overall learning of the child. The total experience has been awful. It's evident that money is definitely an issue. DO NOT send your child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

I am very disappointed in the outcome of UCA. Since moving into the new building there have been promises of more activities and they have not been keep.It just seems everyone wants to pass the buck. The classroom are not stimulating and the dedication is not really there from the teachers. And even though the building is now actually a school building the monitoring of the children isn't the best either. This was my kids 3rd year but we just couldn't survive that type of enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2005

The teachers are great! The parents need to get more involved, the PTA is not very effective but the classroom environments are welcoming and excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

35 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

35 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

35 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

33 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

33 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

33 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
41%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
24%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
8%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
30%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

31 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
22%

2009

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

44 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 37%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 53%N/A51%
Female 47%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jim Harris
Fax number
  • (404) 753-0290

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2050 Tiger Flowers Dr NW
Atlanta, GA 30314
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 753-4050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT