Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Neighborhood Charter School

Charter | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

105 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 22, 2009

Bright, inquisitive students, dedicated teachers and supportive families make this school a total package! Keep up the great work NCS!!!


Posted September 22, 2009

NCS is the happiest school I've ever seen. Children are good and smart, parents are so supportive and staff...amazing. No better place on earth to spend time!


Posted September 22, 2009

I feel that having this amazing school in our neighborhood is great for East Atlanta!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

it's the best school for my niece, who is exceptionally intelligent and likes to learn about different things, in a hands on way


Posted September 22, 2009

It is the most nuturing amazing school I have ever been in. I can't believe such a gem exists in our little intown neighborhood. I am so fortunate my child gets to learn and thrive in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

At Neighborhood Charter School there is a passion for kindness and a desire to be the best people we can be. We have the most incredible parents, teachers, and STUDENTS in all of Atlanta.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 22, 2009

This school has the most interactive programs being taught by the most loving, intelligent, caring teachers. The only reason we aren't in this school right now is because we relocated to another state, and we miss NCS each and every day. The community of families that continually support and stay actively involved with the school are one of the things we miss most. Vive la Neighborhood Charter School!


Posted September 22, 2009

Most wonderful staff, families and students. Fabulous teaching philosophy that really creates a community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

NCS has very high parent invlovlement is a cross cultrual deight.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

My son is learning to enjoy the process of learning. It is a wonderful school filled with great teachers and families who take pride in the diversity of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

My daughter started kindergarten at Neighborhood Charter School this year and the entire experience has been 'magical'. She wakes up every morning elated to go to school and claims 'I go to the best school and have the best teachers in the world!' To create this love and excitement in learning is fundamental for future years of success in education. . . Yay for NCS! ! !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

I couldn't ask for better teachers and administration to educate my grandchildren - and the parents and special friends that get involved make the environment for a childs development excellent.


Posted September 22, 2009

For the sense of community it provides to parents,students, & teachers. More can be accomplished by working together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

My son attended Neighborhood Charter in the 4th and 5th grades. He really loved it. The set up was more layed back although not as structured as I would have liked. The only problem is now that he's in the 6th grade at another charter schoool, he is having problems in areas he was doing great in at this school. He said that the class work at Neighborhood Charter was not up to the level of the charter school he know attends. Where he was a straight A student at Neighborhood Charter he is now getting A's, B's and C's in the core subjects. I am not against students having a good time in school but not at the expense of learning the fundamentals that are expected when they leave this school and attend another one. The studentis so far behind and have to take tutorial classes to catch up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

The student, parent and teacher inaction is outstanding
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Because our community of students, parents and teachers come together in times of need, in friendship and support. Every year I am more and more impressed at the level our teachers teach our children. They not only teach them how to be good learners but how to be good people and thoughful of the world around them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Care and attention to the kid's education from the school, the students, the parents and the community. The way things should be. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

It's a warm, welcoming place that has my children smiling when they go in and smiling when they leave!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Great teachers, great atmosphere, great community culture.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

It's a great school with an excellent curriculum!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

59 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

59 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

59 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

60 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

60 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

60 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 44%
Black 16% 37%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 53%N/A51%
Female 47%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

688 Grant St SE
Atlanta, GA 30315
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 624-6226

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Nur Academy
Atlanta, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT