Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Neighborhood Charter School

Charter | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

104 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2009

Every day, I feel like I won the lottery. I have two boys, and I know that they are getting an amazing education in a constructivism-based environment. I am also very active in the PTCA, which goes way beyond bake sales. The teachers are fabulous, the admistration supports the staff, and the kids learn how to handle differences and challenges as a community. I wouldn't consider sending them anywhere else in Atlanta!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

My nephews attend - the teachers, staff and parents create a fantastic ecosystem of lifelong learning.


Posted September 21, 2009

Great teachers, fantastic curriculum, very involved parents. Everyone one could want in a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

It is pretty fantastic, child centered and has a great love of the earth.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 21, 2009

Awesome teachers, awesome parents and awesome students!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Great teachers, super-committed parents, curriculum that encourages lifelong exploration and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

I learn so much from the teachers...they are strategic, wise and loving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

NCS is a terrific school. The teachers and staff are wonderful. They are smart and innovative, but most importantly, they love what they do and they care about their students and the community as a whole. NCS is a place that truly nurtures children and encourages them to grow both as learners and as people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

We have organic gardens run by the students, and teachers. The children are learning from real life situations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

great buildings, classrooms, facilities, teachers and parents.


Posted September 21, 2009

My son says about his school--I love everything about the Neighborhood Charter School. It's fun, great, love all my teachers, they let us pick what we want to learn with our subjects. It's a blast!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2009

I love NCS because of the community and respect it fosters among students, between students and teachers and between teachers and parents. We take care of each other at NCS. My kids (1st and 3rd graders) LOVE school! They are enthusiastic and excited learners and I have to drag them out of the building at the end of most days!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

My boys are enthusiastic about learning, and it comes from teachers and staff with open minds who foster creativity, listen with patience, encourage explorations into whatever and invite parents to take part in their children's learning. I love relearning elementary school through my children and am astounded daily by just how much I really don't know...and that they do. Thank you NCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

We moved to the neighborhood to make sure our daughter would have a place in this wonderful school. We have not been disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Our shcool is awesome. Our teachers are commited to the children and truly love their jobs and it shows. We have a high degree of parental involvement and we take part in our children's education. This is a one of a kind enviroment that offers a great education for our kids. It is truly a community based school. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

I love the caring teachers, dedicated parents, and the passion for all that everyone involved with the school have for the success of the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

It is a place where all cultures and family makeups are embraced and celebrated.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 21, 2009

I'm a neighborhood resident and love the way the community, kids, parents and administration have created this wonderful resource for our city.


Posted September 18, 2009

NCS - Neighborhood Charter School prepared our kids for middle school and has made them life long learners! What a great school and example of community! Great Staff and Teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

NCS promotes strong community and instills a sense of inclusion, confidence and peace within the children...the elements necessary for a sustainable, peaceful society. It is unlike any school I've ever been apart of.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

59 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

59 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

59 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

60 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

60 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

60 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 44%
Black 16% 37%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 53%N/A51%
Female 47%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

688 Grant St SE
Atlanta, GA 30315
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 624-6226

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Nur Academy
Atlanta, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT